$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Royal Lahaina Resort

4 stars
2780 Kekaa Drive, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
662 reviews
Excellent stay!

Staff was very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with a... See full review

  • stevie O.
  • Oct 17, 2014
Great place to stay

We stayed in the the ocean view apartments. This is a fabulous place to stay. The staff are... See full review

  • Jkeiley
  • Aug 21, 2014
The Royal Lahaina Resort is a family-owned complex of traditional tower hotel rooms and plantation-style beach huts beneath swaying coconut palms. Thanks to the lush 27-acre property size, there's nothing to interfere with views of those mesmerizing ocean waves and neighboring island Molokai, as you snooze in a wicker chair by the sea. Golf enthusiasts have access to two 18-hole championship courses at the Kaanapali Golf Resort, while nature-lovers will be thrilled with many whale-watching opportunities. At night, guests can indulge in Hawaiian history by joining in with a traditional "Myths of Maui" luau, and let the sound of Polynesian drums, the dazzle of colored costumes, and the intense fire knife dance initiate them into island life.
Key facts
  • 350 guestrooms (97 cottage rooms, 236 tower rooms, 17 suites)
  • 11 event spaces
  • 3 outdoor pools and Jacuzzi
  • 11 tennis courts
  • Bocce ball and shuffleboard courts
  • Limited free Wi-Fi
  • Snorkeling
  • Valet parking
  • Gift shop
  • 3 restaurants: Royal Ocean Terrace Restaurant & Lounge, Don the Beachcomber, The Royal Scoop (ice cream parlor)
  • 2 bars
  • Room service
  • Massage available
Neighborhood
Located on the tip of the renowned Kaanapali Beach, up the coast from Maui resort Lahaina and less than five miles from Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM), the Royal Lahaina is down-shore from the more rowdy boardwalk scene, but only a 15-minute stroll from the restaurants and shopping of Whaler’s Village. The hotel is also just north of Black Rock, a large lava formation which serves as a local landmark for cliff-diving and snorkeling fans.
Hints and tips
To book the most secluded getaway, choose the Royal Beach House, which provides exclusive beach access, plus a private pool and hot tub.

For active types, fantastic snorkeling is available in Table Reef, near the front of Kahekili Beach Park.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9327 -156.6917
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG Kapalua Airport-JHM
Area description
On the north end of West Mauis Kaanapali Beach Resort, three miles north of historic Lahaina town. Approximately 10 minutes from West Maui Airport and 40 minutes from Kahului Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Lahaina Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Royal Lahaina Resort Rooms

Cottage Accommodations
The resort's original garden and oceanfront cottage accommodations, located throughout the resort gardens, evoke a quaint beachside experience reminiscent of Hawaii's Plantation Era. Cottage Rooms, as well as Cottage Suites with kitchenettes, are available. All cottage units are resort owned, feature daily maid service and offer a uniform island-style decor with casual wicker furnishings. All guestrooms feature open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available cottage categories include: Garden Cottage Room, Oceanfront Cottage Room, One-Bedroom Garden Cottage Suite, One-Bedroom Oceanfront Cottage Suite, and Two Bedroom Garden Cottage Suite.
Lahaina Kai Tower Accommodations
The 12-story Lahaina Kai Tower, having just completed a 30 Million-Dollar refurbishment, features luxurious island inspired guestrooms and suites celebrating the artistry, environment and culture of Hawaii. Guestrooms and Suites in the Lahaina Kai Tower feature tasteful new decor and luxurious appointments hand-selected by Hawaii's top Interior Designer. Custom designed to entice the senses and connect guests with their tropical surroundings, each room features rich teak furnishings and fine natural materials, as well as state of the art technology and in-room entertainment such as HD Flat Screen Televisions, Cordless Phones, Wi-Fi, and Ipod ports. All guestrooms feature open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Lahaina Kai Tower Terrace, Garden View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View, Deluxe Ocean View, Oceanfront, One-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite, and Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite.
Aloha Saver Category
Aloha Saver room categories are either a garden cottage room or Lahaina Kai Tower Garden view room. Room type assigned at check in, and based on availability only.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Made-in-the-Shade Poolside Grill
Burgers, sandwiches, specialty salads and more
The Royal Ocean Terrace
Our signature restaurant, a winner of the Restaurant Hospitality Table Top Award, offers spectacular views and features Hawaiian Specialties and traditional American favorites, and the area's best daily breakfast buffet.
Royal Ocean Terrace Lounge
Open-air, oceanfront setting for cocktails, appetizers and live music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (662)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
662 out of 662
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stevie O.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 17, 2014

Excellent stay!

Staff was very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with a complimentary upgrade to a full ocean view room. The room itself exceeded our expectations. Everything was nicely designed and the room was comfortable and clean. We had a great view of the ocean and beach. I would definitely recommend this resort to family and friends and looking forward to returning in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nishigandha Misra
Business
Las Angeles, California
Oct 13, 2014

Pinching Moment

The stay was extremely good and we had a very good time. The ocean facing room, beach,restaurant- all were perfect combination to have a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheBabaw
Business
san jose, California
Sep 23, 2014

Great place to stay

Loved everything except paying a daily fee for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
27 Koalas
Business
Burbank, California
Sep 21, 2014

I'd love to send my parents here

It's a safe, clean, elegant looking resort with good value and a very nice spacious beach. The newly remodeled rooms have great clean and modern style. I would definitely stay here again especially because of the hassle free beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohinder
Business
Lynnwood WA
Sep 5, 2014

Disturbation

We have to wake up in the middle of night and directed to leave the hotel because emergency alarm came on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Parasail, Sunset Dinner cruise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AATX
Business
Texas
Sep 2, 2014

Great place for a a great value!

The resort is located on a beautiful beach. Staff is very friendly. Parking costs $10 per day, which is not bad at all, considering how much we use our rental car. The parking lot is very closed by and is very safe to walk around even at late night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fernando M
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 31, 2014

Maui, August 2014

Great hotel in a great location, right on the beach with views of Lanai and Molokai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Roy's Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C D Miller
Business
Washington State
Aug 28, 2014

ROYAL LAHAINA, TOWERS

We stayed for 5 nights at the Royal Lahaina in Lahaina, Maui. We arrived, checked in, and were given our room. The Pro's - The room was cleaned every day but Sunday. Excellent partial view from the Towers was almost a full view! The Grounds are immaculately manicured, and so beautiful! Loved it. The two pools are small, but we enjoyed them nonetheless. Drinks are spendy.. Happy Hour is the best time to have a few drinks. Staff: 50/50 nice and not so friendly... Valet's and some wait staff very nice. We are easy going folks so for the those not so friendly, we chalked it up to a bad day for them. The Valet service for $15 per day is worth every dime! We tipped daily for that service. Call them from your room and your car will be waiting for you when you come downstairs. Hi Gilbert! He was our favorite! Tip them a couple bucks ea time. Now for the Cons: The Buffet is pretty lame for the $$ per person price per day. Dinner service is so slow and frankly the food could be so much better.. Reminded me of Bar food. And EXPENSIVE at that. We ate dinner there only once and spent all our other dinners in town. They could do so much better with that. We had a middle aged woman waiting on us. She was really stressed out. Walking slowly, mechanical smile, dropped a glass, shattered it everywhere, and left it. Glass hit us at our table, people were walking past it, all evening it sat there. We were so upset........ couldn't even focus on enjoying our dinner and it was our first night there! We didn't know what to do, we just hoped no one walked by barefoot. We didn't want to complain on our first night! That same night, they held a Rotary Club event under our window loud blasting music, til 10 pm...Big Party, Live music, Bad live music, seriously. We were so tired, and jet lagged and could not get any sleep it was blasting loud.. They should have comped us one night. They didn't. It was awful. We could not even hear ourselves think. We finally complained. They did nothing.......We snorkled at Black Rock right down the beach. It was awesome!! The beach is spectacular!! We drove the Rd to Hana. If you do not have patience, skip that trip. Also it is an all day affair of site seeing. It's beautiful, but the road is a slow drive, windy, and lots of cars to deal with. Be sure you fill your car and yourself up before you leave....no gas in sight until you reach Hana. 2 1/2 hrs later. We also stopped at the Sacred Pools. My favorite place! We really enjoyed ourselves no matter what our CONS say above. Just a few corrections and the Royal Lahaina would be the most talked about place to be. A revamp to their dinner service and offerings........... correct and add some things to their breakfast menu. And some staff corrections....All that said, I would go back there in a minute!!! Loved it!!! Oh, go see Captain Steve Rafting. He will take you to Lanai snorkeling. his prices are very reasonable and he is so nice, and so is his deckhand. Be sure to tip those guys after your trip, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina Grill- Spendy, but the food is absolutely delicious! Go there!!! Make a reservation though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aloha Jasmine
Business
Chicago
Aug 25, 2014

Royal Lahaina

Lots of "add-on" costs made this hotel a bit frustrating. Parking is $10 a day, high speed internet is also $10 a day) They have complimentary wifi, which was a joke. Login was only good for an hour, you had to recreate your login over and over and also you have to keep signing in ... and the internet was slow anyways. Ended up using 4G on my phone instead. Food is very expensive..wanted to do the morning buffet, but at $25 a person..just didn't seem worth it. The hotel itself is in a prime location - next to Black Rock! GREAT beach to hang out on and have fun in the water. Had a room in the tower...very nice room, very comfy bed, great balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Wake up early and get breakfast elsewhere- Sunrise cafe at 7 am has no wait. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jkeiley
Business
Liverpool, England
Aug 21, 2014

Great place to stay

We stayed in the the ocean view apartments. This is a fabulous place to stay. The staff are friendly, the views are lovely and the Hotel is comfortable. The area of Lahaina is one for the more beautiful places on the island in our opinion too. We would thoroughly recommend this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk south along the beach walk. Until you get to Whaler's village. There is a restaurant on the front that serves Hula pie. Worth the money, every time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top