$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
View map of 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, *
May 8, 2008

Great for us

We love this place and location. Quiet, non-touristy. Next door to shopping center, on the beach. Adequate pool. Good views. Pleasant staff. Close to Lahaina if you want that. Well-equipped kitchens. Nice balcony. Even though they are doing renovations at this time, that did not interfere with our visit. And they offered compensation for any inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

very teenage friendly

The whaler was under construction during our visit. However, we had a nice stay. I would not recommend a room with your bedroom up against the elevator. It keeps light sleepers up at night. When you are told you have an ocean view, your main view could be of the courtyard which was under renovations. We were greatful that we didn't over look the Whaler Village. This is a great place for families with teenagers as there are plenty of activities within walking distance. We felt safe and met a lot of nice vacationers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance you could board boats, surf,snorkel,shop and dine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 22, 2008

studio

We stayed in a studio,which was perfect for our needs. A great location next to the Whalers Village. On a GREAT beach. We could see the ocean and the mountains from the lanai. I would stay here again. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the Whalers Village which had great dining and shopping. I highly recommend th Rusty Harpoon and Hula Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 22, 2008

studio

We stayed in a studio,which was perfect for our needs. A great location next to the Whalers Village. On a GREAT beach. We could see the ocean and the mountains from the lanai. I would stay here again. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the Whalers Village which had great dining and shopping. I highly recommend th Rusty Harpoon and Hula Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 15, 2008

Great Location!

The Whaler is conviently located next to Whalers Village, which has great shopping and eating establishments. Great walk from dinner along the beach area back to the hotel. The room was updated, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Hotel staff were not helpful on a couple of occaisions, but nothing we couldn't get by. The pool is too small for the amount of people that were there, and they charge you for a lounge chair on the beach which was rather shocking. Parking is a challenge, with their garage falling apart and limited spaces on site. Pack your patience. I would stay here again as I understand ResortQuest just took this property over, and they were already making improvements to the property while we were there. Worth a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rusty Harpoon and the Hula Grill serve fantastic food and are fun places as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 4, 2007

fery family friendly

I had a 1 bedroom suite. It was very spacious and comfortable. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter. There was plenty of closet space. In fact there was two large closets. I had a view of the ocean and the mountains and golf course, and the pool. The big thing is the location. You are right on the Kaanapali beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping at the whalers village is great. the restaurants along Kaanapali beach are also good. Everything is within walking distance no matter what age you are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 13, 2007

Super Location

Great Hotel, close to everything in maui. Very clean, helpful and friendly. This is the perfect hotel to stay at. You can beat the price, views and what you get at this hotel. Cant say enough good about this place. Definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 30, 2007

GREAT LOCATION

THE ENDLESS VIEWS AND GREAT LOCATION. EASY ACCESS TO BEACH AND DINING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

WHALERS VILLAGE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
May 20, 2007

Good value for the dollar

The Whaler has a great location. The room was nice and we liked that the vanity area was separate form the shower area.We felt the cleaning of the room was off abit and we had to remind them to refresh our coffee supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get a room facing the Whaler Village or you will hear the sound of deliverery trucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
May 20, 2007

Good value for the dollar

The Whaler has a great location. The room was nice and we liked that the vanity area was separate form the shower area.We felt the cleaning of the room was off abit and we had to remind them to refresh our coffee supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get a room facing the Whaler Village or you will hear the sound of deliverery trucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top