$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
View map of 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JColl19
Business
Folsom, CA
May 4, 2011

The Whaler is Amazing

The Whaler was a great hotel. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We were set up in a beautiful room overlooking the beach and the garden. The studio that we stayed in was fully stocked with everything we would need. We will definitely be coming back to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling in Honolua Bay is amazing. Only about a 15 min drive from Ka'anapali it is worth the trip.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
simi, ca
Apr 28, 2011

paradise under construction

The drilling and hammering was quite annoying but the location is convenient. Next year when construction is done it'll be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Black rock

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sodathief
Business
San Ramon
Apr 23, 2011

5 stars without cockroaches

everything is beautiful we were in 164. Ground level. The room was recently remodeled so it was very nice. The only problem was the little cockroaches that would appear in dark places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silverthorne, CO
Apr 23, 2011

Very nice except for construction noise

Woonderful bird watching on the tree side of the hotel. Very convenient location for many things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cane and Tarrow for sushi rolls (Dragonfly)

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 6, 2011

Great location for the price

Hotel was clean, family oriented and the location was perfect. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Saw whales jumping and playing everyday from our balcolny. Only thing missing was the Tiki Bar and Grill. But there is an awesome one at the hotel right next to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Sunrise Lanai Trip on the Trilogy VI. It was AMAZING. Will do again next time.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 9, 2011

Great Hotel - Great Location

Condo was clean and spacious. We could see the whales from our balcony - which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Mar 4, 2011

Great island vacation

Snorkel Black Rock; Whale watching cruise; sunset cruise; shop and dine Lahina; public transportation is very easy and cost efficient. A fantastic 20+ day vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leilania's at Whalers Village has great food; early bird dining is the best deal there.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGG
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 17, 2011

Another great trip to the Whaler

This is a condo (with a full kitchen) that acts like a hotel (with its daily housekeeping service - included in the price). The building location is perfectly situated amoungst all the big hotels right in the heart of Ka'anapali Beach (south side of Black Rock). The energy and convenience of Whaler's Village (shopping, restaurants, museum, nightly free entertainment) is immediately next door. Parking is safe and convenient directly under the building. Extra security is provided with all building entrances requiring your room card to enter. Stay busy with all that is mere steps away...swimming, whale watching, snorkeling, body surfing, dining (often with live music), shopping (gifts, clothing, groceries, liquor), or just relaxing by the pool and/or hot tub. We've stayed at the Whaler twice and expect to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Think about your options for room location before making your reservation through Aston, then request your preference when reserving. You won't be able to reserve a specific room number unless you make a reservation throught the specific room's owner. But you can generally request which tower, which direction (North or South facing) which floor (high or low) and which end (mountain or ocean).

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rayjayne
Business
Edgewood, WA
Feb 12, 2011

The Whaler on Kaanapali

Our stay was great. You couldn't ask for a better location on Kaanapali. You are right next to Whaler's Village. The walking path is great, you can walk to Black Rock an go snorkeling. We found inexpensive places to eat at Whaler's Village. We also had a great BBQ at the Whaler,you can purchase your own food at the Safeway and BBQ every night if you want, and having a kitchen in our room was nice. I will always stay someplace with a kitchen from now on. The Whaler is nice. the unit we stayed in (215) was good. The only problem we had was they would come and clean our room,take the towels and forget to leave all the replacement towels, then you would have to call the front desk and ask for the replacemnt towels. All in all we would stay there again. It may be dated a little but how much time do you really spend in your room? and when we did stay in the room the doors open up and make the room seem even bigger. We could sit out side and see the garden and ocean right from our room. I would make sure you get an Ocean/Garden view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shortest walk to shopping, dinning and beach you will ever have. Good beach for swimming, all sand no rocks.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin?
Feb 6, 2011

beautiful views

We were upgraded from studio to 1 bedroom. Corner room with gorgeous views. We could watch whales from our balcony. Wonderful. 2 downfall, 1 everyone saved chairs by the pool early- even if they weren't there & little sun on our Lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a condo eat breakfast in room

Back to menu Return to top