$279 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
View map of Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
264 reviews
Great location between North and South Shores

First, let's start with the bad: This place would get 5 stars BUT because of their complimentary... See full review

  • Rofek S.
  • May 2, 2015
Great Trip

I believe this is a great place to travel to experience hawaii and a great time. See full review

  • Matthew K.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 264
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew K.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Great Trip

I believe this is a great place to travel to experience hawaii and a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mar2357
Business
mission Viejo
Jan 14, 2015

Love at first sight

Everything was perfect, loved the view, the breakfast in bed, the huge bathroom. Employees were also very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes is fabulous

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen G
Business
Petaluma, Ca
May 27, 2014

Marriott a must stay

This marriott is located right on the beach in Lihue. The pool is huge!!! The staff was always friendly and helpful. My room was always clean. My only issue was that the room was always damp from the humidity. Had musty smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earl2681
Business
Irvine, California
Jul 8, 2013

Luxury and serenity

Great hotel One of the best I've stayed in Awesome pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant is great

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theresiahunt
Business
West Des Moines, Ia.
May 15, 2013

TLC Required

I felt that the room could have been cleaner. There was dust, not a lot, but I did have to whipe off the coffee maker to use it. I wish there could have been a better break on the food. I felt a bit captive since I did not have a car so getting out was not an option. I guess next time I will rent a car. The staff was great, very friendly. Perhaps some marketing with the local businesses would be good. When my daughter took me to shops outside your friendly cocoon, the shopkeepers were not friendly or helpful, some down right rude. Theresia Hunt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It would be nice to be able to walk to a lower-priced restaurant and shopping.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cpmn
Business
Fairfax, VA
Sep 14, 2011

Only positive thing is that it is close to the airport

My experience was not good. The bathroom had feces on the wall, the bell hops were rude and gave bad directions, the road to get to the hotel was one of the few places on the island with traffic, and the courtesy car took almost an hour to go the 5 minutes to the airport. This is an airport hotel with an OK sunrise. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant is right next door. Great food.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 16, 2011

Great Trip to Kauai

The hotel was wonderful. The restaurants on site were great and I couldn't get enough of the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Wings Over Kauai for a plane tour it was fantastic and comes with a DVD and photos. The owners are really amazing too.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pointgiven
Business
las vegas
May 15, 2011

greatest pool ever

helicopter the island, swimmming, relaxing on the ocean beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to dani's restaurant. great family own restaurant

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
natural girl
Business
seattle
Mar 22, 2011

great place

good location - excecellent swimming beach - really good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Islander Wannabe
Business
Austin, TX
May 8, 2009

Great Place to Stay!

This was my first time to Hawaii at all and I had a great time. The hotel itself is very nice and the location is very good for daily travels. I thought that I could just get around without a car, but I quickly realized that I needed a car so I leased a convertible for a great rate I found online. The facility was nice and large, but be aware that the vast majority of rooms are time share at this facility. The room was well maintained, clean and quiet. I had a partial ocean view from my patio and saw the sun rise every morning. The bed was extremely comfortable. The only complaint I had was that no hair conditioner was provided, only shampoo, body wash, and lotion which was odd. Check in and check out were a breeze and they even provide a courtesy locker room with shower for changing if you have a late flight out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a car and make it a convertible if you can! Lihue is not a great place for sightseeing, but it is very close to the airport and makes the rest of the island accessible. Driving is the best way to see the island and its sights. Reserve a car and pickup at the airport, I got a rate of about $55/day for a new Sebring convertible.

Back to menu Return to top