$280 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 18, 2015 Check-out: Feb 21, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
240 reviews
Love at first sight

Everything was perfect, loved the view, the breakfast in bed, the huge bathroom. Employees were... See full review

  • Mar2357
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great resort at perfect location

We stayed 5 nights here. The resort is located at the perfect place: 1) close from the airport 2)... See full review

  • Tae Joon S.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kauai bound
Business
Charlestown, IN
Apr 2, 2012

Disappointed

We were very disappointed with the resort. While we were there after days of rain, the pool was not swimmable. It was understanding that the beach at the resort was dirty and very uninviting due to the rains, but we did expect to be able to swim in the pool. It was closed the 1st day and the 2nd day the sign was down, however the water was brown. I asked several other couples at the airport where they stayed and if the pool was dirty and none of them had the experience we did. I would never recommend a time share purchase nor would we stay at the resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kipu Ranch - the ATV ride was awesome. Very informative and gorgeous scenery - the guides were wonderful.....well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lihue get away
Business
Columbia MO
Mar 23, 2012

Living Aloha

This resort is beautiful! Lovely pool area, that includes a childrens pool. Beach is just steps away! In keeping with Marriott's standards, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was cheerful and accommodating. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Marriott offers an insulated cup for $34.95 that allows you unlimited refills of coffee, tea, or soda. This can pay for itself quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jewels Nooge
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Paid for an Ocean View and didn't get one

We booked this trip and paid over $1,000 dollars extra to have a view of the ocean. Our room had a view of the kids pool and the hotel would not do anything about it. Do not pay the extra for an ocean view at this place. We ended up switching hotels after one night to the Grand Hyattt. That hotel gave us an ocean view and was a 100 times nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klev
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Great location

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better. Right by a huge pool and right on the beach. The food was average and the staff, in general, was not very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dua orang tuah
Business
Novato CA
Mar 7, 2012

winter getaway

Resort is beginning to show its age. Service and comfort compatible with a solid 4 star. Very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's well recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChanSas
Business
Chandler, AZ, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Awesome Family Resort

Really nice resort...Located in lush tree background...Really loved all the amenities...I could not get internet in my room despite spending 2 hrs on the phone with the hotel/tech support....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Need to drive long ways to see the either side of the Kauai island...located very close to the lihue international airport...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swim
Business
San Mateo, CA, USAb
Mar 6, 2012

We will go back again!

We really enjoyed our staying. The pool is super for serious swimmer. The meals just suit us. We tried one meal out of the hotel, and decided to stay in the hotel. It was a record for us.(6 dinners and breakfasts, 4 lunches). Internet is not up to date, cable connection was cumbersome. No WiFi in the room. They are up date the system, We did not check out, before we made the reservation. If we did, we might have booked else where. However, we like the hotel very much, even the internet was not up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5co5
Business
Colorado
Mar 4, 2012

Solid central location

Nice place, centrally located for activities north and south, which is big on Kauai. Proximity to airport not an issue. "Ocean view" not necessary given property is in a deep bay, so you aren't really looking out on open ocean anyhow. Staff wonderful until we were leaving, then less than professional. If you have an evening flight out, they allow you to pay $75 to keep your room until 6pm instead of the morning. We did this, and confirmed twice via phone that we could stay in our room. When we got back from activities around the island at 2pm, our room keys didn't work. After waiting in line at the front desk for 30 min, the lady there implied it was my fault for not confirming via their message system, which we tried twice and got no answer (which is why we called front desk to confirm). It was like they didn't have to try any longer since we were leaving. Odd. Otherwise wonderful experience though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NJSurfrider
Business
Northern, NJ
Feb 28, 2012

Luxury in a beautiful location

Excellent, clean, quiet, and comfortable room. Great pool and excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's is a Hawaiian instution with fine food @ the end of the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirsten32
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 12, 2012

Impressive Hotel

This is a truly great, central place to stay on Kauai. On arrival, I was impressed with both the grandeur of the resort, and with the room itself. The view of Kalapaki Bay flanked on either side by cliffs, was the most picturesque view of a beach we saw during our visit. I would absolutely stay here again. There are just a couple of eating places nearby (outside the offerings of the resort), but would like to see more in the area. Good or bad, there's not that much in the area besides the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top