$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
332 reviews
Great honeymoon stay

Nice hotel in close proximity to major airport. Lovely pool area and beach access. Rooms were clean... See full review

  • M. K.
  • Jul 23, 2014
Fantastic family resort

The 4 foot deep pool was gigantic with multiple hot tubs. The poolside Kakapaki grill had delicious... See full review

  • N. L.
  • Jul 20, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.9648 -159.354
Area served
Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport
Area description
Located beachfront on historic Kalapaki Beach along Kaua'is eastern shore, just minutes from Lihue airport and a wide variety of island activities and attractions.

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn S
Martinez, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Xmas Vacation

Probably the most beautiful accommodations we have stayed at in the Hawaiian islands over the last 35 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TedBW
Kenmore, WA
Dec 21, 2011

Delightful.

Great, convenient location. Wonderful, very responsive staff. Beautiful large pool with separate children's pool. Beach had both lawn and sand area with sun and shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the McBryde/Allerton Natioinal Trapoical Botanical gardens.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farmer joe
Utah
Dec 9, 2011

Very Nice

Even the cheapest room was real good. Very clean, modern, excellent food. Little confusing on how to get around from beach to lobby, but overall a very classic and yet modern place. Beach was nice and clean. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caapy
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Family vacation

We enjoyed with family from Japan. Beach is so close that we can hear the sound of the ocean when we just wake up!It was also good walking in a garden and along the beach. We also enjoyed BBQ at a hotel BBQ place. There is ABC mart in a walk distance,you can get water bottle cheaper than one in a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yongaz
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Thanksgiving at the Kauai Marriott

The staff was consistently very friendly and shared a willingness to help. The location was very good as it is centrally located to wherever you might want to visit on the island. It's also located a very short drive from the Costco and shopping area. I played golf twice, Kauai Lagoons which is affiliated to the hotel with a discount and shuttle service for Marriott guests, and played at Puakea. Puakea is one of my favorite courses to play on any of the island golf courses. Less foo-foo with no GPS, but the course was in awesome shape, great layout with incredible views of the huge mountain peaks and very friendly staff. Also was about half price vs. Kauai Lagoons guest rate. The only issue we had was the size and location of the room we were provided. It was VERY small and located right next to the elevator. This was our third trip to Kauai and I would definitely stay at the Marriott next time. Almost forgot to mention that the private beach for resort guests was very nice (even nicer than the one located at the Hyatt Regency in Poipu).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai seemed to be experiencing the recession fairly hard as Eggberts had merged with Hula Grill and was not nearly as good. Gaylords was bought out by 22 North which also didn't serve nearly as good food. Yum Cha in Poipu was AWESOME! and the Thai food at Mema Thai was very good.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mahealani
Hawaii, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Awesome!

For the most part everything was great from when we got there till when we left. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The spa experience for my husband was just what he needed...super friendly staff that definitly helped him to relax and revive. Our only down fall was the parking. The parking closes to the tower that we stayed in was shared with beach access to where we had to park on the other end of the property. Over all WE would recomend this place to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Spa is a must!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LC in L.A.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

The Kauai Marriott was excellent. Food, atmosphere, location, and staff were top of the line. THe room was very comfortable and luxurious with a very big flat screen TV. Our pool view room in the "Hauupu" Tower had an great view of the pool and Kalapaki Beach which is hop and skip from the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Mot at regular Mariott Standards

Our stay at this location was pretty good but was dissatisfied with finding a couple of roaches in the bathroom. It was a tropical location so figured we should possibly expect some typre of bugs. Facility appeared to have pretty recent renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The italian Restaraunt was one of the best, like being in Little Italy NYC

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Bean
Loma Linda, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Perfect 10 year anniversary!

This was by far the best vacation we have ever had! The hotel staff was extremely helpful, our room was beautiful, with a SUPER comfy bed & the shower was a dream! Played volleyball on the beach almost every day, while my spouse did some diving in Poipu. The weather could not have been better. We had a wonderful time & can't wait to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LOVED the lilikoi sorbet from Pappalatti's in Poipu, the banana & coconut pancakes w/ coconut syrup at the Kountry Kitchen in Kapaa, as well as the teriyaki beef plate lunch at Sueoka's Market in Koloa town. For a splurge (& a longer drive!), we recommend the Sunday brunch at the St. Regis in Princeville. The price is a bit steep, but the view was AMAZING & the food was delish!!!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsharp721
Norfolk, VA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great hotel for exploring Kauai

My wife and I stayed at the Kauai Marriott Resort for our honeymoon and we loved our stay. This hotel is perfect for those wishing to explore Kauai as its location is very accessible to all parts of the island while providing all the amenities you need for those days you just want to stay close by. The pool alone is worth the stay for those who want to swim, as there aren't many relaxing swimming beaches on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top