$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Kauai Beach Resort

4 stars
4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
407 reviews
Awesome hotel!

For the price I paid, I was not expecting the type of hotel we received. On Oahu, where we live,... See full review

  • Maheamarleen
  • Jul 20, 2014
Kauai ...our last night

Spent our last night here...excellent service. We checked in early..Rom was cool and ready. Enjoyed... See full review

  • Family from Cali
  • Jun 22, 2014
Plantation-style goes upscale on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast
Set on 25 acres along a three-mile beach -- Kauai's longest -- this resort evokes the graciousness of the plantation era but with a host of contemporary amenities. The beach, which is perfect for sauntering or sunning, is not for swimming. No problem. Kauai Beach Resort has four pools, a beachfront sand-bottomed pool and a fantasy pool with a 75-foot lava-tube water slide among them. Two restaurants, a lounge, a fitness center and a spa round out the facilities. And when guests want to explore further afield, Kauai's east coast is an ideal spot from which to do it.
Highlights
  • Fantasy pool with 75-foot lava-tube water slide
  • Series of concerts and programs promoting Hawaiian arts and artists
  • Hawaiian Rainforest Spa
  • Complimentary bocce
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Location
Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast is rife with sacred sites and groves of slender coconut palms, with its character shaped in part by long, curving Wailua River, the only navigable river in all of Hawaii. A stay here should include visits to a trio of sites, Fern Grotto, Secret Falls, and 80-foot Wailua Falls, made famous in the opening scene of TV classic "Fantasy Island."
Rooms
Accents such as louvered doors and wood floors recall plantation style, but the old plantation homes didn't have what these rooms at Kauai Beach Resort have: travertine marble in the bathrooms and iPod docks in the living rooms.
Features

There's a distinctly Hawaiian feel to Kauai Beach Resort with its island architecture, but also a culture of sharing and promoting authentic Hawaiiana that sets it apart. The resort hosts events all year, including local musicians who share their art and stories, benefit concerts supporting the perpetuation of Hawaiian language and music, and a festival featuring the state's top slack-key artists. Check the annual calendar and plan your trip accordingly.

 

Although the beach out front isn't safe for swimming, Lydgate Beach Park, a couple of miles away, offers excellent swimming and snorkeling.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Wailua Golf Course (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
Business
  • Four rooms, 13,000-plus square feet of flexible indoor space
  • Find 15,000 square feet of event-ready courtyards, lawns and poolside venues
  • A small business center
  • High-speed Internet (fee applies)

Kauai Beach Resort Rooms

Lagoon View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)
Pool View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320sq ft)
Ocean View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)
Mountain Garden View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.01 -159.3378
Area served
Lihue and Kapaa Island of Kauai Hawaii
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue International Airport
Area description
The Aqua Kauai Beach Resort is located on the eastern side of the island of Kauai on 25 lushly landscaped oceanfront acres adjacent to Kuhio Highway 56, five minutes north of the Lihue airport and 10 minutes north of the town of Lihue. The Kauai Beach Resort is located on the eastern side of the island of Kauai on 25 lushly landscaped oceanfront acres adjacent to Kuhio Highway 56, five minutes north of the Lihue airport and 10 minutes north of the town of Lihue.

Dining

Naupaka Terrace Restaurant
Open daily from 6:00am to 11:00am Greet the morning with "grab and go" options! Healthy breakfast items include assorted yogurts, fruit & yogurt parfaits, a delicious assortment of Muffins and Bagels, Breakfast Burrito, and other specialty items! Savor a steaming hot cup of Hawaiian Coffee, Latte, Espresso and more! Open for breakfast daily from 6:30 am to 10:30 am. Start your day your way! Enjoy an all-you-can-eat hearty buffet or an la carte menu of breakfast favorites, house specialties, omelets, and more! Open for dinner nightly from 6:00pm to 9:00pm. Our menu features culinary creations from the land and sea that include steak and seafood entres, island-inspired cuisine, and our bountiful garden salad bar featuring a "soup and salad du jour"! On Saturday nightswe've got a fabulous Seafood Buffet!
Shutters Lounge
Open Sun - Thur 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm Fri & Sat 5:00 pm to midnight. Happy Hour daily from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm. Specialty drinks, draft beers, wines, and a light dinner menu featuring a variety of salads, pizza, burgers, and tasty appetizers! 4 flat screen TVs and live island music every evening! Nightly entertainment 7:00 - 10:00 pm.
Driftwood Bar & Grille
Lunch served daily 11:30am to 6:00pm. Happy Hour daily - 3 pm to 5 pm. Join us poolside for light fare, tropical drinks, and happy hour specials! Catch sports events on flat screen TVs and live music every Saturday during happy hour.
Room Service
Available daily 6:30 am to 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (407)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Beach Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 10, 2010

Bad experience

We stayed at this run down place for 2 nights. Although very close to airport beach was not the greatest. Our room was ocean front but poor view. Rooms had old stale smell with kind of old furniture carpets were dirty. I would say that everything in the holtel needed upgrade. It looked to me hotel which have been nice in 1970 and hasn't changed since. I must say not a four star anyway and may be a 2 star motel types with little more ammenities. Resturant awefully overpriced for quality of food. There are better resturants around. We stay in different resorts by far the worst experience among hiltons. Needs upgrade definetly would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 25, 2010

Kauai Beach Resort - Think Twice

From the website details, we thought we were in for a nice stay. However, this "resort" does not provide the accomodations or level of service described. In comparison to other resort hotels such as Marriott and Hilton family; this hotel surely lacked in its comparison on the most basic levels. The staff were less than thrilled to help us with most simple requests, I felt I was disturbing them on most instances. The pool service is non-existent and when you do order at the pool bar; the prices are beyond reasonable and service equal to that of a fast food stand. The parking that you are required to pay for forces you to compete for space with persons attending their nightly shows. At times you are forced to park very far away from the hotel as all the space is taken until very late at night when they leave. There is ample valet parking, but if you park there due to overflow; you are charged the higher rate. The noise is very high in the rooms as it carries in from the halls and other rooms due to old, shared ventilation. Peace and quiet is not an option. Our room was upgraded to to reservation issues, but in our opinion it was a downgrade. We had pool access with persons walking through our patio constantly and then music and noise from the pool was ongoing. The noise and chaos from unattended chidren is high as many parents simply left their kids for the resort to babysit (there is no kid camp at this resort). The resort was slow to respond to issues if even at all. We ended up having to negotiate with a group of 7-10 year olds for space in the hot tub. There are separate pool areas, but not enforcement of any rules. There was some enforcement on site two nights as we had the pleasure of meeting Kauai's finest in blue a few nights as rooms around us needed their on site presence. We did not appreciate not being able to get to our room one night as the room next to us had two police and several large male hotel staff blocking our door and the hall access. Good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach is not suitable for swimming and there are no chairs to lay on without dragging them down from the pool area. Go north as many of the beaches listed in local guides provide more suitable sunning and swimming. Due to the lack of hotel accomodations, we tried to stay away as much as possible.

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 18, 2011

almost, but 2 big strikes against it

The hotel itself was nice enough as well as clean, but I had two issues with the hotel that really took away from my visit. This was my first visit to Kauai so was too familiar wit the location. Turns out this part of the island has little going on. For the better restaurants, beaches, snorkeling, or surfing you need to drive an hour north or south. Just not that much going on around this place. The beach it is located on is pretty but is too dangerous to swim. Should I ever go back to Kauai I will stay on either the north or south side of the island. Despite this I was ok with the hotel until the next issue reared its head. The next issue I had with this hotel was that during our stay they hosted a songwriters convention. Sounds fine right? Well, what this meant was that they had nightly shows and concerts performed by the musicians (primarily attended by other attendees of the convention) in the hotel bar. With the doors wide open. At night. Till 1 AM. With additional tables outside for people to sit at and drink. Directly under the balconies of rooms, including mine. Even with doors closed the noise would keep me awake as I went to bed around 10-11 each night due to early AM activities scheduled the next day (usually get up around 515). Lucky for me I had no children in the room that were being kept awake, though many around me did, which really ruined their nights. I complained to the front desk about the noise only to be told that yes they understand it is loud. Sorry about that. That was it. I understand they aren't going to shut it down based on my complaint, but could they at least not move me to another room? Nope. And as I said I wasn't the only one in this boat, as the noise affected a large % of rooms there. This hotel obviously cared about the convention goers than individuals such as myself and based on this I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 10, 2010

Bad experience

We stayed at this run down place for 2 nights. Although very close to airport beach was not the greatest. Our room was ocean front but poor view. Rooms had old stale smell with kind of old furniture carpets were dirty. I would say that everything in the holtel needed upgrade. It looked to me hotel which have been nice in 1970 and hasn't changed since. I must say not a four star anyway and may be a 2 star motel types with little more ammenities. Resturant awefully overpriced for quality of food. There are better resturants around. We stay in different resorts by far the worst experience among hiltons. Needs upgrade definetly would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 25, 2010

Kauai Beach Resort - Think Twice

From the website details, we thought we were in for a nice stay. However, this "resort" does not provide the accomodations or level of service described. In comparison to other resort hotels such as Marriott and Hilton family; this hotel surely lacked in its comparison on the most basic levels. The staff were less than thrilled to help us with most simple requests, I felt I was disturbing them on most instances. The pool service is non-existent and when you do order at the pool bar; the prices are beyond reasonable and service equal to that of a fast food stand. The parking that you are required to pay for forces you to compete for space with persons attending their nightly shows. At times you are forced to park very far away from the hotel as all the space is taken until very late at night when they leave. There is ample valet parking, but if you park there due to overflow; you are charged the higher rate. The noise is very high in the rooms as it carries in from the halls and other rooms due to old, shared ventilation. Peace and quiet is not an option. Our room was upgraded to to reservation issues, but in our opinion it was a downgrade. We had pool access with persons walking through our patio constantly and then music and noise from the pool was ongoing. The noise and chaos from unattended chidren is high as many parents simply left their kids for the resort to babysit (there is no kid camp at this resort). The resort was slow to respond to issues if even at all. We ended up having to negotiate with a group of 7-10 year olds for space in the hot tub. There are separate pool areas, but not enforcement of any rules. There was some enforcement on site two nights as we had the pleasure of meeting Kauai's finest in blue a few nights as rooms around us needed their on site presence. We did not appreciate not being able to get to our room one night as the room next to us had two police and several large male hotel staff blocking our door and the hall access. Good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach is not suitable for swimming and there are no chairs to lay on without dragging them down from the pool area. Go north as many of the beaches listed in local guides provide more suitable sunning and swimming. Due to the lack of hotel accomodations, we tried to stay away as much as possible.

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 18, 2011

almost, but 2 big strikes against it

The hotel itself was nice enough as well as clean, but I had two issues with the hotel that really took away from my visit. This was my first visit to Kauai so was too familiar wit the location. Turns out this part of the island has little going on. For the better restaurants, beaches, snorkeling, or surfing you need to drive an hour north or south. Just not that much going on around this place. The beach it is located on is pretty but is too dangerous to swim. Should I ever go back to Kauai I will stay on either the north or south side of the island. Despite this I was ok with the hotel until the next issue reared its head. The next issue I had with this hotel was that during our stay they hosted a songwriters convention. Sounds fine right? Well, what this meant was that they had nightly shows and concerts performed by the musicians (primarily attended by other attendees of the convention) in the hotel bar. With the doors wide open. At night. Till 1 AM. With additional tables outside for people to sit at and drink. Directly under the balconies of rooms, including mine. Even with doors closed the noise would keep me awake as I went to bed around 10-11 each night due to early AM activities scheduled the next day (usually get up around 515). Lucky for me I had no children in the room that were being kept awake, though many around me did, which really ruined their nights. I complained to the front desk about the noise only to be told that yes they understand it is loud. Sorry about that. That was it. I understand they aren't going to shut it down based on my complaint, but could they at least not move me to another room? Nope. And as I said I wasn't the only one in this boat, as the noise affected a large % of rooms there. This hotel obviously cared about the convention goers than individuals such as myself and based on this I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beauitfymind
berkeley ca
Sep 14, 2011

room cleanliness

cockroches found in our room, when told to the hotel staff, she didn't even sound very apologetic. Very disappointed at her service, check in was also very slow at this hotel and not very efficient. after our room was switched, It was okay, so overall it was not too bad except for this one incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Oct 12, 2010

You get what you pay for

Everything was adequate, to be fair. The pool was nice, the rooms were clean, but this is definitely not a 4, or even 3 star hotel. Rooms were noisy, maintenance and concierge weren't helpful at all, and the hotel is right across from a prison. Creepy. Also, no free Internet or parking, and the there are no mountains in view from my "mountain view" room. For $100/night, this room is a good deal. But considering we had to pay $20/ day for parking and Internet each, I wish we would've just stayed at the outrigger, which looked amazing, btw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beauitfymind
berkeley ca
Sep 14, 2011

room cleanliness

cockroches found in our room, when told to the hotel staff, she didn't even sound very apologetic. Very disappointed at her service, check in was also very slow at this hotel and not very efficient. after our room was switched, It was okay, so overall it was not too bad except for this one incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honu lover
Oregon
Jan 1, 2013

Constructive criticisms

This resort is 2 miles from town and the local bus stop. Be prepared to pay taxi fares if you don't rent a car. The hotel has you sign a contract that states that you won't bring food into the room. No ice chests allowed. The onsite restaurants have good food but the portions are small and it is not inexpensive. The waitresses have attitude instead of aloha. Our room smelled noticably dank and musty, so I told the front desk and they had housekeeping come in and he sprayed Febreeze around. There was no airco or fan in our room, so we had to leave the lanai door open all night. Our lanai looked out over an older roof and the floor needed to be cleaned, The bathroom light fixture needed to have the dead bugs cleaned out. TV reception was poor. The yoga instructor didn't show up for a scheduled class. The water in the swimming pool was cold. On the bright side the receptionists were extremely nice and efficient. The grounds were spacious and the beach is right in the backyard and it is a great beach for walking, long and beautiful. The massage at the spa was divine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Kilohana Plantation Luau was incredible! Best food and entertainment!

Back to menu Return to top