$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Kauai Inn

2 stars
2430 Hulemalu Rd., 2430 Hulemalu Rd., Lihue, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
29 reviews
visit my son in Lihue

For me this was a perfect size resort. It was very clean,beds comfortable,location close to... See full review

  • Kathleen Moms
  • Sep 29, 2014
A quiet hotel that feels like a family

Exactly what I was hoping for. Now I know where to stay on Kauai. It is not on the beach (I didn't... See full review

  • BuckyDuster
  • Sep 28, 2014
Lihue inn offers history, modest pricing and a hint of plantation charm
Kauai Inn was the first hotel on Kauai and retains plantation charm and simplicity. Family owned and run, it ably captures the laid-back spirit that for many vacationers makes Kauai a favorite among the Hawaiian Islands. Rooms are comfortable and pleasant. Kauai Inn is easy on the budget but not without conveniences. There is a fine pool area, views of Nawiliwili Harbor and it is close to golf and an array of sport and tour options, including Kalapaki Beach.
Highlights
  • Laid-back charm
  • Budget-friendly
  • Proximity to surfing and other water sports
  • Less than four miles from the airport
Location
Lihue, on the eastern shore, has more to recommend it than the fact that it is home to the main airport on Kauai. Kalapaki Beach is a sweet curve of sand offering relatively protected waters and a slew of water sports, from surfing and windsurfing to boogie boarding. Catamaran and kayak tours are available nearby, and Niumalu Beach Park, a short way along the Lihue shoreline, is the ideal launch spot for a paddle up lovely Huleia River.
Rooms
The simple, pleasant rooms at Kauai Inn include a small refrigerator and microwave for guest convenience, air conditioning and ceiling fans, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. There are also conveniences such as a hair dryer and iron (if you must). If you want a patio, request a room on the ground floor.
Features
No pretentions here. Kauai Inn, set on 3 acres, is quintessential lad-back Kauai in an amazingly convenient location. Inn guests have extra time to sit back and enjoy Hawaii on the first and last day of vacation given that Kauai Inn is less than four miles from the airport. In addition to the pool, there is a pavilion at the back of the inn with views of the mountains that lends itself to peaceful reflection or communal socializing. Kauai Inn also has barbecue grills for guest use.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation available
Attractions
  • Blue Hawaiian Helicopters (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Kalapaki Beach (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (8.5 mi/ 13.7 km)
  • Napali Coast State Park (39.8 mi/64.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Kauai Inn Rooms

One King Bed
Description not provided
Deluxe King
Description not provided
King Soaking Tub
Description not provided
Standard King
Description not provided
Queen Lanai
Description not provided
Two Double Beds
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 24, 2011

Enjoyed breakfast and company

Room was clean, breakfast was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Jan 4, 2011

Fantastic hotel for the price

It was a very nice place to stay, very comfortable bed! The place has charm, it is an old hotel but well kept and a very friendly and helpful staff. The price was very good indeed and I thoroughly recommend it. The location is not the best, so you definitely need a car, but you do need a car if you are on vacation in Kauai'i anyway. The breakfast is included in the price and it is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The north shore, if you are into snorkelling, go to Tunnels beach, and the Kalalau trail next to Ke'e beach (a couple of miles from Tunnels).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kauaigirl
Business
Kauai
Dec 29, 2010

Cute hideaway with majestic mountains!

We only stayed one night as my husband and I are locals but wanted a special night out for our anniversary. My husband ended up spending the whole day at the hospital with his nephew and then we went to dinner so we didn't get to spend a lot of time at the Inn, but our night and morning before check-out was peaceful. We enjoyed the scenery and the fresh fruit on the free breakfast and I had a wonderful soak in the soaking tub of the large bathroom in our king bed room. From the large picture window in the room, we could even see a patch of the harbor waters down by the Kaiola Canoe Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive the island ask locals along the way for must-see/must-eat places near wherever you find yourselves :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Great-Granny
Business
Saint George, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Nice

The Kauai Inn is very conveniently located near water, shopping and just a few miles from the airport. The beds were clean and comfortable. We were surprised, though, that the rooms were not made up every day. The continental breakfast was very good and included prepared bowls of melons and pineapple as well as breads, muffins, juice and hot beverages. The pool is disappointing as it is only three feet deep which makes it ideal for children but not for adults. We had to close the windows at night and turn on the A/C to drown out the sounds of the free-roaming roosters crowing at 4:00 am! We weren't told that there were beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and grass mats available to use at the beach (a card placed in each room with this information would be helpful to a first-time guest.) All-in-all, we loved the setting and went home happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Great price, good location

We had a great stay. The views were gorgeous. It's located very close to Kalapaki Beach. Kauai Inn is located on the East(ish) side of the island, so it was easy to travel to all sides of the island within a reasonable amount of time. They have a basic continental breakfast every morning beginning just after 8am, which includes breads and fruits. They have beach mats, beach towels and coolers available which was GREAT! Just ask at the front desk. Because of the central location, we were able to go out and about during they day and come home to rest before heading out to dinner. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kalapaki Joe's has a great happy hour from 3-6. Duke's Barefoot Bar has great food at reasonable prices too. Both are located right at Kalapaki Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ishibob
Business
las vegas nv
Jun 9, 2010

Great place for the price

close to shopping and activities. Its central to the west side and north shore..Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ken the Enchanter
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 8, 2010

Kaua'i Inn, Lihue, Kaua'i, HI

First night ever in Hawai'i, stressed from a LONNNGGG flight from Florida. But [...], the front desk clerk, cheerfully waited for us to arrive after closing time, helped us get a delivery dinner, and graciously helped us to the room. The moon was full, and the outline of the mountains magical. The night temperature perfect to leave the windows open for the cooling breeze, and the birdsong at dawn was a delight. Breakfast filled with fresh fruit and pastry. What a wonderful introduction to Hawai'i.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arizona
Mar 25, 2010

good value

very simple accommodation. Fine if you just want a place to sleep. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaRiveraine
Business
Cold Spring, NY
Jan 23, 2010

Friendly welcome

We were arriving late into Lihue airport, Kauai, and wanted an overnight stop nearby before driving up to our condo location. They greeted us warmly, fixed us up with ice and soft drinks despite the late hour, and served a decent continental breakfast with really good coffee in the morning. Beware of the little biting "mosquitoes" around at all hours indoors and out - probably due to their lush garden setting (which is lovely).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top