$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
View map of 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith Wilford
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 31, 2013

Not getting better

We've been staying at the Whaler on a regular basis for 30 years. That history hasn't provided any benefits. We ask for certain considerations relative to our room. Those requests are never granted. The location of the hotel is near perfect. But the quality of the rooms varies. This year, the overall room was dated and state of repair was marginal. In short, they don't appear to be able to enforce any standard with the individual owners. Front desk staff was not particularly friendly. Not sure if I'll return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaylo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 1, 2013

Fabulous beach experience.

Despite a rocky start (room not ready), it was quite comfortable & location was great. Staff seemed helpful. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whaler is Wonderful
Business
Oak Park, California
Aug 24, 2013

Great stay at The Whaler!

This was our third stay at The Whaler and it gets better and better! Beautiful room, beautiful view! Would rather stay here than any other hotel. Love Kaanapali Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Morales
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 10, 2013

Wonderful Location on Popular Beach

Overall, our stay at The Whaler was wonderful. We have stayed here before and again we appreciated its central location and quiet rooms. we stayed in a Studio Garden View room and, to our surprise, we still had a great view of the ocean. My only complaints about the room were that the bed was extremely hard and bouncey, the DVD player did not work properly with the television, and the hair dryer was burned out. Besides these minor glitches, we had a very pleasant stay. Checking in and out was a breeze, parking is convenient, and our room was cleaned daily which was a nice plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fleetwood's on Front Street in Lahaina, Mani, HI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
itsnotmango
Business
NYC
Jun 5, 2013

Great Hotel

Huge Room! Free DVD Rentals. Pretty much like having your own apartment. Central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneA
Business
Encinitas, CA
May 15, 2013

Great vacation!

They upgraded our room on arrival since they were out of studios. Room was huge with 2 full baths. The deck and ocean view was perfect...great location...would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveller4637
Business
scottsdale, az
May 7, 2013

great location, nice place

location is one of best on island. just next to whaler village. condos are very nice and clean. paid an upgrade for an ocean view but got stock on 6 floor with view of big trees (blocking ocean view) and whaler village air conditioning system. it was loud and disappointing. after complaining for 3 days they finally moved us to a great room and the rest of the trip was a dream! i would come back again but i would be care to ensure i have a room with a nice view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sansei in kapalua was amazing japanese and sushi restaurant but make reservations. they are always booked out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelNa
Business
seattle, wa
May 6, 2013

family girls' trip

We had 4 female family members staying in an ocean view one bedroom suite. The size was very spacious and the balcony was perfect. We did go grocery shopping at the nearby safeway, but you do need a car or use the public transportation to get around - it's a couple of miles away. I was disappointed that there werent any eating or drinking establishments onsite, and had to seek out a bar at the next resort over. Each staff member I interacted with was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you will be there for several days, stop at a grocery store to stock up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mahalo Mom
Business
Monterey, CA
Apr 27, 2013

Great location

This is a great place to visit. I do wish the rooms had wifi! But other then that is was clean, quiet and had great lanai which we really enjoyed. I would recommend to others and will probably return as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers Village has everything you will need, shopping, dining, groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Cordellos
Business
Santa Rosa,Ca
Mar 26, 2013

Upset with Parking Fee's

We were never told we were had to pay for parking in the hotel garage until we checked out. They charged us $12 a day. Not happy about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top