$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Kauai Inn

2 stars
View map of 2430 Hulemalu Rd., 2430 Hulemalu Rd., Lihue, HI 96766

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin Nana
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Great location and views

Great staff and quiet location in a residential area with views of the nearby mountain range made this hotel a good choice for budget travelers. Its location in the middle of the only road around the island made it easy to tour without excessive driving and the hotel is located so that you can access the two by-pass roads that keep you out of downtown Lihue and traffic. Good free breakfast and perpetual hot coffee, tea, hot chocolate, iced coffee & tea, lemonade and water. Microwave and small refrigerator were good to have. I would suggest more hooks and towel bars and hangers. Our favorite activities there were the Jack Harter doorless helicopter ride and the ATV tour of the nearby Kipu Kai ranch featured in The Descendants, and the several Botanical Gardens at the opposite ends of the island. Don't miss the Friday nite Art Walk in Hanapepe with art, food and music. Lots of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anderada
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 17, 2013

Hotel Review

Chris at the front desk was very helpful and all the ladies who worked there were equally as friendly. Small but so close to the Harbor in Lihue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Portofino in the Harbor by the Marriot 3 min drive and the best food in the world along with an unbelievable view. Try it at Moonrise. It's on the east side of the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charlene Beelievezxt
Business
WV
Jan 9, 2013

Felt Unsafe

The door knob lock didnt have a button, we had to put our finger inside the door mechanism to push the stem to lock it. We were asked to keep all lights off and unplug items when we left to save energy. The hotel was back behind ship yards and warehouses. Not well lit. We felt very unsafe like we needed to carry a gun or have a body guard. We spent our first day searching for another hotel but everyone was booked. This was the only place that had rooms available. I booked our rooms over 3 months in advance. The pool was dirty with leaves in it. The coffee pot was out in the lobby, not in the rooms so you had to go down stairs to get your coffee every morning. We slept with a chair in front of the door in case the door lock didnt work. We brought this to their attention but, they didnt fix it while we were there. They said well, things do tend to break, In my opinion this door lock was broken a long time ago and should have already been fixed. The pictures posted are very deceiving. Very secluded is another word for out in an area less traveled. We now know why.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ferral Pig, The prices were good and the food was excellent. Very flavorful. Customer service was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ur smiles
Business
Maui
Dec 5, 2012

Perfect for the price

Clean room, great staff, very quiet, would have loved to stay longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laid back
Business
s.f. ca.
Oct 30, 2012

fantastic retired couple getaway

Wonderful. Beautiful weather, greenery all around. Just like the movies you see in paradise. The location was easy to find. Sight seeing all around the island. Shopping was very near. The only thing we missed was that the pool was only 3 feet. Our room was supplied with clean towels and sheets everyday. It was nice and quiet and laid back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cosco, Walmart and K-Mart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mootz
Business
west covina ca
Sep 24, 2012

Surprise around the corner

We are elderly, able to do stairs. Enjoyed the staff, always making sure all is right. Fresh fruit, breads and juice in the morning. Good view of the water from our window. Nice pool, well cared for. Never noisy, nor did you have to walk MILES to get to around the facility. Good place to go any way to view all of the beauty that Kauai offers. Close to good places to eat too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sylvia the Teacher
Business
Sonora, California
Aug 24, 2012

Beautiful Visit

The Kauai Inn is a beautiful inn with clean rooms and delightful tropical landscaping. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. They are so willing to share activities on the island and to also book any activity that you are interested in. There is a wonderful breakfast served every morning by the pool. The inn is conveniently located close to many restaurants and local activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The inn is most accommodating when it comes to booking any adventure on the island. They make the phone calls and all arrangements for you. So simple!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sylvia the Teacher
Business
Sonora, California
Aug 13, 2012

Pleasant Surpise

It is always difficult to choose a hotel site unseen, but this hotel was such a pleasant surprise. The grounds were beautiful, the room was clean and tastefully decorated, there was a super complimentary breakfast by the wonderful pool, and the staff members were some of the most accommodating I have ever met. I am returning for four more days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ztakahashi
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 1, 2012

Friendly, affordable

The hotel was clean and comfortable enough, considering what we paid. The rooms are friendly. The room had cute lamps that looked like chickens in our room and some nice art, and the TV was a good size and the bed pretty comfortable. The rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, and cutting board (no knife). There's a desk, but you can't really work at it because the TV is on it, and the WiFi is available only in the lobby and is re-ally s-l-o-w, so definitely not a good hotel if you need to work on your trip. It's not near a beach -- actually, it's in an industrial area near the port -- but it's centrally located in Lihue, which is good. But, all in all, it was a good hotel for the money, even if I might be willing to pay more to stay on a beach on my next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoNo
Business
Germany
Sep 7, 2011

AWESOME!!

Perfect Hotel on the most beautiful spot on earth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top