$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
234 reviews
Tropical Resort Fun

Good location (although there are probably quieter beaches - this one is close to the airport, so... See full review

  • Satura
  • Dec 1, 2014
Thank You Hurricane Iselle and Julio...

Greatest experience ever. We arrived in between both hurricanes and the weather was never a factor.... See full review

  • JayRB
  • Nov 30, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gators2008
Business
St. Augustine, Fl
May 10, 2012

Resort for all ages

One of the best overall resorts I have stayed at. Everything you need is right at the property. The restaurants on property were all excellent. Only time we had to leave the resort was for sightseeing. I would defintely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joellev
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Staff

When we arrive they gave us a room overlooking another building and next to the elevator! This was not a garden view as promised. I called the front desk and they immediately gave us a much nicer room with the garden view. What I did not like was the fact we had to pay an additional 20$ per day as a resort fee. This should be all inclusive to the cost of the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaaah Paradise
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 9, 2012

Nice Hotel, Close to shopping and beach

The hotel grounds are beautiful, the pool is very large and relaxing, has the most jaccuzzis I've ever seen! Close to plenty of restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kalapaki Beach Hut---AWESOME FOOD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sixer
Business
Corona, CA, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Family vacation

We had an amazing time, the pool and beach front is incredible. I highly recommended this resort if you are looking for a quiet calm vacation. The only thing to keep an eye on or ask as you check in for the hidden fees.... 20 dollars a day resort fees, this explains the complimentary drinks make sure you use them because we didn't, and we found this out when we were checking out. To late......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must rent a car when you settle in, alot cheaper then the resort. You will save alot of money through out your trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kauai bound
Business
Charlestown, IN
Apr 2, 2012

Disappointed

We were very disappointed with the resort. While we were there after days of rain, the pool was not swimmable. It was understanding that the beach at the resort was dirty and very uninviting due to the rains, but we did expect to be able to swim in the pool. It was closed the 1st day and the 2nd day the sign was down, however the water was brown. I asked several other couples at the airport where they stayed and if the pool was dirty and none of them had the experience we did. I would never recommend a time share purchase nor would we stay at the resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kipu Ranch - the ATV ride was awesome. Very informative and gorgeous scenery - the guides were wonderful.....well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lihue get away
Business
Columbia MO
Mar 23, 2012

Living Aloha

This resort is beautiful! Lovely pool area, that includes a childrens pool. Beach is just steps away! In keeping with Marriott's standards, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was cheerful and accommodating. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Marriott offers an insulated cup for $34.95 that allows you unlimited refills of coffee, tea, or soda. This can pay for itself quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jewels Nooge
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Paid for an Ocean View and didn't get one

We booked this trip and paid over $1,000 dollars extra to have a view of the ocean. Our room had a view of the kids pool and the hotel would not do anything about it. Do not pay the extra for an ocean view at this place. We ended up switching hotels after one night to the Grand Hyattt. That hotel gave us an ocean view and was a 100 times nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klev
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Great location

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better. Right by a huge pool and right on the beach. The food was average and the staff, in general, was not very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dua orang tuah
Business
Novato CA
Mar 7, 2012

winter getaway

Resort is beginning to show its age. Service and comfort compatible with a solid 4 star. Very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's well recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChanSas
Business
Chandler, AZ, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Awesome Family Resort

Really nice resort...Located in lush tree background...Really loved all the amenities...I could not get internet in my room despite spending 2 hrs on the phone with the hotel/tech support....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Need to drive long ways to see the either side of the Kauai island...located very close to the lihue international airport...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top