$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Kauai Inn

2 stars
View map of 2430 Hulemalu Rd., 2430 Hulemalu Rd., Lihue, HI 96766

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sylvia the Teacher
Sonora, California
Aug 24, 2012

Beautiful Visit

The Kauai Inn is a beautiful inn with clean rooms and delightful tropical landscaping. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. They are so willing to share activities on the island and to also book any activity that you are interested in. There is a wonderful breakfast served every morning by the pool. The inn is conveniently located close to many restaurants and local activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The inn is most accommodating when it comes to booking any adventure on the island. They make the phone calls and all arrangements for you. So simple!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ishibob
Business
las vegas nv
Jun 9, 2010

Great place for the price

close to shopping and activities. Its central to the west side and north shore..Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kauaigirl
Business
Kauai
Dec 29, 2010

Cute hideaway with majestic mountains!

We only stayed one night as my husband and I are locals but wanted a special night out for our anniversary. My husband ended up spending the whole day at the hospital with his nephew and then we went to dinner so we didn't get to spend a lot of time at the Inn, but our night and morning before check-out was peaceful. We enjoyed the scenery and the fresh fruit on the free breakfast and I had a wonderful soak in the soaking tub of the large bathroom in our king bed room. From the large picture window in the room, we could even see a patch of the harbor waters down by the Kaiola Canoe Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive the island ask locals along the way for must-see/must-eat places near wherever you find yourselves :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mootz
Business
west covina ca
Sep 24, 2012

Surprise around the corner

We are elderly, able to do stairs. Enjoyed the staff, always making sure all is right. Fresh fruit, breads and juice in the morning. Good view of the water from our window. Nice pool, well cared for. Never noisy, nor did you have to walk MILES to get to around the facility. Good place to go any way to view all of the beauty that Kauai offers. Close to good places to eat too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laid back
Business
s.f. ca.
Oct 30, 2012

fantastic retired couple getaway

Wonderful. Beautiful weather, greenery all around. Just like the movies you see in paradise. The location was easy to find. Sight seeing all around the island. Shopping was very near. The only thing we missed was that the pool was only 3 feet. Our room was supplied with clean towels and sheets everyday. It was nice and quiet and laid back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cosco, Walmart and K-Mart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anderada
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 17, 2013

Hotel Review

Chris at the front desk was very helpful and all the ladies who worked there were equally as friendly. Small but so close to the Harbor in Lihue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Portofino in the Harbor by the Marriot 3 min drive and the best food in the world along with an unbelievable view. Try it at Moonrise. It's on the east side of the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaRiveraine
Business
Cold Spring, NY
Jan 23, 2010

Friendly welcome

We were arriving late into Lihue airport, Kauai, and wanted an overnight stop nearby before driving up to our condo location. They greeted us warmly, fixed us up with ice and soft drinks despite the late hour, and served a decent continental breakfast with really good coffee in the morning. Beware of the little biting "mosquitoes" around at all hours indoors and out - probably due to their lush garden setting (which is lovely).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Great-Granny
Business
Saint George, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Nice

The Kauai Inn is very conveniently located near water, shopping and just a few miles from the airport. The beds were clean and comfortable. We were surprised, though, that the rooms were not made up every day. The continental breakfast was very good and included prepared bowls of melons and pineapple as well as breads, muffins, juice and hot beverages. The pool is disappointing as it is only three feet deep which makes it ideal for children but not for adults. We had to close the windows at night and turn on the A/C to drown out the sounds of the free-roaming roosters crowing at 4:00 am! We weren't told that there were beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and grass mats available to use at the beach (a card placed in each room with this information would be helpful to a first-time guest.) All-in-all, we loved the setting and went home happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Great price, good location

We had a great stay. The views were gorgeous. It's located very close to Kalapaki Beach. Kauai Inn is located on the East(ish) side of the island, so it was easy to travel to all sides of the island within a reasonable amount of time. They have a basic continental breakfast every morning beginning just after 8am, which includes breads and fruits. They have beach mats, beach towels and coolers available which was GREAT! Just ask at the front desk. Because of the central location, we were able to go out and about during they day and come home to rest before heading out to dinner. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kalapaki Joe's has a great happy hour from 3-6. Duke's Barefoot Bar has great food at reasonable prices too. Both are located right at Kalapaki Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
May 11, 2011

A very nice hotel, great location.

Seen the sites. very relaxable trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach was just around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pullman, WA
Apr 5, 2011

Great hotel for the situation

The hotel was a little hard to find, but once we were there we were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. They allowed us to check in early so we could get our 13 month old down for his nap and had a crib for him (we weren't traveling with one). The rooms were simple but clean. There is a pool and also the rooms (main floor) have a porch leading out to a grassy area. The staff puts out a decent continental breakfast for the guests starting at 8:00am. We had been staying on another part of the island and stayed at this hotel for the night before we flew out - I would highly recommend this hotel for similar trips. The property is close to some restaurants, beach, and the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top