$279 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
View map of Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tylers
Business
Redmond Washington
Oct 2, 2012

Great Anniversary Getaway

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the centrally located resort. Rent a car and you are able to enjoy the entire island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kalapaki Joes across the street has a great happy hour 3 to 6 each day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MarketingMaven
Business
Arizona
Oct 1, 2012

Stay somewhere else

This resort is the Super Walmart of resorts.  I don't know where to begin with how disapointed I am with this hotel and our experience - - so I will just drive right in.  We stayed at this resort for the last five days of our honeymoon (the first week of our honeymoon was spent in Maui). Our arrival Upon our arival, no bell service assisted us with our luggage.  My husband dropped me off curbside and unloaded our bags and proceeded to park the car.  I had to flag down a bellman to assist me.  Our "geeting" at the front desk was less than warm.  In the few minutes it took us to check in, we were "encouraged" numerous times to upgrade our room (which made me begin to think that maybe the quality of the room we reserved was not good).  It was really annoying.  The woman handed us a map of the resort and circled our room.  I didn't expect her to review the entire resort map with me, but it would have been nice to point out the dining options or where we go to get our towels or rent activitiy equiptment. Rooms Our room was a pool and ocean view.  It was very large (and included a large sitting area with a couch).  The patio was also a nice size.  The bed was comfortable. Our first night, several of the rooms in our hallway flooded.  Although our room was not flooded, the smell in the hallway was horrific. It smelled like a backed up sewer for the next two days. Luckily the smell was only in the hall and did not make it into our room (or I would have insisted that we be moved.)   Someone (I am assuming children) dropped a ton of crackers in the hallway and stomped all of over them.  This wasn't cleaned for two days. Staff The staff is hit or miss.  Some are very helpful and friendly and others would prefer not to assist you at all. Guests This is what really confused me and made me feel like I was staying in a Walmart more than anything. The guests here are extremely rude. (It is shocking actually coming from Maui where the guests at the hotel were courteous to other guests, very laid back, and everyone was just trying to have a good time and enjoy their vacation.)  The older crowd (i.e., senior citizens) acted like everyone around them was an annoyance and that other guests were interfering with their vacation.  The large families and mass groups of kids acted like a zoo. There were constantly guests yelling off of their balcony to their family members at the pool trying to get their attention and then have a whole yelling conversation about their plans for the day. There were groups of high school and college students being obnixous (i.e., kicking volleyballs around the sand and grass area, hitting other guests and guests' beach chairs with the ball; trying to parkour off of the resort trees and various structures; and at the main pool it was constant screaming and horseplay with kids who were left unattended by their parents.)  It was a real scene. I have not stayed on another property on Kauai before but I would certainly reccomend ANYWHERE but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KESN
Business
Bay Area, CA
Sep 25, 2012

Great Place to stay.

This has everything you need including a private pool and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want shaved ice early in the day, go to Halo Halo Corner off of Rice st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gjschoele
Business
Hawaii
Sep 23, 2012

Great hotel

Great place! Beautiful hotel and great location. Pool is exceptionally nice as is the beach. Plenty of great places nearby to eat at, especially Duke's. only complaint is that the staff was not very friendly, seem to regard guests as just pain in the but tourists. Other than that, fairly nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Frugal Traveler
Business
Danville, California
Sep 14, 2012

I think the staff is friendlier here

Maybe it's Kauai, more rural, more small town, but the staff seemed friendlier than those at some other large resorts. Great location close to shops that sell lots of clothes and other items that are made in Hawaii. Walking distance to restaurants that are owned by locals with great food and local beers. Complaints: They could steam clean those marble bathroom floors every once in a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar and grill across the street in the Harbor Mall had a hamburger made from beef and pork from Kauai...fantastic and the fries were the best on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wawilso1
Business
MD
Sep 7, 2012

Good Stay

What you expect from a mega resort. It had it's own beach with hotel and offsite beach rental items so it keeps the hotel prices honest. Also they have a Dukes canoe (on hotel property) and several other eateries near by that offer offsite lower cost options.. However the onsite prices were not as bad as other similar hotels. The pool was very nice and if you don't want to dont want to rent a car the airport is very close and shuttles run all the time. If you do rent a car they have an onsite facility. However if you are looking to cut costs you can easily take the shuttle to the airport and choose from several other rental car facilities. We used the onsite facility and it worked great for us. The restaraunts were good I do think this is an area that could be improved. The food was so so except for the main dinning area. All in all agood central location and we were happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai Dreamin
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 31, 2012

When can we go back?!

The Kauai Marriott was amazing! The staff was fantastic, the location was incredible, the pool was humungous - seriously one of the best vacations we have ever been on. My wife and I had an amazing time and would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoMo18
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 31, 2012

Can't wait to return

Easily the best hotel on Kauai! The hotel itself is breath taking. The staff was very helpful and had such a great customer focused attitude. I have been to Oahu, Maui, and now Kauai, and this hotel is the best by far we have stayed at. They were full over the weekend when we were there, and it did not feel packed at all. The dinning expericences around the hotel were high class. We really enjoyed it (especially Cafe Portofino, it is a must). Book this hotel, you will not regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Hawaii Helicopter tour is right across the street. Also go to the breakfast and burger shack. The burgers are great, but the breakfast is even better. Price is right also. The hotel has resort type prices, where you can get a decent breakfast for good prices here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo
Jul 20, 2012

Best pool!!!

Love the big pool!! Nice!! I and my boyfriend was at the pool all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulCC
Business
New York, NY
Jul 16, 2012

Nice and worth it

the resort is vey nice. room is clean and modern. Will definitely stay if visit kauai next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top