$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Perfect Anniversary Trip

My wife and I stayed in room 1214 in Tower 1 and enjoyed it very much. The room had an upgraded... See full review

  • Mack Attack
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
friends and Liz
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Beautiful and right on the beach

I had a little bit of a rough start, but was really late when we checked in. After that the hotel was very accomodating, had a refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave most any utensils you would need to make it less costly for eating and drinking after a visit to costco. Had maid service daily. A beatiful view of both beach and mountains and I did not even choose the beach view (less money). Easy access to the Whalers village which was shopping and entertainment. Many hotels and restaurants within walking distance. Only complaint was had to rent a car no airport shuttle and airport 45 min away. Beaches very clean, nice pool and hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book the road to Hana as a tour rather than do it yourself, hotel staff very helpful in booking and they pick you up right in front. The drive it yourself is dangerous and very nerve racking, whereas the tour is friendly fun and includes breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkler Steve
Business
Washington
Aug 4, 2012

Beach view

Beautiful room and great ocean view. Close to whaler village for shpping and easy access to other motels. We were able to make reservations for snorkling and zip lining at motel front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We stopped on the way to the hotel from the airport at Beach bums and the food was incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fudge Head Freddie
Business
Phoenix, Az
Jun 11, 2012

great hotel

spent a week at the Whaler with 2 other couples - all 3 rooms were very nice. Not a lot of amenities at the property, but location is the best - right next to mall and plenty of eating options within walking distance. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Aloha mixed plate is a great place to eat on a budget. Its right behind the Safeway in Lahina, and the food and atmosphere are top notch - and everything on the menu is under 10 bucks! we went 3 times in a week!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supermedic
Business
Boston
Jun 4, 2012

Better then expected

Awesome! perfect location for all things MAUI. only complaint was we had to leave. staff went out of their way to accomodate us. will return here for sure. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling. Gotta do it. Shop anywhere but safeway unless your a member - overpriced. their member price is beat about everywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zipline Grandma
Business
Colfax, California
May 19, 2012

Great graduation celebration

I took my 18 year old granddaughter for her high school graduation, accompanied by her parents. We each had an ocean view studio that worked out perfectly. We got in really late the first night and ended up with the 7th floor and a murphy bed with no sofabed. The next morning I requested a regular bed and sofa bed room, and was moved to room 1113 on the 11th floor - this was a renovated room, absolutely beautiful, fantastic view over the courtyard and ocean. We could not have been happier! The hotel location was fantastic, next to Whalers Village, short drive to Lahaina, wonderful beach and pool. Our stay was everything I had hoped it would be, my granddaughter did not want to leave!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three hints - SanSei restaurant in Kapalua, Kobe in Lahaina and Hula Grill in Kaanapali - all fantastic restaurants and reasonable. Also go to Lahaina Fudge Co. on Front Street, best fudge we've have in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtneal48
Business
Great Falls, Montana
May 19, 2012

Couldn't ask for more

Great views right on the beach. Close to restaurants and shops. Our trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyRyPetro
Business
Spanish Fork, UT, USA
May 1, 2012

Nice Location, Nice Room

We enjoyed out room very much. I was worried that the decor may be outdated based on the pictures that I had seen on the internet, but I was pleased with the calming seaside decor of our studio. We chose to save some money and get a garden view room- it was just fine, because all we had to do was step out onto the lanai and we had beautiful views of the ocean! I kitchen was small, but functional. The location is great- we enjoyed going over to the Whaler's Village. The only problem we had was that we were offered free dvd rentals, but we did not have a cord to connect our dvd player to the tv! The gym is small, but has decent equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Leoda's on the very south side of Lahaina is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feynman
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Father and son

Very convenient location. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen was equipped well enough for us to eat breakfast and heat up some leftovers. We didn't need to cook a full meal, but doing so would be challenging. Nice simple pool and a hot-tub. Great beach right out front. Most, if not all rooms have an ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Early bird specials at some restaurants next-door at Whaler's Village.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hsbold
Business
Park City, UT
Mar 25, 2012

Escape to Paradise

we had a wonderful time, the staffs were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and we had a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety choices of dining available in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelinseattle
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Very rude staff at front desk. No parking

Good location.  Lots of remodeling going on.  Drilling, pounding etc.  Nice view, decent condo.  VERY VERY POOR PARKING!    THE STAFF AT FRONT DESK IS VERY RUDE. There is nothing worse than driving around with a bag of groceries then having to park at whalers village and pay $12.oo per day, then drag your ice and bags up a very poorly lighted long drive.  We heard many people complain of this. We complained at the front desk and were told to park our car in front of lobby, tell the front desk and security would find us a place on the lot.   Well we did that, waited over an hour, left our car in front and got a nasty note that we would be towed next time.   Upon checking out staff blamed us for not coming in to complain to them.   When we told that we had complained they said we had to take it up with the board. When I asked if the woman at the front desk was having a bad day she just gave me a dirty look.    When I suggested that the staff should park off lot so tenants could park on the property the woman at the front desk turned her back on me and walked away.   It only makes sense that management could secure enough parking for their staff especially at high season so tenants could find parking.   Many of the tenants are retired and over 65.   I won't stay here again I don't appreciate the way I was treated.   We had no other problem except with staff at the front desk and the staff at the front gate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top