$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
View map of Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
230 reviews
Fun vacation

The property was so huge! We had a wonderful time in the pools and several hot tubs. We will stay... See full review

  • Stephen R.
  • Aug 4, 2015
Relaxing Kauai Family Vacation

Initially driving up to the resort I was a little disappointed about our choice. The exterior looks... See full review

  • Cathy H
  • Jun 15, 2015

The Kauai Marriott Resort Lihue on the Hawaiian island of Kauai is located on beautiful Kalapaki Beach. The views from the property are stunning, and the hotel recently underwent a $50 million upgrade to the rooms, restaurants and property. Whether you are looking to relax at the amazing oceanfront pool or play 18 holes of golf at the adjacent Jack Nicklaus-designed Kaua'i Lagoon Golf Club, the property offers many exciting entertainment options. The hotel also has the renowned Alexander Spa & Salon where you can unwind after a fun day in the sun. Business travelers have over 20,230 square feet of flexible event and meeting space.

Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Property features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Highlights

The resort has five restaurants on-site to handle all of your dining needs. Kukui's Poolside Restaurant and Bar offers Pacific Rim-inspired cuisine, and the Kalapaki Grill offers quick bites while relaxing at the pool. Toro Tei is a premier Japanese restaurant, and The Aupaka Terrace offers traditional American fare.

Duke's is a Hawaiian staple, and the restaurant's convenient location at the hotel adds to its popularity. The Kauai Marriott Resort in Lihue is centrally located and only 1.3 miles away from Lihue International Airport (LIH). The resort has an on-site gym that offers cardio equipment, free weights and yoga balls. Guests also enjoy relaxing in the resort's whirlpool.

Nearby attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$176
4.2 / 5 322 reviews
★★★
$129
4.4 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$180
4.3 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$99
3.4 / 5 238 reviews
★★★
$155
4.1 / 5 59 reviews
★★★
$158
3.9 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$95
3.9 / 5 20 reviews
★★
$119
3.8 / 5 26 reviews

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Master chief 123
Couples
Irvine
Feb 22, 2014

Fantastic Gataway

The best vacation I have had in few years. Little bit pricy but it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golf Guy
Couples
Hudson, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Awesome Resort and Facilities

Great Resort with 1st Class atmosphere. Convenient location. Very private and secluded location yet near many attractions. Would highly recommend it. Would return to it if we get back to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Bean
Couples
Loma Linda, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Perfect 10 year anniversary!

This was by far the best vacation we have ever had! The hotel staff was extremely helpful, our room was beautiful, with a SUPER comfy bed & the shower was a dream! Played volleyball on the beach almost every day, while my spouse did some diving in Poipu. The weather could not have been better. We had a wonderful time & can't wait to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LOVED the lilikoi sorbet from Pappalatti's in Poipu, the banana & coconut pancakes w/ coconut syrup at the Kountry Kitchen in Kapaa, as well as the teriyaki beef plate lunch at Sueoka's Market in Koloa town. For a splurge (& a longer drive!), we recommend the Sunday brunch at the St. Regis in Princeville. The price is a bit steep, but the view was AMAZING & the food was delish!!!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LC in L.A.
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

The Kauai Marriott was excellent. Food, atmosphere, location, and staff were top of the line. THe room was very comfortable and luxurious with a very big flat screen TV. Our pool view room in the "Hauupu" Tower had an great view of the pool and Kalapaki Beach which is hop and skip from the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mahealani
Couples
Hawaii, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Awesome!

For the most part everything was great from when we got there till when we left. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The spa experience for my husband was just what he needed...super friendly staff that definitly helped him to relax and revive. Our only down fall was the parking. The parking closes to the tower that we stayed in was shared with beach access to where we had to park on the other end of the property. Over all WE would recomend this place to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Spa is a must!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn S
Family
Martinez, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Xmas Vacation

Probably the most beautiful accommodations we have stayed at in the Hawaiian islands over the last 35 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
butterfly8900
Couples
California, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Perfect vacation

Enjoyed our stay a lot! Our stay was awesome! Staff was very helpful and accommodating,hotel was very clean...Loved the vacation, would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChanSas
Family
Chandler, AZ, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Awesome Family Resort

Really nice resort...Located in lush tree background...Really loved all the amenities...I could not get internet in my room despite spending 2 hrs on the phone with the hotel/tech support....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Need to drive long ways to see the either side of the Kauai island...located very close to the lihue international airport...

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NJSurfrider
Couples
Northern, NJ
Feb 28, 2012

Luxury in a beautiful location

Excellent, clean, quiet, and comfortable room. Great pool and excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's is a Hawaiian instution with fine food @ the end of the property.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gators2008
Couples
St. Augustine, Fl
May 10, 2012

Resort for all ages

One of the best overall resorts I have stayed at. Everything you need is right at the property. The restaurants on property were all excellent. Only time we had to leave the resort was for sightseeing. I would defintely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top