$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Property On Ka'anapali Beach

Our experience at The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach was excellent. Our family group... See full review

  • JS122013
  • Dec 31, 2013
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.922 -156.6934
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located next to Whaler's Village with dining and shopping and next door to 36-hole Kaanapali golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JColl19
Folsom, CA
May 4, 2011

The Whaler is Amazing

The Whaler was a great hotel. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We were set up in a beautiful room overlooking the beach and the garden. The studio that we stayed in was fully stocked with everything we would need. We will definitely be coming back to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling in Honolua Bay is amazing. Only about a 15 min drive from Ka'anapali it is worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
simi, ca
Apr 28, 2011

paradise under construction

The drilling and hammering was quite annoying but the location is convenient. Next year when construction is done it'll be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Black rock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silverthorne, CO
Apr 23, 2011

Very nice except for construction noise

Woonderful bird watching on the tree side of the hotel. Very convenient location for many things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cane and Tarrow for sushi rolls (Dragonfly)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sodathief
San Ramon
Apr 23, 2011

5 stars without cockroaches

everything is beautiful we were in 164. Ground level. The room was recently remodeled so it was very nice. The only problem was the little cockroaches that would appear in dark places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Apr 6, 2011

Great location for the price

Hotel was clean, family oriented and the location was perfect. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Saw whales jumping and playing everyday from our balcolny. Only thing missing was the Tiki Bar and Grill. But there is an awesome one at the hotel right next to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Sunrise Lanai Trip on the Trilogy VI. It was AMAZING. Will do again next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 9, 2011

Great Hotel - Great Location

Condo was clean and spacious. We could see the whales from our balcony - which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Mar 4, 2011

Great island vacation

Snorkel Black Rock; Whale watching cruise; sunset cruise; shop and dine Lahina; public transportation is very easy and cost efficient. A fantastic 20+ day vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leilania's at Whalers Village has great food; early bird dining is the best deal there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diane wonder mom
Aubur, NY
Feb 21, 2011

Great Family Vacation

The trip was very nice. The room was beautiful and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Whalers set up our whale watch. It would have been nicer if they had some more kid friendly things such as a pool for little ones. The trip we took in June of 2010 was a little nicer only because we stayed at a place that had more things for little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Times grocery store very reasonably priced and clean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGG
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 17, 2011

Another great trip to the Whaler

This is a condo (with a full kitchen) that acts like a hotel (with its daily housekeeping service - included in the price). The building location is perfectly situated amoungst all the big hotels right in the heart of Ka'anapali Beach (south side of Black Rock). The energy and convenience of Whaler's Village (shopping, restaurants, museum, nightly free entertainment) is immediately next door. Parking is safe and convenient directly under the building. Extra security is provided with all building entrances requiring your room card to enter. Stay busy with all that is mere steps away...swimming, whale watching, snorkeling, body surfing, dining (often with live music), shopping (gifts, clothing, groceries, liquor), or just relaxing by the pool and/or hot tub. We've stayed at the Whaler twice and expect to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Think about your options for room location before making your reservation through Aston, then request your preference when reserving. You won't be able to reserve a specific room number unless you make a reservation throught the specific room's owner. But you can generally request which tower, which direction (North or South facing) which floor (high or low) and which end (mountain or ocean).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rayjayne
Edgewood, WA
Feb 12, 2011

The Whaler on Kaanapali

Our stay was great. You couldn't ask for a better location on Kaanapali. You are right next to Whaler's Village. The walking path is great, you can walk to Black Rock an go snorkeling. We found inexpensive places to eat at Whaler's Village. We also had a great BBQ at the Whaler,you can purchase your own food at the Safeway and BBQ every night if you want, and having a kitchen in our room was nice. I will always stay someplace with a kitchen from now on. The Whaler is nice. the unit we stayed in (215) was good. The only problem we had was they would come and clean our room,take the towels and forget to leave all the replacement towels, then you would have to call the front desk and ask for the replacemnt towels. All in all we would stay there again. It may be dated a little but how much time do you really spend in your room? and when we did stay in the room the doors open up and make the room seem even bigger. We could sit out side and see the garden and ocean right from our room. I would make sure you get an Ocean/Garden view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shortest walk to shopping, dinning and beach you will ever have. Good beach for swimming, all sand no rocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search