$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Perfect Anniversary Trip

My wife and I stayed in room 1214 in Tower 1 and enjoyed it very much. The room had an upgraded... See full review

  • Mack Attack
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 22, 2008

studio

We stayed in a studio,which was perfect for our needs. A great location next to the Whalers Village. On a GREAT beach. We could see the ocean and the mountains from the lanai. I would stay here again. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the Whalers Village which had great dining and shopping. I highly recommend th Rusty Harpoon and Hula Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don and Gi
Business
Chicago Il.
Oct 30, 2011

25th Wedding Anniversary

Our 4th trip to Maui. Studio condo,recently updated kitchenette with all the amenites one woud need. Outstanding value.Nicely decorated. Will only stay at this location in the future !! Note : Construction and renovations in progress check status with Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaisyMae1229
Business
Modesto, CA
Mar 7, 2012

Great place

Great place to stay. Not a lot of noisy kids, a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hsbold
Business
Park City, UT
Mar 25, 2012

Escape to Paradise

we had a wonderful time, the staffs were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and we had a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety choices of dining available in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zipline Grandma
Business
Colfax, California
May 19, 2012

Great graduation celebration

I took my 18 year old granddaughter for her high school graduation, accompanied by her parents. We each had an ocean view studio that worked out perfectly. We got in really late the first night and ended up with the 7th floor and a murphy bed with no sofabed. The next morning I requested a regular bed and sofa bed room, and was moved to room 1113 on the 11th floor - this was a renovated room, absolutely beautiful, fantastic view over the courtyard and ocean. We could not have been happier! The hotel location was fantastic, next to Whalers Village, short drive to Lahaina, wonderful beach and pool. Our stay was everything I had hoped it would be, my granddaughter did not want to leave!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three hints - SanSei restaurant in Kapalua, Kobe in Lahaina and Hula Grill in Kaanapali - all fantastic restaurants and reasonable. Also go to Lahaina Fudge Co. on Front Street, best fudge we've have in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fudge Head Freddie
Business
Phoenix, Az
Jun 11, 2012

great hotel

spent a week at the Whaler with 2 other couples - all 3 rooms were very nice. Not a lot of amenities at the property, but location is the best - right next to mall and plenty of eating options within walking distance. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Aloha mixed plate is a great place to eat on a budget. Its right behind the Safeway in Lahina, and the food and atmosphere are top notch - and everything on the menu is under 10 bucks! we went 3 times in a week!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LB Wahine
Business
Long Beach, CA
Sep 20, 2012

Maui Half Marathon Adventure

Our room was so close to the race that we got to sleep in and still had plenty of time to start. Our room was nicer than expected with a partial ocean view from our lanai. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was next door to Whalers Village which allowed us to go shopping or dining in a spontaneous fashion. Didn't even need to use our car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cdought
Business
Maple valley, wa
Dec 5, 2012

Great stay

This is a timeshare type property. The location and beach are great. Nice pool. Tennis is free and rackets and balls included. Free wireless and free dvd rentals (yes they have all the new releases). We had a studio room on second floor. No view, but we chose the cheaper room. Full kitchen was nice since we made dinner there 5 of our 11 nights. Bbq was great and the staff cleans the grill. Great way to save money. Food at restaurants and grocery stores in maui are quite expensive. Expect sticker shock. I had a massage at the spa on lower level. Ask for roger. I've had nearly 40 massages all over the world and have to say roger gave me the best massage I've ever had. Honestly. I am a diamond member with Hilton and was hesitant to not stay at a typical hotel chain resort property. I was very pleased with this property and would recommend it to everyone. They have everything a full resort has except restaurants, but no worries whalers village is right next door and there are several restaurants there. only a 30 second walk. The only negative is they charge $12/nt for parking, but then again all of the hotels do too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneA
Business
Encinitas, CA
May 15, 2013

Great vacation!

They upgraded our room on arrival since they were out of studios. Room was huge with 2 full baths. The deck and ocean view was perfect...great location...would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whaler is Wonderful
Business
Oak Park, California
Aug 24, 2013

Great stay at The Whaler!

This was our third stay at The Whaler and it gets better and better! Beautiful room, beautiful view! Would rather stay here than any other hotel. Love Kaanapali Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top