$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
View map of 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rayjayne
Business
Edgewood, WA
Feb 12, 2011

The Whaler on Kaanapali

Our stay was great. You couldn't ask for a better location on Kaanapali. You are right next to Whaler's Village. The walking path is great, you can walk to Black Rock an go snorkeling. We found inexpensive places to eat at Whaler's Village. We also had a great BBQ at the Whaler,you can purchase your own food at the Safeway and BBQ every night if you want, and having a kitchen in our room was nice. I will always stay someplace with a kitchen from now on. The Whaler is nice. the unit we stayed in (215) was good. The only problem we had was they would come and clean our room,take the towels and forget to leave all the replacement towels, then you would have to call the front desk and ask for the replacemnt towels. All in all we would stay there again. It may be dated a little but how much time do you really spend in your room? and when we did stay in the room the doors open up and make the room seem even bigger. We could sit out side and see the garden and ocean right from our room. I would make sure you get an Ocean/Garden view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shortest walk to shopping, dinning and beach you will ever have. Good beach for swimming, all sand no rocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin?
Feb 6, 2011

beautiful views

We were upgraded from studio to 1 bedroom. Corner room with gorgeous views. We could watch whales from our balcony. Wonderful. 2 downfall, 1 everyone saved chairs by the pool early- even if they weren't there & little sun on our Lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a condo eat breakfast in room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northeast Ohio
Feb 4, 2011

Beautiful!

This was our first trip to Maui. What an awesome experience. The week we were there was like a dream. Beautiful room, close to everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants to choose from right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Outlook, Saskatchewan , Canada
Jan 27, 2011

Warm, Fun and Relaxing holiday

Totally Awesome!! Nice, clean hotel, with friendly, trusting staff! We did some sight seeing, whale watching, snorkeling, dolphin watching, went on the road to Hana tour, and had lots of wonderful hours sitting by the pool and laying on the beach. Enjoyed the waves in the ocean, shopping, walking, great restaraunt food and friendly people! It was an awesome, first time experience and would love to go back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

In January is when the whales come to Hawaii, so is a great experience to see the moms and babies putting on great shows for us, just off of the boat!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Florida
Nov 10, 2010

Phenomenal value at a perfect location.

We have stayed on Kaanapali Beach many times but in hotels rather than condos. Going forward, it will be condos only with the Whaler at the top of the list. The staff was extremely helpful at all times and our remodeled first floor studio unit was excellent. It was called a garden view but sitting on the lanai, the ocean was very much in view. We would definitely return to the Whaler and request the same unit that we had. It was a wonderfully relaxing trip of kicking back and watching the world go by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We really enjoyed Cane and Taro right next door at Whaler's Village. They had a 25% early bird discount five nights a week from 500pm to 600pm and a 50% discount on Tuesday and Wednesday. The food was fantastic and our waiter, [...], was the best. Their breakfasts were excellent as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Nov 3, 2010

Teriffic location at a reasonable cost!

Condo/hotel is right on the beach with a 2 minute walk to Whalers Village Shopping and Restaurants (no supermarket but there is an ABC Store.) Smallish pool but with the ocean right there who needs it. A quarter to half-mile stroll to Black Rock Beach for snorkeling in a sheltered cove. All rooms have an ocean view. Extra charge for internet, use of the room safe, and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P&G love Maui
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Beached in paradise

We love staying at the Whaler on Kaanapali beach; it's next to Whaler's Village so you can just walk to food and shopping and the beach is wonderful for walking. Only issue (too strong a word) is that the birds that nest in the big tree on our side of the building wake LOUDLY at 5:45 a.m. and roost LOUDLY at dusk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Stop at Costco when you land for things you will need for the entire stay, much cheaper than the local Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Oct 31, 2010

Fantastic getaway

The hotel had everything we needed. The staff are very friendly. No unexpected expenses were added to our bill. It was a great experience with everything that we had visioned it to be. We did the road to Hana, Haleakala National Park, Lao Valley State park, Maui Ocean Center, a sunset dinner cruse, drove along the South shores, and lots of beach time. Maui is a beautiful place with lots to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill - great happy hour with music and a good view a short walk from the Whaler. Aloha Mixed Plate on front street is also a good place to eat if you want Hawaiian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrobak
Business
Syracuse NY
Oct 28, 2010

Fully satisfied

This was our 3rd trip to Maui, first stay at The Whalers. Our room was a spacious studio, newly remodeled (beatiful, by the way - the kitchen and bathroom had granite countertops, plenty of dishes if one likes to cook as we do :-D ) The staff was helpfull. There was nothing more they could do for us. We rented a car (parking fee at the property is $12 a day, could be less) and after couple days spent at the swimming pool we visited the best snorkeling areas nearby (Honolua Bay, Kapalua Beach, Napili point where the turtles are). We travel often, but this trip rates between the best we ever made. Well, it is Hawaii and as a local bumper sticker says "God is Hawaiian" - how could it be so nice there otherwise. We recommend this hotel BUT if you like quiet room, in the Tower 2 ask for the room looking toward the other Tower (even room numbers) as was ours. The other side can be noisy, there is the Whalers Village and restaurants with live music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers Village; For food shop at Times supermarket (3 miles), Mo, Wed, Fri 7AM-10AM Farmers Market on the same road as Times, about 1 mile further - you can get there superior fresh fruit!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Oct 24, 2010

Great west Maui vacation

Great location, great beach, good shopping, friendly staff. The spa could use some serious upgrading, but other than that, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

General shopping is right next door. There is a Safeway on the way from the airport that is very close to the Whaler. Stop by there first to fill up on food for the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top