$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
View map of 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
May 25, 2010

Loved Kaanapali!

Staff was very courteous and helpful. Upgraded my room for a reasonable price, and I have to assume it was well worth it because the unit was fantastic - recently renovated with great views of both the ocean and courtyard. Overall, my experience at The Whaler was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas Kane
Business
Wichita, Kansas
Jan 28, 2010

Best Value

We didn't have any major complaints with the Whaler. The kitchen was small, but hey, it's a studio. Also got a great deal. GREAT location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Leilani's Beach Grill. They pawned off some bad mahi mahi as one of their specials. They probably think they can get away with that stuff because of their primo location and naive clientele.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
davis ca.
Jan 23, 2010

Great location

We liked the location, great beach, close to best snorkeling, close to golf at Kanappali golf course with a super twilight that starts at 3 p.m. We didn't use the work out room because a guest told us most of the machines didn't work. We like having a kitchen for ease and saving money. The pool and spa is good and you are almost on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Jan 4, 2010

Nice Family Spot

Do the Haleakala Crater Sunrise Bike Ride. Its well worth the early wake-up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Combine, Tx
Nov 23, 2009

Great location for the right price

Beautiful view right on the beach. Whales frequent the waters off Kaanapali from December to April. Easy walking distance to food and shopping. Short driving distance to major grocery store. Front of the property faces two beautiful golf courses at which you can play for a discounted price since you're staying at one of the Kaanapali beach resort hotels. It was perfect for us as it secure and within short distance to most attractions we were interested in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sheraton luau (Mondays and Wednesdays) is excellent attraction and is very short walk down the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peepeesan
Business
Seattle
Nov 9, 2009

The best location for the price.

The Whaler is really a great place to stay. It puts you in the middle of the best that Maui has to offer. This was my second time and hopefully the not the last.We found wonderful dining close by. The snorkeling was great and had an awesome vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't leave without snorkeling black rock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garden Grove, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Fabulous Time

Staff was wonderful. Location was perfect for our 4 year old to play at the beach. Waves were not too big. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ka'anapali convert
Business
San Francisco
Sep 14, 2009

Excellent locale

Excellent location, can't beat it. Right next to Whaler Village and Black Rock. It's not a fancy place and the amenities are very basic. Place is under going renovations if you don't mind that. I asked for a room change, they were very accommodating and gave me two other choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kolloff
Business
seattle, wa
Jun 14, 2009

good location nice room

nice big rooms, great location on sandy beach, great decks, I upgradeed to a 1 bedroom when i got there and it was worth every penny. Small consrtuction didn't bother us, it was almost done anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 27, 2009

Horrible Vacation due to your staff

The hotel was horrible and had construction everywhere even the rooms surrounding us that we were not told about. The staff was horrible and internet did not work so they gave me a number to their internet provider so I could sit with support on the phone after I paid thousands for our trip and did nothing at all to make it up to us. Your staff at orbitz did not tell us about this and said he would give us a deal since our other reservation with another online travel company was doubled last minute. After spending $5,000 total, it was the worst vacation I have ever gone on and this is due to Orbitz and the Hotel staff. I will not book with you ever again or stay at that hotel. I definately expect something from this disaster as it was a huge waste of money. I would like to be contacted soon about this or I'm going to have to write reports everywhere about it. Very disappointed to have this happen to us after going through you and having the worst trip ever, especially for how much I spent. We were told it was a 4 star resport and they are timeshares and we were given the worst room there and had to pay more money every night for a better room that wasn't surrounded completely with extremely loud construction. Hotel staff talked down to us because we were not told about it and said it is our fault. Absolute worst trip I have ever gone on and saved for the trip for a long time. Very disappointed with both hotel and orbitz. -Kelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

no food at this hotel at all and staff is horrible. dont stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top