$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Property On Ka'anapali Beach

Our experience at The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach was excellent. Our family group... See full review

  • JS122013
  • Dec 31, 2013
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.922 -156.6934
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located next to Whaler's Village with dining and shopping and next door to 36-hole Kaanapali golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Morales
San Diego, CA
Jun 10, 2013

Wonderful Location on Popular Beach

Overall, our stay at The Whaler was wonderful. We have stayed here before and again we appreciated its central location and quiet rooms. we stayed in a Studio Garden View room and, to our surprise, we still had a great view of the ocean. My only complaints about the room were that the bed was extremely hard and bouncey, the DVD player did not work properly with the television, and the hair dryer was burned out. Besides these minor glitches, we had a very pleasant stay. Checking in and out was a breeze, parking is convenient, and our room was cleaned daily which was a nice plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fleetwood's on Front Street in Lahaina, Mani, HI

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneA
Encinitas, CA
May 15, 2013

Great vacation!

They upgraded our room on arrival since they were out of studios. Room was huge with 2 full baths. The deck and ocean view was perfect...great location...would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveller4637
scottsdale, az
May 7, 2013

great location, nice place

location is one of best on island. just next to whaler village. condos are very nice and clean. paid an upgrade for an ocean view but got stock on 6 floor with view of big trees (blocking ocean view) and whaler village air conditioning system. it was loud and disappointing. after complaining for 3 days they finally moved us to a great room and the rest of the trip was a dream! i would come back again but i would be care to ensure i have a room with a nice view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sansei in kapalua was amazing japanese and sushi restaurant but make reservations. they are always booked out

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelNa
seattle, wa
May 6, 2013

family girls' trip

We had 4 female family members staying in an ocean view one bedroom suite. The size was very spacious and the balcony was perfect. We did go grocery shopping at the nearby safeway, but you do need a car or use the public transportation to get around - it's a couple of miles away. I was disappointed that there werent any eating or drinking establishments onsite, and had to seek out a bar at the next resort over. Each staff member I interacted with was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you will be there for several days, stop at a grocery store to stock up.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mahalo Mom
Business
Monterey, CA
Apr 27, 2013

Great location

This is a great place to visit. I do wish the rooms had wifi! But other then that is was clean, quiet and had great lanai which we really enjoyed. I would recommend to others and will probably return as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers Village has everything you will need, shopping, dining, groceries.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Cordellos
Santa Rosa,Ca
Mar 26, 2013

Upset with Parking Fee's

We were never told we were had to pay for parking in the hotel garage until we checked out. They charged us $12 a day. Not happy about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cdought
Maple valley, wa
Dec 5, 2012

Great stay

This is a timeshare type property. The location and beach are great. Nice pool. Tennis is free and rackets and balls included. Free wireless and free dvd rentals (yes they have all the new releases). We had a studio room on second floor. No view, but we chose the cheaper room. Full kitchen was nice since we made dinner there 5 of our 11 nights. Bbq was great and the staff cleans the grill. Great way to save money. Food at restaurants and grocery stores in maui are quite expensive. Expect sticker shock. I had a massage at the spa on lower level. Ask for roger. I've had nearly 40 massages all over the world and have to say roger gave me the best massage I've ever had. Honestly. I am a diamond member with Hilton and was hesitant to not stay at a typical hotel chain resort property. I was very pleased with this property and would recommend it to everyone. They have everything a full resort has except restaurants, but no worries whalers village is right next door and there are several restaurants there. only a 30 second walk. The only negative is they charge $12/nt for parking, but then again all of the hotels do too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LB Wahine
Long Beach, CA
Sep 20, 2012

Maui Half Marathon Adventure

Our room was so close to the race that we got to sleep in and still had plenty of time to start. Our room was nicer than expected with a partial ocean view from our lanai. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was next door to Whalers Village which allowed us to go shopping or dining in a spontaneous fashion. Didn't even need to use our car.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paddlewahine
Costa Mesa, California
Sep 3, 2012

Perfect location!

Perfect location. 2b/2b units have the best view and location. Upper floors have great views. 1b/1b units are very roomy and worked out great for 4 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill was wonderful and short walk away.

Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
friends and Liz
Anaheim, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Beautiful and right on the beach

I had a little bit of a rough start, but was really late when we checked in. After that the hotel was very accomodating, had a refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave most any utensils you would need to make it less costly for eating and drinking after a visit to costco. Had maid service daily. A beatiful view of both beach and mountains and I did not even choose the beach view (less money). Easy access to the Whalers village which was shopping and entertainment. Many hotels and restaurants within walking distance. Only complaint was had to rent a car no airport shuttle and airport 45 min away. Beaches very clean, nice pool and hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book the road to Hana as a tour rather than do it yourself, hotel staff very helpful in booking and they pick you up right in front. The drive it yourself is dangerous and very nerve racking, whereas the tour is friendly fun and includes breakfast and lunch.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search