$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Kauai Inn

2 stars
2430 Hulemalu Rd., 2430 Hulemalu Rd., Lihue, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
29 reviews
visit my son in Lihue

For me this was a perfect size resort. It was very clean,beds comfortable,location close to... See full review

  • Kathleen Moms
  • Sep 29, 2014
A quiet hotel that feels like a family

Exactly what I was hoping for. Now I know where to stay on Kauai. It is not on the beach (I didn't... See full review

  • BuckyDuster
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Kauai Inn was the first on Kauai and retains it is sleepy old Hawaiian charm with all your comfortable amenities. In the 60s John Wayne Lee Marvin and the cast of Donovans Reef relaxed around the pool sharing adventures with other guests. Tucked away on three tropical acres where the Nawiliwili Bay meets the Huleia River this 48 unit plantation style Inn is near charter fishing kayaking golf swimming surfing shopping restaurants Lihue Airport and the famous Kalapaki Beach. Treat yourself to a custom soaking tub suite or any of our lovely guest rooms with Hawaiiana decor. All rooms have a small refrigerator microwave 27 inch TV AC ceiling fans free internet free local calls hair dryer iron and ironing board. The Kauai Inn has a small pool covered BBQ ramada guest laundry horseshoe pits and soccer area. We are proud to be recognized as a green property. The Kauai Inn is family owned and operated with over 100 years of experience in the hospitality business. Our family looks forward to having you as our guest and ensures a special Hawaiian experience on Kauai. And remember the Kauai Inn has over 100 years of Aloha. Upon receiving your reservation confirmation PLEASE contact the Kauai Inn with your time of arrival at info at kauaiinn.com or 8082459000.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Kauai Inn Rooms

One King Bed
Description not provided
Deluxe King
Description not provided
King Soaking Tub
Description not provided
Standard King
Description not provided
Queen Lanai
Description not provided
Two Double Beds
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charlene Beelievezxt
Business
WV
Jan 9, 2013

Felt Unsafe

The door knob lock didnt have a button, we had to put our finger inside the door mechanism to push the stem to lock it. We were asked to keep all lights off and unplug items when we left to save energy. The hotel was back behind ship yards and warehouses. Not well lit. We felt very unsafe like we needed to carry a gun or have a body guard. We spent our first day searching for another hotel but everyone was booked. This was the only place that had rooms available. I booked our rooms over 3 months in advance. The pool was dirty with leaves in it. The coffee pot was out in the lobby, not in the rooms so you had to go down stairs to get your coffee every morning. We slept with a chair in front of the door in case the door lock didnt work. We brought this to their attention but, they didnt fix it while we were there. They said well, things do tend to break, In my opinion this door lock was broken a long time ago and should have already been fixed. The pictures posted are very deceiving. Very secluded is another word for out in an area less traveled. We now know why.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ferral Pig, The prices were good and the food was excellent. Very flavorful. Customer service was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bosie
Business
Honolulu
Jan 26, 2014

A few problems

Bad: No restaurant was very inconvenient. Had to request repair of door lock, lamp and telephone. Staff response was poor. Good: Clean comfortable room, very rural. Complimentary parking, coffee and ice. Quiet, attractive facilities with pool. A good value in quiet Kauai. Overall, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicko80
Business
Honolulu
Feb 18, 2014

Good spot

Good for weekend getaway; near food and airport cant beat that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duke's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arizona
Mar 25, 2010

good value

very simple accommodation. Fine if you just want a place to sleep. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ztakahashi
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 1, 2012

Friendly, affordable

The hotel was clean and comfortable enough, considering what we paid. The rooms are friendly. The room had cute lamps that looked like chickens in our room and some nice art, and the TV was a good size and the bed pretty comfortable. The rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, and cutting board (no knife). There's a desk, but you can't really work at it because the TV is on it, and the WiFi is available only in the lobby and is re-ally s-l-o-w, so definitely not a good hotel if you need to work on your trip. It's not near a beach -- actually, it's in an industrial area near the port -- but it's centrally located in Lihue, which is good. But, all in all, it was a good hotel for the money, even if I might be willing to pay more to stay on a beach on my next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ur smiles
Business
Maui
Dec 5, 2012

Perfect for the price

Clean room, great staff, very quiet, would have loved to stay longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 24, 2011

Enjoyed breakfast and company

Room was clean, breakfast was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EFRCD
Business
Anchorage
May 18, 2014

Homespun

Better then it looked at first glance. Comfortable, clean, quiet, nice use of space for size room, and hardwood floors! Will probably go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Central spot for travel. Short distance to good dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ishibob
Business
las vegas nv
Jun 9, 2010

Great place for the price

close to shopping and activities. Its central to the west side and north shore..Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauai Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kauaigirl
Business
Kauai
Dec 29, 2010

Cute hideaway with majestic mountains!

We only stayed one night as my husband and I are locals but wanted a special night out for our anniversary. My husband ended up spending the whole day at the hospital with his nephew and then we went to dinner so we didn't get to spend a lot of time at the Inn, but our night and morning before check-out was peaceful. We enjoyed the scenery and the fresh fruit on the free breakfast and I had a wonderful soak in the soaking tub of the large bathroom in our king bed room. From the large picture window in the room, we could even see a patch of the harbor waters down by the Kaiola Canoe Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive the island ask locals along the way for must-see/must-eat places near wherever you find yourselves :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top