$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
View map of Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
230 reviews
Fun vacation

The property was so huge! We had a wonderful time in the pools and several hot tubs. We will stay... See full review

  • Stephen R.
  • Aug 4, 2015
Relaxing Kauai Family Vacation

Initially driving up to the resort I was a little disappointed about our choice. The exterior looks... See full review

  • Cathy H
  • Jun 15, 2015

The Kauai Marriott Resort Lihue on the Hawaiian island of Kauai is located on beautiful Kalapaki Beach. The views from the property are stunning, and the hotel recently underwent a $50 million upgrade to the rooms, restaurants and property. Whether you are looking to relax at the amazing oceanfront pool or play 18 holes of golf at the adjacent Jack Nicklaus-designed Kaua'i Lagoon Golf Club, the property offers many exciting entertainment options. The hotel also has the renowned Alexander Spa & Salon where you can unwind after a fun day in the sun. Business travelers have over 20,230 square feet of flexible event and meeting space.

Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Property features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Highlights

The resort has five restaurants on-site to handle all of your dining needs. Kukui's Poolside Restaurant and Bar offers Pacific Rim-inspired cuisine, and the Kalapaki Grill offers quick bites while relaxing at the pool. Toro Tei is a premier Japanese restaurant, and The Aupaka Terrace offers traditional American fare.

Duke's is a Hawaiian staple, and the restaurant's convenient location at the hotel adds to its popularity. The Kauai Marriott Resort in Lihue is centrally located and only 1.3 miles away from Lihue International Airport (LIH). The resort has an on-site gym that offers cardio equipment, free weights and yoga balls. Guests also enjoy relaxing in the resort's whirlpool.

Nearby attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$176
4.2 / 5 322 reviews
★★★
$129
4.4 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$180
4.3 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$99
3.4 / 5 238 reviews
★★★
$155
4.1 / 5 59 reviews
★★★
$158
3.9 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$95
3.9 / 5 20 reviews
★★
$119
3.8 / 5 26 reviews

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MarketingMaven
Couples
Arizona
Oct 1, 2012

Stay somewhere else

This resort is the Super Walmart of resorts.  I don't know where to begin with how disapointed I am with this hotel and our experience - - so I will just drive right in.  We stayed at this resort for the last five days of our honeymoon (the first week of our honeymoon was spent in Maui). Our arrival Upon our arival, no bell service assisted us with our luggage.  My husband dropped me off curbside and unloaded our bags and proceeded to park the car.  I had to flag down a bellman to assist me.  Our "geeting" at the front desk was less than warm.  In the few minutes it took us to check in, we were "encouraged" numerous times to upgrade our room (which made me begin to think that maybe the quality of the room we reserved was not good).  It was really annoying.  The woman handed us a map of the resort and circled our room.  I didn't expect her to review the entire resort map with me, but it would have been nice to point out the dining options or where we go to get our towels or rent activitiy equiptment. Rooms Our room was a pool and ocean view.  It was very large (and included a large sitting area with a couch).  The patio was also a nice size.  The bed was comfortable. Our first night, several of the rooms in our hallway flooded.  Although our room was not flooded, the smell in the hallway was horrific. It smelled like a backed up sewer for the next two days. Luckily the smell was only in the hall and did not make it into our room (or I would have insisted that we be moved.)   Someone (I am assuming children) dropped a ton of crackers in the hallway and stomped all of over them.  This wasn't cleaned for two days. Staff The staff is hit or miss.  Some are very helpful and friendly and others would prefer not to assist you at all. Guests This is what really confused me and made me feel like I was staying in a Walmart more than anything. The guests here are extremely rude. (It is shocking actually coming from Maui where the guests at the hotel were courteous to other guests, very laid back, and everyone was just trying to have a good time and enjoy their vacation.)  The older crowd (i.e., senior citizens) acted like everyone around them was an annoyance and that other guests were interfering with their vacation.  The large families and mass groups of kids acted like a zoo. There were constantly guests yelling off of their balcony to their family members at the pool trying to get their attention and then have a whole yelling conversation about their plans for the day. There were groups of high school and college students being obnixous (i.e., kicking volleyballs around the sand and grass area, hitting other guests and guests' beach chairs with the ball; trying to parkour off of the resort trees and various structures; and at the main pool it was constant screaming and horseplay with kids who were left unattended by their parents.)  It was a real scene. I have not stayed on another property on Kauai before but I would certainly reccomend ANYWHERE but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Sunland, CA
Sep 13, 2009

bad for the price

I thought the Marriott was to be a great hotel and we booked a garden view room and when we arrived we were told that they had no garden view rooms due to renovations, they gave us a room over looking the back truck parking NO balcony. They compt us $50.00 a day which you had to use at hotel was not enough. Room was like Motel 6, loud toilet flush, old paint and linens, absouloutly horrible. Won't stay again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duke's restaurant was good and waiter was great!!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 17, 2010

Worst Vacation Ever!

This was, by far, one of the dirtiest hotels we have ever stayed. Stains on the bath towels, pool towels, sheets, pillowcases, and comforters. The staff was rude, definitely not friendly or helpful. We tried several times to change rooms (hoping a new room would be cleaner). The ceiling in our bathroom (which was extremely small) was falling apart. The faucet barely reached the sink and water spilled over the counter every time you used it. The elevators were not reliable and we actually got stuck once. The pool and beach are crowded. We hardly ever found an empty chair to use. The beach was rocky and much smaller than anticipated. The hotel is near a public park so the beach area and I suspect the pool are filled with non guests of the hotel as well. The only decent meal we had was at Roy's and even that was not up to the quality of other Roy's Restaurants. This is a small island where everyone is a little too laid back; they basically don't care when you get your car (valet) or your room cleaned (housekeeping). I had to go out and buy disposable cups, bowls, etc. for the hotel room since I saw dried up grime on the glasses two days in a row. Everything about this hotel was awful. The pool is one depth and it's impossible to watch your kids from one spot due to its circular shape. In a nutshell, no one at this hotel cares about you or whether you are enjoying yourself. We tried many of the hotel restaurants and had to ask about the breakfast buffet several times until finally getting an answer. Rude, disrespectful employees are everywhere. We loved Maui and would highly recommend another island other than Kauai unless you enjoy "roughing it".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hawaii
Aug 6, 2010

trip that every thing went wrong

When we arrived ,They did not have our reservation. We have booked ocean view room,They did not have one,They put us in handiecap room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Disappointing - both Orbitz and Marriott

Our stay was very disappointing. While the grounds are pretty nice, neither Orbitz nor Marriott bothered telling us the hotel was undergoing major construction. There was drilling and noise about our room as well as by the pool and the beach, so we had to leave the resort practically every day. Also, the cleaning crew was never thorough. Not worth what we paid. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2011

Poor treatment

When we arrived, the Marriott had no record of the resrvation I had made online through [...]. After producing a copy of the [...]confirmation, they said they would call my cell when the room was ready. Guaranteed by 4pm, they said. We waited at the bar 2 hours. 4pm rolls around, still no call. I waited in a line for 20 minutes for the front desk, and when it was my turn, no appologies for the lateness or lack of response. Again, they seemed puzzled about my reservation, even though I had given a copy of the confirmation hours ago. Finally I am given a room with a very nice pool view. We go off to have a great dinner at Portofinio's, the onsite Italian restaurant. (The meat lasagna is a must!)The next day, we get a call in the afternoon rudely telling us that check out time was noon, and we needed to be out of the room. My husband explained we paid for 2 nights, not 1. Another harrassing call from the front desk, and my husband, again, has to make a trip to the lobby, and has to produce yet another copy of our confirmation that clearly stated 2 nights. No appology for their error at all.This treatment bothered both of us so much that my husband spoke to the manager on the day of checkout. The manager was very appologetic (finally, someone nice to us!), and while my husband made it clear we were not complaining to gain anything from it, other than to make management aware of terrible service, the manager gave us a $100 credit off our bill.All in all, the hotel is nice enough. Pretty view of the bay. The room was nice and updated. The bed super comfy. The restaurants were great. But our overall experience was one of stress and frustration. Not how you want to end a vacation. We won't be staying at a Marriott again, much less this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cpmn
Single
Fairfax, VA
Sep 14, 2011

Only positive thing is that it is close to the airport

My experience was not good. The bathroom had feces on the wall, the bell hops were rude and gave bad directions, the road to get to the hotel was one of the few places on the island with traffic, and the courtesy car took almost an hour to go the 5 minutes to the airport. This is an airport hotel with an OK sunrise. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant is right next door. Great food.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kauai bound
Couples
Charlestown, IN
Apr 2, 2012

Disappointed

We were very disappointed with the resort. While we were there after days of rain, the pool was not swimmable. It was understanding that the beach at the resort was dirty and very uninviting due to the rains, but we did expect to be able to swim in the pool. It was closed the 1st day and the 2nd day the sign was down, however the water was brown. I asked several other couples at the airport where they stayed and if the pool was dirty and none of them had the experience we did. I would never recommend a time share purchase nor would we stay at the resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kipu Ranch - the ATV ride was awesome. Very informative and gorgeous scenery - the guides were wonderful.....well worth the money.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lovekauaialot
Couples
California
Jun 28, 2012

Horrible room.

We stayed at the Marriott Kauai Resort in Lihue in June 2012. While the resort is pleasant enough overall (despite the inexplicable $25-per-day "resort fee"), you must be very careful in booking your reservation. DO NOT trust your Hawaii vacation to Marriott without fully investigating any "good deal" you find on the Internet. I was not careful enough, and my Marriott "good deal" was the only ugly part of the vacation. Marriott does not disclose up front that it has a series of throw-away rooms few vacationers would knowingly select. Marriott does not even offer these rooms on a standalone basis, but they are the ONLY rooms offered on their room+car deals. When you book just the room, you can select an "ocean view," "pool view," or "garden view," representing descending desirability and price. But when you book a room+car (usually looks like a really great deal) you automatically receive a "NO VIEW" room. Marriott does not tell you what a "no view" room is, or that it is altogether unacceptable. Also, when you book just the room, your reservation can be canceled at any time. But once you book a room+car deal substantial penalties apply if you try to cancel. Thus you are locked into your really unpleasant room. I canceled a standalone "garden view" booking in favor of a room +car deal before realizing that somewhere in the process "garden view" had changed to "no view." I made the mistake of trusting my vacation to Marriott without asking enough questions. We come to Hawaii expecting a certain kind of experience. Few are more ubiquitous and pleasant than looking out to the green Hawaiian mountains or blue ocean while feeling the perpetual trade wind breeze wash over you. But the Marriott "no view" room not only has no view (except clouds if you look up), but the windows are permanently sealed shut! This means that the only breeze you'll feel is from the air conditioning unit that almost provides enough air movement in a very little room to stave off claustrophobia. In short, when you step into a Marriott Kauai "no view" room, you leave Hawaii for any dark, smoggy metropolis you might imagine. And Marriott's "no view" rooms aren't cheap. You can get ocean-front (better then "ocean view") rooms elsewhere on Kauai for much less. I talked to management at the hotel. They admitted the no view room is only suitable for guests to only come in to sleep, but some guests prefer that. (But Marriott never warns you until you've bought the room, so how would we know?). They claimed to be 100% full, but offered me an upgrade to a garden view room for $80 per night, which was much more than my original but canceled booking. I couldn't afford the upgrade, so they ignored me. I'll go back when money Summary: Kauai--Great! Marriott Resort--Good but very expensive. Room--Very, very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp Station in Kapaa has the best shrimp on the island. Had coconut and beer-battered varieties. Excellent!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orange County , CA
Jun 20, 2009

Timing is everthing?

There was a warning posted about possible construction noise 9am to 4pm and sure there was. Why would they fill rooms just below the construction zone? Not a place to relax and recuperate after an illness. Very disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Costco!

Back to menu Return to top