$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Perfect Anniversary Trip

My wife and I stayed in room 1214 in Tower 1 and enjoyed it very much. The room had an upgraded... See full review

  • Mack Attack
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
May 2, 2009

LUXURY CONDO FOR A LOW PRICE

THIS IS THE BEST LOCATION.NEXT TO THE WHALER MALL AND MANY restaurants as well as great entertainment. Previously this November we stayed at THE WESTIN Maui and Spa. Let me tell you The Whaler impressed us way more then THE WESTIN you cannot top the whalers rooms. We had a studio that was great for two people. You cannot beat the price its very reasonable and well worth every dollar trust me dont spend your money going to the well known chains. The whaler has furnished studios as well as 1bedrooms or 2 bedrooms some with 2 bathrooms. The kitchen has everything you need a fridge a microwave a stove, a toaster, coffeemaker. The rooms are spotless very clean. To me I been to 5 star hotels and this is even better then a 5 star condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Just go and get some groceries if you want to have your own steaks or chicken the Whaler has a huge gas barbque ready outside for you to cook up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longview, WA
Apr 25, 2009

Whaler - not good

I would never stay at the Whaler again - and have told many about my displeasure. There was major construction going on from 8:00 a.m. - to 4:00 p.m. - it was so loud we could not stay in our rooms and hear each other, the TV, even think. We rented two side by side condos, both were unbearable. When arriving the arrangements of getting two rooms side by side took over half an hour to figure out. Parking non existent. We paid an exhorbitant amount for daily parking and could never find a place inside the structure. There was absolutely nothing convenient about this experience. Two calls for sheets for the fold out sofa the first day resulted in my walking to the front desk and picking them up myself to be able to make the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis Minnesota
Apr 22, 2009

Excellent Place to Stay...

We had a whale of a time. The condo was excellent. Large studio, great view of ocean and of the mountains. Would stay there again in a heart beat. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Black Rock is a short walk to the end of the beach. The snorkeling there on the beach at Black Rock was just as good as the excursion we paid $95 bucks a piece for. Rent any gear you need from the Maui Dive and Surf shop right next to Whalers Village. Becareful purchasing anything at Whalers Village. We found alot of the same stuff in Lahaina for alot cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bedford
Oct 26, 2008

great beach location

The property was undergoing renovation to pool area, which we knew before we went. We were able to use the property next door's pool so it wasn't a problem and work was during the day when we were out/busy. The concierge was very helpful in book our excursions. It was a great location, right next store to Whaler's Village market where you could find restaurants on the beach, fast food, shopping,coffee and ice-cream.Having a full kitchen was great for breakfast and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aan Jose
Sep 28, 2008

Very nice rooms

The rooms at the Whaler were wonderful, very spacious , clean and well appointed. The location was good. Some of the staff were very helpful, some were not too friendly. Our major compliant was the construction going on, including the jack hammers. The pool was being remodeled so we had to use a neighboring pool. There was continuing work being done, including cement trucks and all. It was very much like your commercial, that talks about construction at hotels and advising the guest before they get there. Though this is a non-smoking facility, it would have been nice if they had a few outside smoking areas with chairs. The location and the rooms are wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a wonderful dinner at the Westin Hotel a short walk from the Whaler.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Staff were very nice and ...

Staff were very nice and quick. i got very good deal for Luau. trip would be much better if i known then in the 1st day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk dining from Hotel were all super expensive and taste bad. Drive 45 min to Kehei to find local restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, *
May 8, 2008

Great for us

We love this place and location. Quiet, non-touristy. Next door to shopping center, on the beach. Adequate pool. Good views. Pleasant staff. Close to Lahaina if you want that. Well-equipped kitchens. Nice balcony. Even though they are doing renovations at this time, that did not interfere with our visit. And they offered compensation for any inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

very teenage friendly

The whaler was under construction during our visit. However, we had a nice stay. I would not recommend a room with your bedroom up against the elevator. It keeps light sleepers up at night. When you are told you have an ocean view, your main view could be of the courtyard which was under renovations. We were greatful that we didn't over look the Whaler Village. This is a great place for families with teenagers as there are plenty of activities within walking distance. We felt safe and met a lot of nice vacationers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance you could board boats, surf,snorkel,shop and dine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 22, 2008

studio

We stayed in a studio,which was perfect for our needs. A great location next to the Whalers Village. On a GREAT beach. We could see the ocean and the mountains from the lanai. I would stay here again. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the Whalers Village which had great dining and shopping. I highly recommend th Rusty Harpoon and Hula Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 15, 2008

Great Location!

The Whaler is conviently located next to Whalers Village, which has great shopping and eating establishments. Great walk from dinner along the beach area back to the hotel. The room was updated, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Hotel staff were not helpful on a couple of occaisions, but nothing we couldn't get by. The pool is too small for the amount of people that were there, and they charge you for a lounge chair on the beach which was rather shocking. Parking is a challenge, with their garage falling apart and limited spaces on site. Pack your patience. I would stay here again as I understand ResortQuest just took this property over, and they were already making improvements to the property while we were there. Worth a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rusty Harpoon and the Hula Grill serve fantastic food and are fun places as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top