$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Kauai Inn

2 stars
View map of 2430 Hulemalu Rd., 2430 Hulemalu Rd., Lihue, HI 96766

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoNo
Business
Germany
Sep 7, 2011

AWESOME!!

Perfect Hotel on the most beautiful spot on earth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
May 11, 2011

A very nice hotel, great location.

Seen the sites. very relaxable trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach was just around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pullman, WA
Apr 5, 2011

Great hotel for the situation

The hotel was a little hard to find, but once we were there we were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. They allowed us to check in early so we could get our 13 month old down for his nap and had a crib for him (we weren't traveling with one). The rooms were simple but clean. There is a pool and also the rooms (main floor) have a porch leading out to a grassy area. The staff puts out a decent continental breakfast for the guests starting at 8:00am. We had been staying on another part of the island and stayed at this hotel for the night before we flew out - I would highly recommend this hotel for similar trips. The property is close to some restaurants, beach, and the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 24, 2011

Enjoyed breakfast and company

Room was clean, breakfast was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Jan 4, 2011

Fantastic hotel for the price

It was a very nice place to stay, very comfortable bed! The place has charm, it is an old hotel but well kept and a very friendly and helpful staff. The price was very good indeed and I thoroughly recommend it. The location is not the best, so you definitely need a car, but you do need a car if you are on vacation in Kauai'i anyway. The breakfast is included in the price and it is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The north shore, if you are into snorkelling, go to Tunnels beach, and the Kalalau trail next to Ke'e beach (a couple of miles from Tunnels).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kauaigirl
Business
Kauai
Dec 29, 2010

Cute hideaway with majestic mountains!

We only stayed one night as my husband and I are locals but wanted a special night out for our anniversary. My husband ended up spending the whole day at the hospital with his nephew and then we went to dinner so we didn't get to spend a lot of time at the Inn, but our night and morning before check-out was peaceful. We enjoyed the scenery and the fresh fruit on the free breakfast and I had a wonderful soak in the soaking tub of the large bathroom in our king bed room. From the large picture window in the room, we could even see a patch of the harbor waters down by the Kaiola Canoe Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive the island ask locals along the way for must-see/must-eat places near wherever you find yourselves :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kauaigirl
Business
Kauai
Dec 29, 2010

Cute hideaway with majestic mountains!

We only stayed one night as my husband and I are locals but wanted a special night out for our anniversary. My husband ended up spending the whole day at the hospital with his nephew and then we went to dinner so we didn't get to spend a lot of time at the Inn, but our night and morning before check-out was peaceful. We enjoyed the scenery and the fresh fruit on the free breakfast and I had a wonderful soak in the soaking tub of the large bathroom in our king bed room. From the large picture window in the room, we could even see a patch of the harbor waters down by the Kaiola Canoe Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive the island ask locals along the way for must-see/must-eat places near wherever you find yourselves :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Great-Granny
Business
Saint George, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Nice

The Kauai Inn is very conveniently located near water, shopping and just a few miles from the airport. The beds were clean and comfortable. We were surprised, though, that the rooms were not made up every day. The continental breakfast was very good and included prepared bowls of melons and pineapple as well as breads, muffins, juice and hot beverages. The pool is disappointing as it is only three feet deep which makes it ideal for children but not for adults. We had to close the windows at night and turn on the A/C to drown out the sounds of the free-roaming roosters crowing at 4:00 am! We weren't told that there were beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and grass mats available to use at the beach (a card placed in each room with this information would be helpful to a first-time guest.) All-in-all, we loved the setting and went home happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Great price, good location

We had a great stay. The views were gorgeous. It's located very close to Kalapaki Beach. Kauai Inn is located on the East(ish) side of the island, so it was easy to travel to all sides of the island within a reasonable amount of time. They have a basic continental breakfast every morning beginning just after 8am, which includes breads and fruits. They have beach mats, beach towels and coolers available which was GREAT! Just ask at the front desk. Because of the central location, we were able to go out and about during they day and come home to rest before heading out to dinner. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kalapaki Joe's has a great happy hour from 3-6. Duke's Barefoot Bar has great food at reasonable prices too. Both are located right at Kalapaki Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ishibob
Business
las vegas nv
Jun 9, 2010

Great place for the price

close to shopping and activities. Its central to the west side and north shore..Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top