$272 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
235 reviews
Tropical Resort Fun

Good location (although there are probably quieter beaches - this one is close to the airport, so... See full review

  • Satura
  • Dec 1, 2014
Thank You Hurricane Iselle and Julio...

Greatest experience ever. We arrived in between both hurricanes and the weather was never a factor.... See full review

  • JayRB
  • Nov 30, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 235
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lehuakat
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 27, 2014

Unexpected spot in paradise

This is my second visit. The kukui bird and koi were peaceful and fun. The pools are beautiful. Great access to good restaurants and the beach bay is a plus. It's surprising this place is in Lihue! I wish I had more access to coffe bar and bar. The hours were not ideal. I did not like the pool card either. Room was clean and nice. My view was terrible but you get what you pay for. Overall, very happy with this place and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mar2357
Business
mission Viejo, ca
May 8, 2014

The perfect escape

From the help at the front desk to the comfort and view from the room everything was perfect. I only stayed a couple nights and I know I'll be back for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes-Right on the beach, live music at night, great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orping
Business
Temple, Texas
Nov 7, 2013

Fantastic place to stay

The hotel is in a fantastic location. Very easy drive to the airport, beautiful beach, awesome pool and easy access to Hiway 56 and 51. The grounds are beautiful and it's a very quiet place to stay even with the airport being so close. My only complaint was that if you stay in the Ha'upu tower the parking gets taken over by non-hotel guests going to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith's Family Luau was a great experience from the grounds to the food and to the show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MontanaYup
Business
Kaneohe, Hawaii
May 29, 2013

Good Stuff

Checked in and didn't have any issues throughout. Went to the pool most of the day and hit up the Kalapaki Grill... good drinks and wraps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Portofino is a good "club scene" but there wasn't really that many people there. If you like that type of scene I'd plan around the cruise ships.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time to Kauia
Business
LA, CA
May 21, 2012

Beautiful Property but terrible service

This is a gorgeous property with good places to eat and get drinks, also they have their own beach and nice pool. However the service was terrible. The hotel staff was rude, unwilling to accommodate any special requests. A couple examples: I ordered room service and the meal did not match what was listed on the menu, instead of just bringing up the correct meal, they insisted I was wrong, brought up a highlighted menu of the meal that I ordered and tried to point out where I was wrong so of course I had to pick up my room service menu and show them they were wrong (which of course they were). However at the end of the day it came out to a small plate of fruit they were arguing with me about (i mean really?!). Small things like this occurred all week. Also anytime a local would ask where I was staying they always confirmed what I had been feeling - that the hotel had poor service. They will def try to nickel and dime you about everything. So my recommendation is go somewhere else as I learned most hotels on the island are similar and just as nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess&friends
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 20, 2010

CONVENIENCE

During the month of February, we found a 50% deal for the Marriott, and it turned out to be pretty much exactly what we needed. We spent the first day and a half just hanging around the resort and had plenty to do (mostly lounging around the pool and beach). There were also plenty of food options, though eating around the resort area was a little more pricy than we would have liked. For 3 days we then rented a car. The Marriott conveniently transports you to and from the airport at no cost 24 hours a day, so it was very easy to pick up and return our car. Then the central location of the Marriott in Lihue made it very easy for us to drive to any other location on the island. We spent adequate time on all 4 coasts and had a very easy time navigating around. Overall, great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top