$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Kauai Inn

2 stars
2430 Hulemalu Rd., Lihue, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
36 reviews
Great location and views

Great staff and quiet location in a residential area with views of the nearby mountain range made... See full review

  • Travelin Nana
  • Feb 11, 2013
Positive Vibes

We arrived late but the staff waited up for us! We had a lot of fun in the pool and with having an... See full review

  • crazystonebone
  • Jun 23, 2014
Lihue inn offers history, modest pricing and a hint of plantation charm
Kauai Inn was the first hotel on Kauai and retains plantation charm and simplicity. Family owned and run, it ably captures the laid-back spirit that for many vacationers makes Kauai a favorite among the Hawaiian Islands. Rooms are comfortable and pleasant. Kauai Inn is easy on the budget but not without conveniences. There is a fine pool area, views of Nawiliwili Harbor and it is close to golf and an array of sport and tour options, including Kalapaki Beach.
Highlights
  • Laid-back charm
  • Budget-friendly
  • Proximity to surfing and other water sports
  • Less than four miles from the airport
Location
Lihue, on the eastern shore, has more to recommend it than the fact that it is home to the main airport on Kauai. Kalapaki Beach is a sweet curve of sand offering relatively protected waters and a slew of water sports, from surfing and windsurfing to boogie boarding. Catamaran and kayak tours are available nearby, and Niumalu Beach Park, a short way along the Lihue shoreline, is the ideal launch spot for a paddle up lovely Huleia River.
Rooms
The simple, pleasant rooms at Kauai Inn include a small refrigerator and microwave for guest convenience, air conditioning and ceiling fans, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. There are also conveniences such as a hair dryer and iron (if you must). If you want a patio, request a room on the ground floor.
Features
No pretentions here. Kauai Inn, set on 3 acres, is quintessential lad-back Kauai in an amazingly convenient location. Inn guests have extra time to sit back and enjoy Hawaii on the first and last day of vacation given that Kauai Inn is less than four miles from the airport. In addition to the pool, there is a pavilion at the back of the inn with views of the mountains that lends itself to peaceful reflection or communal socializing. Kauai Inn also has barbecue grills for guest use.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation available
Attractions
  • Blue Hawaiian Helicopters (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Kalapaki Beach (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (8.5 mi/ 13.7 km)
  • Napali Coast State Park (39.8 mi/64.1 km)

Kauai Inn Rooms

One King Bed
Description not provided
Deluxe King
Description not provided
King Soaking Tub
Description not provided
Standard King
Description not provided
Queen Lanai
Description not provided
Two Double Beds
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.9508 -159.3632
Area served
Lihue, Hanalei, Kapaa, Koloa, Waimea, Hanapepe, Princeville
Nearby airports
Lihue, (LIH), 0.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mootz
west covina ca
Sep 24, 2012

Surprise around the corner

We are elderly, able to do stairs. Enjoyed the staff, always making sure all is right. Fresh fruit, breads and juice in the morning. Good view of the water from our window. Nice pool, well cared for. Never noisy, nor did you have to walk MILES to get to around the facility. Good place to go any way to view all of the beauty that Kauai offers. Close to good places to eat too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazystonebone
Seattle, Washington
Jun 23, 2014

Positive Vibes

We arrived late but the staff waited up for us! We had a lot of fun in the pool and with having an A/C in our room we were very comfortable. My wife and I would recommend this to out friends and we will be staying there next time we visit Kauai. Great rates as well. Location is not ideal but close enough to drive to shops/beaches within two - three miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bamboo Bar- Grill and Sushi Had the best experience here and the sushi was amazing. Worth every dollar.

Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Great-Granny
Saint George, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Nice

The Kauai Inn is very conveniently located near water, shopping and just a few miles from the airport. The beds were clean and comfortable. We were surprised, though, that the rooms were not made up every day. The continental breakfast was very good and included prepared bowls of melons and pineapple as well as breads, muffins, juice and hot beverages. The pool is disappointing as it is only three feet deep which makes it ideal for children but not for adults. We had to close the windows at night and turn on the A/C to drown out the sounds of the free-roaming roosters crowing at 4:00 am! We weren't told that there were beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and grass mats available to use at the beach (a card placed in each room with this information would be helpful to a first-time guest.) All-in-all, we loved the setting and went home happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaRiveraine
Cold Spring, NY
Jan 23, 2010

Friendly welcome

We were arriving late into Lihue airport, Kauai, and wanted an overnight stop nearby before driving up to our condo location. They greeted us warmly, fixed us up with ice and soft drinks despite the late hour, and served a decent continental breakfast with really good coffee in the morning. Beware of the little biting "mosquitoes" around at all hours indoors and out - probably due to their lush garden setting (which is lovely).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda7
Washington state
Jan 25, 2014

Great refuge

Hotel was clean, off the beaten path and quiet, and juice, coffee, fruit in morning made this hotel a great value. When calling to change rooms, the owners were friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the hotel with its two queen beds and bathroom with a tub/shower and small refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pullman, WA
Apr 5, 2011

Great hotel for the situation

The hotel was a little hard to find, but once we were there we were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. They allowed us to check in early so we could get our 13 month old down for his nap and had a crib for him (we weren't traveling with one). The rooms were simple but clean. There is a pool and also the rooms (main floor) have a porch leading out to a grassy area. The staff puts out a decent continental breakfast for the guests starting at 8:00am. We had been staying on another part of the island and stayed at this hotel for the night before we flew out - I would highly recommend this hotel for similar trips. The property is close to some restaurants, beach, and the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanyanalani
Business
Hawaii
Feb 16, 2014

Overnight Stay

Good hotel for the money. Stayed only one night for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kauaigirl
Kauai
Dec 29, 2010

Cute hideaway with majestic mountains!

We only stayed one night as my husband and I are locals but wanted a special night out for our anniversary. My husband ended up spending the whole day at the hospital with his nephew and then we went to dinner so we didn't get to spend a lot of time at the Inn, but our night and morning before check-out was peaceful. We enjoyed the scenery and the fresh fruit on the free breakfast and I had a wonderful soak in the soaking tub of the large bathroom in our king bed room. From the large picture window in the room, we could even see a patch of the harbor waters down by the Kaiola Canoe Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive the island ask locals along the way for must-see/must-eat places near wherever you find yourselves :)

Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Great-Granny
Saint George, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Nice

The Kauai Inn is very conveniently located near water, shopping and just a few miles from the airport. The beds were clean and comfortable. We were surprised, though, that the rooms were not made up every day. The continental breakfast was very good and included prepared bowls of melons and pineapple as well as breads, muffins, juice and hot beverages. The pool is disappointing as it is only three feet deep which makes it ideal for children but not for adults. We had to close the windows at night and turn on the A/C to drown out the sounds of the free-roaming roosters crowing at 4:00 am! We weren't told that there were beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and grass mats available to use at the beach (a card placed in each room with this information would be helpful to a first-time guest.) All-in-all, we loved the setting and went home happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anderada
Denver, Colorado
Jan 17, 2013

Hotel Review

Chris at the front desk was very helpful and all the ladies who worked there were equally as friendly. Small but so close to the Harbor in Lihue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Portofino in the Harbor by the Marriot 3 min drive and the best food in the world along with an unbelievable view. Try it at Moonrise. It's on the east side of the island

Back to menu Return to top