$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
325 reviews
Fantastic Gataway

The best vacation I have had in few years. Little bit pricy but it's worth it. See full review

  • Master chief 123
  • Feb 22, 2014
Fantastic place to stay

The hotel is in a fantastic location. Very easy drive to the airport, beautiful beach, awesome pool... See full review

  • Orping
  • Nov 7, 2013
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.9648 -159.354
Area served
Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport
Area description
Located beachfront on historic Kalapaki Beach along Kaua'is eastern shore, just minutes from Lihue airport and a wide variety of island activities and attractions.

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haigagan
Monterey CA
Nov 16, 2010

Nice getaway

nice resort. has a excellent beach. Staff was very nice too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
yuma az
Nov 15, 2010

fun but a hassle

POur hotel room was ok. We had to fight for a king size bed. The very first question from the hotel clerk was if we wanted to pay 50.00 per night extra for a room. With a view. After flying 8 hours. I was cranky. NEXT thing he said was no king Size bed for us. That is when I told him we need to see the manager. HE. LEFT and was gone at least 10 minutes with our [...] reservation which said King. Bed and two double beds. We ended up with a king bed next to the elevator. At. Least we had a balcony and past the roof you could. See the beach. The room smelled like mildew. We bought lysol and sprayed daily. The pool is wonderful.restaurants very expensive. Parking far away and 14.00 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at the beach hut just past the resort.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
yuma az
Nov 15, 2010

fun but a hassle

POur hotel room was ok. We had to fight for a king size bed. The very first question from the hotel clerk was if we wanted to pay 50.00 per night extra for a room. With a view. After flying 8 hours. I was cranky. NEXT thing he said was no king Size bed for us. That is when I told him we need to see the manager. HE. LEFT and was gone at least 10 minutes with our [...] reservation which said King. Bed and two double beds. We ended up with a king bed next to the elevator. At. Least we had a balcony and past the roof you could. See the beach. The room smelled like mildew. We bought lysol and sprayed daily. The pool is wonderful.restaurants very expensive. Parking far away and 14.00 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at the beach hut just past the resort.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
tacoma,wa
Nov 3, 2010

Best stay and trip ever.

We came in not knowing what to expect,and after arriving we were amazed at the beauty and cleanliness of the Marriott. From service to set up of this hotel,it was perfect. We hung out at the pool most of out stay,as well as walking on the beach and eating at the Amazing restaurants that are located within the hotel as well as the ones that surround it. Something that the hotel should look into unless we missed it would be cheaper places to eat breakfast. The hut restaurant just outside the Marriott hotel is way cheaper and tastes amazing. We aye at one restaurant just outside the pool area and spent combined with 10% tip $45 on breakfast which included two coffees(which were the best i have ever tasted) and small amount of waffles and a meat scramble. Other than that this hotel experience we will never forget and we will always stay there when we go back to vista Kauai. Thank you for the Amazing stay and opportunity at the Kauai Marriott resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book attractions with the same place there are usually discounts when doing more than one thing.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
tacoma,wa
Nov 3, 2010

Best stay and trip ever.

We came in not knowing what to expect,and after arriving we were amazed at the beauty and cleanliness of the Marriott. From service to set up of this hotel,it was perfect. We hung out at the pool most of out stay,as well as walking on the beach and eating at the Amazing restaurants that are located within the hotel as well as the ones that surround it. Something that the hotel should look into unless we missed it would be cheaper places to eat breakfast. The hut restaurant just outside the Marriott hotel is way cheaper and tastes amazing. We aye at one restaurant just outside the pool area and spent combined with 10% tip $45 on breakfast which included two coffees(which were the best i have ever tasted) and small amount of waffles and a meat scramble. Other than that this hotel experience we will never forget and we will always stay there when we go back to vista Kauai. Thank you for the Amazing stay and opportunity at the Kauai Marriott resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book attractions with the same place there are usually discounts when doing more than one thing.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leigh/Gramma to Sophia
Anaheim, CA
Oct 27, 2010

family friendly/great service

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel so much we almost decided to forgo any excursions and just stay at the Marriott. It had everything we needed to enjoy our time away from home. The pool was great especially the kiddie pool for my 17mo old grandbaby. She loved the water. You do however, need to rent a car to travel about. But, if you need to go back to the airport for any reason, the Marriott shuttle will take you there or pick you up as many times as it takes. the rental cars are located at the airport so you can get one easily if you don't need it for the first few days. Great place to stay. My first experience with Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leigh/Gramma to Sophia
Anaheim, CA
Oct 27, 2010

family friendly/great service

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel so much we almost decided to forgo any excursions and just stay at the Marriott. It had everything we needed to enjoy our time away from home. The pool was great especially the kiddie pool for my 17mo old grandbaby. She loved the water. You do however, need to rent a car to travel about. But, if you need to go back to the airport for any reason, the Marriott shuttle will take you there or pick you up as many times as it takes. the rental cars are located at the airport so you can get one easily if you don't need it for the first few days. Great place to stay. My first experience with Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura,CA
Oct 24, 2010

Fantastic location and top notch resort

We stayed for 6 nights at the Marriott and it turned out to be an unforgettable trip. The pool was incredible and never seemed crowded, despite the concierge telling us the resort had more guests than usual. The layout of the resort made it feeleven more spacious and secluded. The beach was also not crowded, and a great, safe place to swim. The grounds were kept up nicely and our room was modern, clean, and very tasteful. The concierge was more than helpful, always providing us with directions and even extra inflatable rafts. We had a late flight leaving so the front desk gave us key cars to the business locker rooms with showers After we checked out and even let us keep our towel card so we could still enjoy the pool. The restaurants were all fantastic, especially Duke's. Would most definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the hula pie at Duke's!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura,CA
Oct 24, 2010

Fantastic location and top notch resort

We stayed for 6 nights at the Marriott and it turned out to be an unforgettable trip. The pool was incredible and never seemed crowded, despite the concierge telling us the resort had more guests than usual. The layout of the resort made it feeleven more spacious and secluded. The beach was also not crowded, and a great, safe place to swim. The grounds were kept up nicely and our room was modern, clean, and very tasteful. The concierge was more than helpful, always providing us with directions and even extra inflatable rafts. We had a late flight leaving so the front desk gave us key cars to the business locker rooms with showers After we checked out and even let us keep our towel card so we could still enjoy the pool. The restaurants were all fantastic, especially Duke's. Would most definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the hula pie at Duke's!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jard
san mateo, ca
Oct 19, 2010

Great pool and comfortable rooms

Great location on the east shore. about 5min from the airport and very centralized. We drove to the north shore, kayaked on the east shore. visited the canyon and good restaurants on the south shore and took a boat tour on the east side. It was an easy drive anywhere you wanted to go. The hotel has a very nice pool. 5 hot tubs, large flower shaped pool. wonderful views. Very nicely kept. it's a step below the Grand hyatt's pool, but still excellent. Friendly and helpful staff booked our boat and kayaking reservations. Everything was expected. We could have stayed much longer. The room was clean and comfortable. had a view of the parking lot, but still pretty nice with the trees in the background.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top