$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
View map of 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cdought
Business
Maple valley, wa
Dec 5, 2012

Great stay

This is a timeshare type property. The location and beach are great. Nice pool. Tennis is free and rackets and balls included. Free wireless and free dvd rentals (yes they have all the new releases). We had a studio room on second floor. No view, but we chose the cheaper room. Full kitchen was nice since we made dinner there 5 of our 11 nights. Bbq was great and the staff cleans the grill. Great way to save money. Food at restaurants and grocery stores in maui are quite expensive. Expect sticker shock. I had a massage at the spa on lower level. Ask for roger. I've had nearly 40 massages all over the world and have to say roger gave me the best massage I've ever had. Honestly. I am a diamond member with Hilton and was hesitant to not stay at a typical hotel chain resort property. I was very pleased with this property and would recommend it to everyone. They have everything a full resort has except restaurants, but no worries whalers village is right next door and there are several restaurants there. only a 30 second walk. The only negative is they charge $12/nt for parking, but then again all of the hotels do too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LB Wahine
Business
Long Beach, CA
Sep 20, 2012

Maui Half Marathon Adventure

Our room was so close to the race that we got to sleep in and still had plenty of time to start. Our room was nicer than expected with a partial ocean view from our lanai. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was next door to Whalers Village which allowed us to go shopping or dining in a spontaneous fashion. Didn't even need to use our car.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paddlewahine
Business
Costa Mesa, California
Sep 3, 2012

Perfect location!

Perfect location. 2b/2b units have the best view and location. Upper floors have great views. 1b/1b units are very roomy and worked out great for 4 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill was wonderful and short walk away.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
friends and Liz
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Beautiful and right on the beach

I had a little bit of a rough start, but was really late when we checked in. After that the hotel was very accomodating, had a refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave most any utensils you would need to make it less costly for eating and drinking after a visit to costco. Had maid service daily. A beatiful view of both beach and mountains and I did not even choose the beach view (less money). Easy access to the Whalers village which was shopping and entertainment. Many hotels and restaurants within walking distance. Only complaint was had to rent a car no airport shuttle and airport 45 min away. Beaches very clean, nice pool and hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book the road to Hana as a tour rather than do it yourself, hotel staff very helpful in booking and they pick you up right in front. The drive it yourself is dangerous and very nerve racking, whereas the tour is friendly fun and includes breakfast and lunch.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkler Steve
Business
Washington
Aug 4, 2012

Beach view

Beautiful room and great ocean view. Close to whaler village for shpping and easy access to other motels. We were able to make reservations for snorkling and zip lining at motel front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We stopped on the way to the hotel from the airport at Beach bums and the food was incredible.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fudge Head Freddie
Business
Phoenix, Az
Jun 11, 2012

great hotel

spent a week at the Whaler with 2 other couples - all 3 rooms were very nice. Not a lot of amenities at the property, but location is the best - right next to mall and plenty of eating options within walking distance. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Aloha mixed plate is a great place to eat on a budget. Its right behind the Safeway in Lahina, and the food and atmosphere are top notch - and everything on the menu is under 10 bucks! we went 3 times in a week!

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supermedic
Business
Boston
Jun 4, 2012

Better then expected

Awesome! perfect location for all things MAUI. only complaint was we had to leave. staff went out of their way to accomodate us. will return here for sure. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling. Gotta do it. Shop anywhere but safeway unless your a member - overpriced. their member price is beat about everywhere else.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zipline Grandma
Business
Colfax, California
May 19, 2012

Great graduation celebration

I took my 18 year old granddaughter for her high school graduation, accompanied by her parents. We each had an ocean view studio that worked out perfectly. We got in really late the first night and ended up with the 7th floor and a murphy bed with no sofabed. The next morning I requested a regular bed and sofa bed room, and was moved to room 1113 on the 11th floor - this was a renovated room, absolutely beautiful, fantastic view over the courtyard and ocean. We could not have been happier! The hotel location was fantastic, next to Whalers Village, short drive to Lahaina, wonderful beach and pool. Our stay was everything I had hoped it would be, my granddaughter did not want to leave!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three hints - SanSei restaurant in Kapalua, Kobe in Lahaina and Hula Grill in Kaanapali - all fantastic restaurants and reasonable. Also go to Lahaina Fudge Co. on Front Street, best fudge we've have in a long time.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtneal48
Business
Great Falls, Montana
May 19, 2012

Couldn't ask for more

Great views right on the beach. Close to restaurants and shops. Our trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyRyPetro
Business
Spanish Fork, UT, USA
May 1, 2012

Nice Location, Nice Room

We enjoyed out room very much. I was worried that the decor may be outdated based on the pictures that I had seen on the internet, but I was pleased with the calming seaside decor of our studio. We chose to save some money and get a garden view room- it was just fine, because all we had to do was step out onto the lanai and we had beautiful views of the ocean! I kitchen was small, but functional. The location is great- we enjoyed going over to the Whaler's Village. The only problem we had was that we were offered free dvd rentals, but we did not have a cord to connect our dvd player to the tv! The gym is small, but has decent equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Leoda's on the very south side of Lahaina is delicious!

Back to menu Return to top