$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
View map of 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelekor
Business
Mount Shasta, CA
Jun 25, 2010

Great price. Great location.

The hotel staff was wonderful in accommodating our request to move from a studio overlooking the Hula Grill exhaust fans to a newly remodeled studio with lovely ocean views. The nearby beach and pool were quite crowded and screaming children somewhat annoying. Not exactly a quiet and restful spot, but we knew that about Kaanapali this time of year. Our studio was quiet and clean, and the location of The Whaler is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mattiff
Business
TX
Jun 22, 2010

Loved it!

We loved the Whaler! It was excellent for our getaway and mini vacation. We loved the fact that it had a kitchen to cook, store food, etc. and was close to everything! The beach was so wonderful and the hotel staff were very accomodating. We will definately be back....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa
Jun 17, 2010

very romantic and fun activities

very quite at night and fun and entertaining during the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa
Jun 17, 2010

very romantic and fun activities

very quite at night and fun and entertaining during the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jun 15, 2010

Loved the Whaler!

We stayed in a Studio...it was spotless and newly remodeled. Our view from the 8th floor was breathtaking. Amy at the front desk could not have been more welcoming. She let us check in early because it was available and also gave us a late check-out because we had a red-eye flight on our last night. The pool area has been newly renovated...super clean. We met so many wonderful people by the pool area. The parking area is new and very clean...a huge improvement from before. We were even giving a wrapped pineapple in our room upon arrival. Always like the location next to Whaler's village. We will definitely be back! Loved every minute at the Whaler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From 3-5pm, Leilani's at Whaler's Village oceanfront has $4 appetizers and drinks during their happy hour...loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
May 25, 2010

Loved Kaanapali!

Staff was very courteous and helpful. Upgraded my room for a reasonable price, and I have to assume it was well worth it because the unit was fantastic - recently renovated with great views of both the ocean and courtyard. Overall, my experience at The Whaler was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas Kane
Business
Wichita, Kansas
Jan 28, 2010

Best Value

We didn't have any major complaints with the Whaler. The kitchen was small, but hey, it's a studio. Also got a great deal. GREAT location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Leilani's Beach Grill. They pawned off some bad mahi mahi as one of their specials. They probably think they can get away with that stuff because of their primo location and naive clientele.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
davis ca.
Jan 23, 2010

Great location

We liked the location, great beach, close to best snorkeling, close to golf at Kanappali golf course with a super twilight that starts at 3 p.m. We didn't use the work out room because a guest told us most of the machines didn't work. We like having a kitchen for ease and saving money. The pool and spa is good and you are almost on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Jan 4, 2010

Nice Family Spot

Do the Haleakala Crater Sunrise Bike Ride. Its well worth the early wake-up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Combine, Tx
Nov 23, 2009

Great location for the right price

Beautiful view right on the beach. Whales frequent the waters off Kaanapali from December to April. Easy walking distance to food and shopping. Short driving distance to major grocery store. Front of the property faces two beautiful golf courses at which you can play for a discounted price since you're staying at one of the Kaanapali beach resort hotels. It was perfect for us as it secure and within short distance to most attractions we were interested in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sheraton luau (Mondays and Wednesdays) is excellent attraction and is very short walk down the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top