$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
225 reviews
Marriott was magnificent!

We have now enjoyed both the Kauai Marriott in Lihue and the Coconut Beach Marriott in Kapaa. Both... See full review

  • Maui Magnetism
  • Aug 22, 2014
Refreshed honeymooner

Great location, everything was perfect. Plenty of restaurant choices on resort. Free shuttle... See full review

  • Refreshed Honeymooner
  • Aug 19, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Hotel Map

21.9648 -159.354
Area served
Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport
Area description
Located beachfront on historic Kalapaki Beach along Kaua'is eastern shore, just minutes from Lihue airport and a wide variety of island activities and attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elfy Krys
Kailua, HI
Jul 9, 2013

Fantastic Birthday Celebration

It was relaxing and wonderful. The pool is just gorgeous and stunning. Loved to pool service attendents. However, I think we should be allowed to have other beverages other than those sold at the pool bar. Other than that, it was a wonderful birthday celebration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earl2681
Irvine, California
Jul 8, 2013

Luxury and serenity

Great hotel One of the best I've stayed in Awesome pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCarlson801
San Jose, CA
Jun 19, 2013

Great place to stay

My wife an I had a enjoyable stay at the Kauai Marriott Resort. Beach access is great and there are a number of food options / shops within walking distance. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MontanaYup
Kaneohe, Hawaii
May 29, 2013

Good Stuff

Checked in and didn't have any issues throughout. Went to the pool most of the day and hit up the Kalapaki Grill... good drinks and wraps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Portofino is a good "club scene" but there wasn't really that many people there. If you like that type of scene I'd plan around the cruise ships.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tatu
scottsdale
May 19, 2013

not very friendly

to close to the airport. the staff not very friendly. it rained 3 days out of 6 and while it rained which is not there fault our tv in our room didnt work for 4 days. i could of have paid a little bit more and stayed at the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

away from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theresiahunt
West Des Moines, Ia.
May 15, 2013

TLC Required

I felt that the room could have been cleaner. There was dust, not a lot, but I did have to whipe off the coffee maker to use it. I wish there could have been a better break on the food. I felt a bit captive since I did not have a car so getting out was not an option. I guess next time I will rent a car. The staff was great, very friendly. Perhaps some marketing with the local businesses would be good. When my daughter took me to shops outside your friendly cocoon, the shopkeepers were not friendly or helpful, some down right rude. Theresia Hunt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It would be nice to be able to walk to a lower-priced restaurant and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
an27
Denver, CO
May 6, 2013

Nice hotel in a busy location

Marriott Beach Club felt like a good 4-star hotel. The location is 2 mins away from the airport and in a busy harbor (lots of cruise ships). Lots of helicopters flying over the hotel though. The beach was excellent, the ocean was pretty calm. We were impressed by the pool, however apparently I'm very sensitive to the chlorine and developed a little rash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of food around. The hotel has a nice breakfast buffet at Kukui's restaurant ($25 per person), Duke's restaurant and bar is a very popular spot. Nice burgers downstairs, good fish and salad bar upstairs (entree's between $20-30).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai crazy
Woodland Hills, Ca
Apr 27, 2013

First trip to Kauai.

Enjoyed this hotel very much. Loved the size of the pool and how it never seemed crowded. 5 hot tubes are a plus! Clean hotel with great amenities such as the work out room. Special bonus was the koi fish, swans, birds and 3 cats that call this relaxing place home. Very peaceful. The only thing that was sometimes frustrating was the small size of the parking spaces. However, I am looking to forward to my next trip and want to stay at this same Kauai Marriott Resort again. Really loved this place and its location on the Island. Dukes is yummy and within walking distance. :) Do not hesitate,.. book your trip and stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula pie at Dukes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
In Love For the First Time
Torrance, California
Apr 24, 2013

Amazing tropical paradise

Let me start this review by saying this place is amazing! Beautiful, great location, pretty much everything you want or need within 1/4 mile of your room. With the exception of one person, the staff was amazing and over-the-top helpful. And everyone else's friendly and helpful attitude more than made up for him. If I had any complaints, I would simply say that although the food inside the resort was amazing, the prices are a bit inflated (as I pretty much expected). However, there are several cheaper restaurant options within a 5 minute walk of the resort, and they were all great as well. The resort fitness facility was really nice, and a welcome amenity, considering how much it rained while we were there. The on-site Enterprise rental car office was convenient, and the representative was friendly and informative. Was also impressed with the many interactions we had with various members of the concierge staff. They made great recommendations for activities and dining, and were super helpful every time! While you're here, you should definitely check out the Jurassic Landing helicopter tour. Best way to see the whole island, and one of the best tourist experiences we've had anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High Expectation Traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2013

Wonderful Time

We enjoyed the warmth and personal touches at this hotel. We will stay here again and will recommend it to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search