$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
234 reviews
Tropical Resort Fun

Good location (although there are probably quieter beaches - this one is close to the airport, so... See full review

  • Satura
  • Dec 1, 2014
Thank You Hurricane Iselle and Julio...

Greatest experience ever. We arrived in between both hurricanes and the weather was never a factor.... See full review

  • JayRB
  • Nov 30, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kauai
Business
Kauai Mariott resort
Feb 23, 2014

Great place

The hotel is excellent! The food is very pricey for breakfast but the resort is beautiful! The only thing they do not have is a kids club. The club is only open one evening during the week and no one used it. Great location, great pool and hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Master chief 123
Business
Irvine
Feb 22, 2014

Fantastic Gataway

The best vacation I have had in few years. Little bit pricy but it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The King From Ritzville
Business
Ritzville, WA
Feb 18, 2014

Hawaii Vacation

The Hotel needs more emphasis on Hawaiian culture. Torch lighting ceremonies etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snow country traveler
Business
American Falls, Idaho
Jan 20, 2014

Great winter getaway

It was a beautiful resort. The food was good, but quite expensive. The beach was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inna03
Business
Seattle
Jan 5, 2014

Pretty nice hotel!

We loved the location, close proximity to the airport and beautiful views. Even with the garden view we had partial view of the pool and ocean. Service is very good, although we had to wait a long time at the restaurant by the pool, probably because we ordered of the menu and not a buffet. Italian restaurant had quicker service and pleasant atmosphere with the harp music. Water at the pool is colder then other Marriott in Poipu and Kona we stayed prior. My son loved it, but it was too cold for me. I absolutely loved the live entertainer--he sings and accompanies himself on the guitar! He had incredible repertoire, sings for hours and never repeats, and have wonderful soothing voice! You can find him at the restaurant or at the bar above the pool. He was at the pool restaurant on the Christmas Eve and made whole evening very special! Thank you and thank you Marriott for hiring such an outstanding musician! We also liked Tuesday night huge screen movies at the beach! Very cool! Overall we had great time and loved the location. In the morning it took us 15 minutes to drive to the airport and return the car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orping
Business
Temple, Texas
Nov 7, 2013

Fantastic place to stay

The hotel is in a fantastic location. Very easy drive to the airport, beautiful beach, awesome pool and easy access to Hiway 56 and 51. The grounds are beautiful and it's a very quiet place to stay even with the airport being so close. My only complaint was that if you stay in the Ha'upu tower the parking gets taken over by non-hotel guests going to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith's Family Luau was a great experience from the grounds to the food and to the show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chilledwiliie
Business
Kauai
Oct 13, 2013

Beautiful Grounds

The hotel grounds and location is amazing. The hotel room looks really nice. However, the beds and pillows are not that comfortable. Also housekeeping doesn't do the best job cleaning the room. But had a great time and would stay there again. Pool is beautiful and they have a fun little kids pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe B from AV
Business
Aliso Viejo, California
Aug 20, 2013

Great location and amenities!

Our family, including 2 yr old and 9 yr old daughters, had a great time at this Marriott. It has a very family-friendly beach just steps outside. My daughters also loved the kids slide and large, picturesque pool with fountains. It was also great to be able to walk a short distance to JJ broilers and other restaurants to have a more affordable meal. Would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to JJ Broilers and other nearby restaurants for an affordable meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephen66
Business
Wenatchee, Washington
Aug 19, 2013

Nice resort, but only an okay room

This resort is close to everything and the location is good. Also, the resort is beautiful with a great swimming pool. However, (I guess there needs to be one) our room was outdated, dirty, and noisy. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a garden view room, which means we had a bunch of plants to look at outside of our patio door. The furniture in the room was outdated with a large layer of dust on it. Also, we asked for more hangers, but they never brought them, and the elevator did not work (neither one) the last day - otherwise service was good. The $175 service fee will be higher as they add a tax on to each item covered by that fee. We did not have a problem with parking, but we felt all the restaurants on the grounds were overpriced. We would look for a better hotel if we returned to the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are cheaper restaurants in the mall nearby, and, actually, the food is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elfy Krys
Business
Kailua, HI
Jul 9, 2013

Fantastic Birthday Celebration

It was relaxing and wonderful. The pool is just gorgeous and stunning. Loved to pool service attendents. However, I think we should be allowed to have other beverages other than those sold at the pool bar. Other than that, it was a wonderful birthday celebration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top