$272 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
236 reviews
Tropical Resort Fun

Good location (although there are probably quieter beaches - this one is close to the airport, so... See full review

  • Satura
  • Dec 1, 2014
Thank You Hurricane Iselle and Julio...

Greatest experience ever. We arrived in between both hurricanes and the weather was never a factor.... See full review

  • JayRB
  • Nov 30, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjtoy1989
Business
washington
Sep 2, 2014

Great resort, but nothing is free!

The hotel was very beautiful! Nice room, nice pool, nice beach. We enjoyed or stay overall. But there were a few hidden fees and nothing is free! There is a 30 dollar fee per day for the wifi and 2 free mai tais, and a couple other goofy little perks that were not with it. There is no free breakfast at all. They have a little place you can get a over priced breakfast. The pool and beach are own to the public and locals so it gets a little crouded on Holidays and weekends, and if you are in the back tower good luck finding parking cuz the public can park there too. I had to choose to park by the curb or park in additional parking that was 3 or 4 hundred yards from the back tower, so I chose the curb and they threatened to tow my rental. So I had to park to move it to the boonies. So those were some low points of the resort, but like I said the resort was beautiful and room was decent minus the lack of microwave. Dukes barefoot bar was really good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Magnetism
Business
Maui
Aug 22, 2014

Marriott was magnificent!

We have now enjoyed both the Kauai Marriott in Lihue and the Coconut Beach Marriott in Kapaa. Both are wonderful! Our visiting family truly enjoyed the Kauai Marriott saying it was the best hotel they have ever stayed in! Quite a compliment. Location, convenience, amenities, dining, recreation and upscale design, comfort and amenities....this hotel offers it all. We recommend it highly and will return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Refreshed Honeymooner
Business
Illinois
Aug 19, 2014

Refreshed honeymooner

Great location, everything was perfect. Plenty of restaurant choices on resort. Free shuttle from/to airport. Did not get much for the $30 daily resort fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buy the souvenir refillable mug if you are going to be there awhile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paradise Explorer family
Business
New York
Aug 7, 2014

Wonderful family getaway

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel! The pool is very big and my daughter loved the water slide! Also, the jacuzzi was awesome after our long plane ride. Beach is nice for boogie boarding, paddle boarding and has volleyball courts. Fun activities including hula lessons and making beautiful flower leis. The staff is very accommodating and the service was great! Also, great location so you can explore the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great breakfast spot you can walk to from the hotel is Bamboo. Great S'mores French toast and pancakes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ocean Traveler
Business
Denver
Aug 7, 2014

Great Beach for Kids

Great beach for small children. Surf is gentle and fun. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Rooms are spacious and well kept. Location is convenient to the airport. Golf course is a little expensive, but worth the money-great staff there also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure and eat at the Beach House. Make reservation days ahead of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoderX
Business
California
Aug 6, 2014

Vacations

This was our first visit to Hawaii, the hotel was great, the pool was impressive, they have stores (gifts and art) all around a pond with fishes, its also right next to a few restaurants and the beach; the kids had a blast and a perfect tan. The only problem we had is that they 'upgraded' us to a room with a king bed and a pull out bed, but the king bed had a big hump on the middle, making us sleep on the edges of the bed... I would also have liked to have at least a microwave. The recommendation below goes with a warning about the beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Right next to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lehuakat
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 27, 2014

Unexpected spot in paradise

This is my second visit. The kukui bird and koi were peaceful and fun. The pools are beautiful. Great access to good restaurants and the beach bay is a plus. It's surprising this place is in Lihue! I wish I had more access to coffe bar and bar. The hours were not ideal. I did not like the pool card either. Room was clean and nice. My view was terrible but you get what you pay for. Overall, very happy with this place and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M. K.
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 23, 2014

Great honeymoon stay

Nice hotel in close proximity to major airport. Lovely pool area and beach access. Rooms were clean and comfy. Several dining choices. Both in room and restaurant dining recommended. Food was great! Check in/front desk staff always friendly and helpful, as were valet staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Puka Dog was great! Worth driving to!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 Tired Hikers
Business
New Paltz, New York
Jul 22, 2014

Great Stay!

We stayed here before & after hiking the kalalau trail. The hotel was great & the staff was very friendly. Beautiful beach & great pool. We enjoyed the easy access to restaurants & shops- within walking distance. We also felt it was a good central location and a short drive to additional beaches. Food/drinks were pricey a bit pricey at the hotel & paying the $30/day resort fee was a little annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N. L.
Business
Livonia, MI
Jul 20, 2014

Fantastic family resort

The 4 foot deep pool was gigantic with multiple hot tubs. The poolside Kakapaki grill had delicious food and excellent Mai Tais and Piña Coladas. Kulkui's has a fantastic breakfast buffet. The kingsize bed and the rollaway bed that we requested were very comfortable. We had an ocean view room that overlooked the pool, ocean and mountains. Great experience and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top