$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Marriott Kauai Beach Club

4 stars
3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
8 reviews
Best Place to stay in Kauai

We have been to Kauai a few times and tried the north, east, and south shore. The north is quite... See full review

  • RDinKC
  • Aug 23, 2014
Great location!

We have really enjoyed our many stays at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club. It is our first choice,... See full review

  • MamaWithers
  • Apr 8, 2013
Spacious villas, amenities of a luxury resort, beachfront setting
Marriott Kaua'i Beach Club is a part of the larger Kaua'i Marriott Resort complex, which spreads across 800 acres on the eastern shore of Kauai, fronting Kalapaki Beach and adjacent to Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. While the resort offers hotel rooms, the Beach Club has more than 200 spacious timeshare villas, and villa guests have access to all that the resort complex offers, including a 26,000-square-foot mega pool, a spa and six restaurants. The Beach Club and resort share a front desk but there is also staff dedicated solely to Beach Club guests.
Highlights
  • Kalapaki Beach, safe for swimming, snorkeling and surfing
  • Huge fantasy pool with slides and spa pools
  • Daily surfing lessons with Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club nearby
Location
The Marriott Kaua'i Beach Club is centrally located on the east coast of Kauai for easy exploration of every side of the island. With villas just five minutes from Lihue Airport, there is time for a round of golf, a surfing lesson or a dip in the mega fantasy pool.
Rooms
Marriott Kaua'i Beach Club accommodations are in four of the five towers at the resort and range from guest rooms to two-bedroom/two-bath villas -- convenient for groups that include singles, couples and families. Rentals range from 314 square-foot guest rooms to 1,044-square-foot two-bedroom units. They don't have full kitchens but one- and two-bedroom villas have "gourmet centers" with fridge, dishwasher, microwave and housewares. Villas have wired Internet access.
Features
In many ways the Marriott Kaua'i Beach Club is the best of all worlds -- the space and convenience of a condominium with the amenities of a luxury resort. Upscale furnishings and decor in the villas don't necessarily say "Hawaii," but the views and the grounds, which do, more than make up for it. There are six restaurants on the resort grounds, and villa guests can charge back to their villa at any of them.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7mi/6 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
Business
  • Eight meeting rooms, 17,280 square feet of total meeting space
  • Compact business center available 24/7
  • Wireless and wired Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Kauai Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Golf
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Experience the creative Pacific Rim and island-inspired cuisine, masterfully prepared in a fresh contemporary setting at this oceanside Kauai restaurant.
Kalapaki Grill
Enjoy light fare, pizza, classic burgers and grilled snacks by the pool with spectacular ocean views.
Duke's - Fresh Seafood and Ocean Views
Oceanside, casual dining in Kauai right on Kalapaki Beach. This Kauai restaurant specializes in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Toro Tei - Sushi Bar
Sleek, contemporary Kauai restaurant with great views of Kalapaki Beach. Try one of our signature specialty rolls featuring fully cooked ocean delicacies creatively prepared.
Cafe Portofino
Northern Italian restaurant overlooking Kalapaki Bay. Enjoy al fresco fine dining with a Riviera-like atmosphere and an authentic Italian menu at this romantic restaurant in Kauai.
Aupaka Terrace
Start your day with a fresh cup of Kauai Coffee, steaming latte, hot from the oven breakfast pastry and other breakfast goodies at this grab-n-go bar overlooking our pool and beautiful Kalapaki Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Crockett, CA
Sep 17, 2010

Great hotel and location

The hotel was beautiful. The location was great and the dining in the immediate area was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDinKC
Business
OPKS
Aug 23, 2014

Best Place to stay in Kauai

We have been to Kauai a few times and tried the north, east, and south shore. The north is quite rustic for the price, and the south is really nice but excessive. This makes the east shore a central location and perfect place for the practical traveler. The Marriott is the best place to stay on the south shore. The pools and hot tubs are fantastic with oceanview. The pool amenities extend to the pretty beach directly in front of the pool area. The restaurants within walking distance are great. The spa is excellent. It gives all the necessary facilities for travelers who do not want to eat-out every meal without a kitchenette. There are mini-fridges in the room and public grills in the garden area. It is an excellent hotel at a great value. This will be the only place we stay on our future trips to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drew Siyah
Business
San Diego
Aug 20, 2014

Beautiful resort - Staff not helpful

The resort is beautiful but the staff wasn't helpful, bartenders were slow, front desk clerk wouldn't help us with upgrading room, and lacked telling us about the $20 a night parking fee. They also told us we could have a late check out and then charged us $100 for the 4 extra hours we stayed in the tiny room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel it's really overpriced and subpar quality. We went to food land grocery for breakfast / lunch items and ate outside of resort for meals. Kapalaki grill is good food and the staff is really cool. Try the loco moco with potatoes instead of rice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaWithers
Business
Taylorsville, UT
Apr 8, 2013

Great location!

We have really enjoyed our many stays at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club. It is our first choice, mostly because of location: beach, restaurants, shopping, golf, etc. The beautiful pool is the largest on the island and it is very family-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Four restaurants are located on property, with a short walk to several more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Par guy
Business
Katy, Tx.
Dec 8, 2012

Wonerful Experience

This Marriott has a great location near the airport, a big beautiful pool area, a terrific golf course, and a friendly, helpful staff. What else could anyone want in a vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several mid priced dining places within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miz J
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 16, 2012

WAY overrated

I was incredibly disappointed by this hotel. After reading reviews online, I was expecting a 4-star, borderline luxurious experience. While the reviews were glowing, the hotel met the BARE minimum of "Great Beach" and "Amazing Pool". Most importantly, the "Spa" was a JOKE, particularly compared to a hotel most cited as its competition on Poipu. However, the absolute WORST was the WALL BED in my room. Granted, I should have carefully read the description of what I was reserving, but I think you can all agree that after reading all of these glowing FOUR STAR reviews, you'd think that a wall bed would be the furthest thing from luxurious and therefore, a complete irrelevant detail to look for in a reservation! When I'm spending the money for a 4 star hotel, the last thing I expect to do is to move furniture out of the way to build my own bed! The staff, while courteous, really missed the boat on fixing this and possibly retaining a customer. At the very least, they could have avoided this very long, very detailed review on all of the hotel's shortcomings. Had they honored my request to be moved to a room with a real bed vs pointing out my own carelessness and then nickel and diming me to move elsewhere, they may have turned this whole really bad experience into a positive one. Instead of trying to milk me for another $100 bucks PER NIGHT, they could have taken into the account all of the future business they'll be losing from me as well as everyone I will tell about their WALL BEDS! This "hotel" is mostly a vacation time share, which was not made clear to me on any of the reservation or review sites. As such, everything was kind of run down, and a lot of the "stores" were closed. It was depressing. Also, to reference a professional review that this hotel's 4 restaurants were better than the other's 2, I beg to differ. 1 is a a straight bar, serving only limited breakfast and snacks. Another is bar food and drinks next to the pool. One is a Hawaiian tourist trap, and their shining star was glorified Mongolian BBQ. The sushi restaurant within their shining had a pathetic menu and sourced most of their fish from Japan. Excuse me, but when you're on an island, you'd think they could find something a little fresher and little more local without having to fly in salmon from another country. As it is, I will NOT be revisiting this property and will actually think twice before reserving another hotel room from any other belonging to this brand. Spring for the extra $50/night and go to the competition on Poipu. The grounds, the spa, the food (and I'm talking about cafe fare delivery o the spa vs. its "best" restaurant"), and the service were all exponentially better than this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob G
Business
Danville, CA
Feb 25, 2012

Marriott Kauai Beach Resort

Great Marriott resort Hotel, but we had a lousy room. The hotel staff were very attentive and the resort grounds were beautiful. Plenty of amenities and the restaurants were all supurb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crockett, CA
Sep 17, 2010

Great hotel and location

The hotel was beautiful. The location was great and the dining in the immediate area was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Kauai Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Sep 30, 2009

Good choice

We liked the location of the hotel - very close to the airport (without getting annoyed by the air traffic), close to shopping and restaurants. Perfect location if you want to do day trips since it is located right in the middle of the main road connecting the west part of the island with its north point. The hotel has sand beach suitable for swimming. It is in a small bay, so the ocean is relatively calm compare to other beaches. We found out that not all the Kauai beaches are available for swimming. It is not good for snorkeling but you can drive to Poipu Beach and snorkel there – only 20 minutes from hotel. The pool is large and a nice option. Hotel was just renovated but do not expect major luxury in a brand new hotel. From what we observed they renovated the tiles by the pool and one of the restaurants. Rooms are nice but were not renovated – at least ours was not. Breakfast buffet at the hotel is pretty expensive but you can find bunch of local breakfast places close to the hotel. The restaurants are good – average with higher than average prices. However, if you are looking for a good Italian place go to Kauai Pasta in Lihue – food is excellent!!!! And prices are very good too!!! Also try the Beach House in Poipu – that is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Pasta in Lihue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top