$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Property On Ka'anapali Beach

Our experience at The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach was excellent. Our family group... See full review

  • JS122013
  • Dec 31, 2013
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.922 -156.6934
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located next to Whaler's Village with dining and shopping and next door to 36-hole Kaanapali golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin?
Feb 6, 2011

beautiful views

We were upgraded from studio to 1 bedroom. Corner room with gorgeous views. We could watch whales from our balcony. Wonderful. 2 downfall, 1 everyone saved chairs by the pool early- even if they weren't there & little sun on our Lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a condo eat breakfast in room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast Ohio
Feb 4, 2011

Beautiful!

This was our first trip to Maui. What an awesome experience. The week we were there was like a dream. Beautiful room, close to everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants to choose from right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Outlook, Saskatchewan , Canada
Jan 27, 2011

Warm, Fun and Relaxing holiday

Totally Awesome!! Nice, clean hotel, with friendly, trusting staff! We did some sight seeing, whale watching, snorkeling, dolphin watching, went on the road to Hana tour, and had lots of wonderful hours sitting by the pool and laying on the beach. Enjoyed the waves in the ocean, shopping, walking, great restaraunt food and friendly people! It was an awesome, first time experience and would love to go back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

In January is when the whales come to Hawaii, so is a great experience to see the moms and babies putting on great shows for us, just off of the boat!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Florida
Nov 10, 2010

Phenomenal value at a perfect location.

We have stayed on Kaanapali Beach many times but in hotels rather than condos. Going forward, it will be condos only with the Whaler at the top of the list. The staff was extremely helpful at all times and our remodeled first floor studio unit was excellent. It was called a garden view but sitting on the lanai, the ocean was very much in view. We would definitely return to the Whaler and request the same unit that we had. It was a wonderfully relaxing trip of kicking back and watching the world go by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We really enjoyed Cane and Taro right next door at Whaler's Village. They had a 25% early bird discount five nights a week from 500pm to 600pm and a 50% discount on Tuesday and Wednesday. The food was fantastic and our waiter, [...], was the best. Their breakfasts were excellent as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern California
Nov 3, 2010

Teriffic location at a reasonable cost!

Condo/hotel is right on the beach with a 2 minute walk to Whalers Village Shopping and Restaurants (no supermarket but there is an ABC Store.) Smallish pool but with the ocean right there who needs it. A quarter to half-mile stroll to Black Rock Beach for snorkeling in a sheltered cove. All rooms have an ocean view. Extra charge for internet, use of the room safe, and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P&G love Maui
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Beached in paradise

We love staying at the Whaler on Kaanapali beach; it's next to Whaler's Village so you can just walk to food and shopping and the beach is wonderful for walking. Only issue (too strong a word) is that the birds that nest in the big tree on our side of the building wake LOUDLY at 5:45 a.m. and roost LOUDLY at dusk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Stop at Costco when you land for things you will need for the entire stay, much cheaper than the local Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Oct 31, 2010

Fantastic getaway

The hotel had everything we needed. The staff are very friendly. No unexpected expenses were added to our bill. It was a great experience with everything that we had visioned it to be. We did the road to Hana, Haleakala National Park, Lao Valley State park, Maui Ocean Center, a sunset dinner cruse, drove along the South shores, and lots of beach time. Maui is a beautiful place with lots to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill - great happy hour with music and a good view a short walk from the Whaler. Aloha Mixed Plate on front street is also a good place to eat if you want Hawaiian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrobak
Syracuse NY
Oct 28, 2010

Fully satisfied

This was our 3rd trip to Maui, first stay at The Whalers. Our room was a spacious studio, newly remodeled (beatiful, by the way - the kitchen and bathroom had granite countertops, plenty of dishes if one likes to cook as we do :-D ) The staff was helpfull. There was nothing more they could do for us. We rented a car (parking fee at the property is $12 a day, could be less) and after couple days spent at the swimming pool we visited the best snorkeling areas nearby (Honolua Bay, Kapalua Beach, Napili point where the turtles are). We travel often, but this trip rates between the best we ever made. Well, it is Hawaii and as a local bumper sticker says "God is Hawaiian" - how could it be so nice there otherwise. We recommend this hotel BUT if you like quiet room, in the Tower 2 ask for the room looking toward the other Tower (even room numbers) as was ours. The other side can be noisy, there is the Whalers Village and restaurants with live music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers Village; For food shop at Times supermarket (3 miles), Mo, Wed, Fri 7AM-10AM Farmers Market on the same road as Times, about 1 mile further - you can get there superior fresh fruit!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Ramon, CA
Oct 24, 2010

Great west Maui vacation

Great location, great beach, good shopping, friendly staff. The spa could use some serious upgrading, but other than that, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

General shopping is right next door. There is a Safeway on the way from the airport that is very close to the Whaler. Stop by there first to fill up on food for the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAMZ
San Jose, Ca.
Oct 18, 2010

Excellent getaway

It was a marvelous stay at the Whaler. If you are looking for a nice room with a full kitchen, pleasent service staff, no frills pool area, great location, next to several really good restaurants for sunsets, I highly reccommend the Whaler. Excellent place to stay for the price. We will certainly go back. If you are looking for room service and all the plush ammenities, this is not for you. But, they do have a spa, salon, message, gym, sauna, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill & Leilani's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search