$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Kauai Inn

2 stars
2430 Hulemalu Rd., 2430 Hulemalu Rd., Lihue, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
29 reviews
visit my son in Lihue

For me this was a perfect size resort. It was very clean,beds comfortable,location close to... See full review

  • Kathleen Moms
  • Sep 29, 2014
A quiet hotel that feels like a family

Exactly what I was hoping for. Now I know where to stay on Kauai. It is not on the beach (I didn't... See full review

  • BuckyDuster
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Kauai Inn was the first on Kauai and retains it is sleepy old Hawaiian charm with all your comfortable amenities. In the 60s John Wayne Lee Marvin and the cast of Donovans Reef relaxed around the pool sharing adventures with other guests. Tucked away on three tropical acres where the Nawiliwili Bay meets the Huleia River this 48 unit plantation style Inn is near charter fishing kayaking golf swimming surfing shopping restaurants Lihue Airport and the famous Kalapaki Beach. Treat yourself to a custom soaking tub suite or any of our lovely guest rooms with Hawaiiana decor. All rooms have a small refrigerator microwave 27 inch TV AC ceiling fans free internet free local calls hair dryer iron and ironing board. The Kauai Inn has a small pool covered BBQ ramada guest laundry horseshoe pits and soccer area. We are proud to be recognized as a green property. The Kauai Inn is family owned and operated with over 100 years of experience in the hospitality business. Our family looks forward to having you as our guest and ensures a special Hawaiian experience on Kauai. And remember the Kauai Inn has over 100 years of Aloha. Upon receiving your reservation confirmation PLEASE contact the Kauai Inn with your time of arrival at info at kauaiinn.com or 8082459000.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Kauai Inn Rooms

One King Bed
Description not provided
Deluxe King
Description not provided
King Soaking Tub
Description not provided
Standard King
Description not provided
Queen Lanai
Description not provided
Two Double Beds
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathleen Moms
Business
N.Ridgeville,Ohio
Sep 29, 2014

visit my son in Lihue

For me this was a perfect size resort. It was very clean,beds comfortable,location close to Harbor,stores ,restaurants.Beautiful well kept grounds and I was by myself, I felt safe.Pool area was not your high end resort but extremely nice and relaxing. All staff I met were pleasant and always helpful. I definitly stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All water sports ,diving ,fishing, excursions were 2 miles along w/shops and restaurants ,beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BuckyDuster
Business
Baltimore Maryland
Sep 28, 2014

A quiet hotel that feels like a family

Exactly what I was hoping for. Now I know where to stay on Kauai. It is not on the beach (I didn't want to be on the beach) but it is convenient to anything you want to do. The staff is awesome. Great service and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Dani's or the Kalapaki Beah hut If you go out to Kapaa, eat at the Ono Family Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazystonebone
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jun 23, 2014

Positive Vibes

We arrived late but the staff waited up for us! We had a lot of fun in the pool and with having an A/C in our room we were very comfortable. My wife and I would recommend this to out friends and we will be staying there next time we visit Kauai. Great rates as well. Location is not ideal but close enough to drive to shops/beaches within two - three miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bamboo Bar- Grill and Sushi Had the best experience here and the sushi was amazing. Worth every dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EFRCD
Business
Anchorage
May 18, 2014

Homespun

Better then it looked at first glance. Comfortable, clean, quiet, nice use of space for size room, and hardwood floors! Will probably go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Central spot for travel. Short distance to good dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicko80
Business
Honolulu
Feb 18, 2014

Good spot

Good for weekend getaway; near food and airport cant beat that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duke's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanyanalani
Business
Hawaii
Feb 16, 2014

Overnight Stay

Good hotel for the money. Stayed only one night for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bosie
Business
Honolulu
Jan 26, 2014

A few problems

Bad: No restaurant was very inconvenient. Had to request repair of door lock, lamp and telephone. Staff response was poor. Good: Clean comfortable room, very rural. Complimentary parking, coffee and ice. Quiet, attractive facilities with pool. A good value in quiet Kauai. Overall, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda7
Business
Washington state
Jan 25, 2014

Great refuge

Hotel was clean, off the beaten path and quiet, and juice, coffee, fruit in morning made this hotel a great value. When calling to change rooms, the owners were friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the hotel with its two queen beds and bathroom with a tub/shower and small refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin Nana
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Great location and views

Great staff and quiet location in a residential area with views of the nearby mountain range made this hotel a good choice for budget travelers. Its location in the middle of the only road around the island made it easy to tour without excessive driving and the hotel is located so that you can access the two by-pass roads that keep you out of downtown Lihue and traffic. Good free breakfast and perpetual hot coffee, tea, hot chocolate, iced coffee & tea, lemonade and water. Microwave and small refrigerator were good to have. I would suggest more hooks and towel bars and hangers. Our favorite activities there were the Jack Harter doorless helicopter ride and the ATV tour of the nearby Kipu Kai ranch featured in The Descendants, and the several Botanical Gardens at the opposite ends of the island. Don't miss the Friday nite Art Walk in Hanapepe with art, food and music. Lots of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anderada
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 17, 2013

Hotel Review

Chris at the front desk was very helpful and all the ladies who worked there were equally as friendly. Small but so close to the Harbor in Lihue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Portofino in the Harbor by the Marriot 3 min drive and the best food in the world along with an unbelievable view. Try it at Moonrise. It's on the east side of the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top