$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Kauai Beach Resort

4 stars
4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
407 reviews
Awesome hotel!

For the price I paid, I was not expecting the type of hotel we received. On Oahu, where we live,... See full review

  • Maheamarleen
  • Jul 20, 2014
Kauai ...our last night

Spent our last night here...excellent service. We checked in early..Rom was cool and ready. Enjoyed... See full review

  • Family from Cali
  • Jun 22, 2014
Plantation-style goes upscale on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast
Set on 25 acres along a three-mile beach -- Kauai's longest -- this resort evokes the graciousness of the plantation era but with a host of contemporary amenities. The beach, which is perfect for sauntering or sunning, is not for swimming. No problem. Kauai Beach Resort has four pools, a beachfront sand-bottomed pool and a fantasy pool with a 75-foot lava-tube water slide among them. Two restaurants, a lounge, a fitness center and a spa round out the facilities. And when guests want to explore further afield, Kauai's east coast is an ideal spot from which to do it.
Highlights
  • Fantasy pool with 75-foot lava-tube water slide
  • Series of concerts and programs promoting Hawaiian arts and artists
  • Hawaiian Rainforest Spa
  • Complimentary bocce
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Location
Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast is rife with sacred sites and groves of slender coconut palms, with its character shaped in part by long, curving Wailua River, the only navigable river in all of Hawaii. A stay here should include visits to a trio of sites, Fern Grotto, Secret Falls, and 80-foot Wailua Falls, made famous in the opening scene of TV classic "Fantasy Island."
Rooms
Accents such as louvered doors and wood floors recall plantation style, but the old plantation homes didn't have what these rooms at Kauai Beach Resort have: travertine marble in the bathrooms and iPod docks in the living rooms.
Features

There's a distinctly Hawaiian feel to Kauai Beach Resort with its island architecture, but also a culture of sharing and promoting authentic Hawaiiana that sets it apart. The resort hosts events all year, including local musicians who share their art and stories, benefit concerts supporting the perpetuation of Hawaiian language and music, and a festival featuring the state's top slack-key artists. Check the annual calendar and plan your trip accordingly.

 

Although the beach out front isn't safe for swimming, Lydgate Beach Park, a couple of miles away, offers excellent swimming and snorkeling.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Wailua Golf Course (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
Business
  • Four rooms, 13,000-plus square feet of flexible indoor space
  • Find 15,000 square feet of event-ready courtyards, lawns and poolside venues
  • A small business center
  • High-speed Internet (fee applies)

Hotel Map

22.01 -159.3378
Area served
Lihue and Kapaa Island of Kauai Hawaii
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue International Airport
Area description
The Aqua Kauai Beach Resort is located on the eastern side of the island of Kauai on 25 lushly landscaped oceanfront acres adjacent to Kuhio Highway 56, five minutes north of the Lihue airport and 10 minutes north of the town of Lihue. The Kauai Beach Resort is located on the eastern side of the island of Kauai on 25 lushly landscaped oceanfront acres adjacent to Kuhio Highway 56, five minutes north of the Lihue airport and 10 minutes north of the town of Lihue.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Kauai Beach Resort Rooms

Lagoon View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)
Pool View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320sq ft)
Ocean View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)
Mountain Garden View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Naupaka Terrace Restaurant
Open daily from 6:00am to 11:00am Greet the morning with "grab and go" options! Healthy breakfast items include assorted yogurts, fruit & yogurt parfaits, a delicious assortment of Muffins and Bagels, Breakfast Burrito, and other specialty items! Savor a steaming hot cup of Hawaiian Coffee, Latte, Espresso and more! Open for breakfast daily from 6:30 am to 10:30 am. Start your day your way! Enjoy an all-you-can-eat hearty buffet or an la carte menu of breakfast favorites, house specialties, omelets, and more! Open for dinner nightly from 6:00pm to 9:00pm. Our menu features culinary creations from the land and sea that include steak and seafood entres, island-inspired cuisine, and our bountiful garden salad bar featuring a "soup and salad du jour"! On Saturday nightswe've got a fabulous Seafood Buffet!
Shutters Lounge
Open Sun - Thur 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm Fri & Sat 5:00 pm to midnight. Happy Hour daily from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm. Specialty drinks, draft beers, wines, and a light dinner menu featuring a variety of salads, pizza, burgers, and tasty appetizers! 4 flat screen TVs and live island music every evening! Nightly entertainment 7:00 - 10:00 pm.
Driftwood Bar & Grille
Lunch served daily 11:30am to 6:00pm. Happy Hour daily - 3 pm to 5 pm. Join us poolside for light fare, tropical drinks, and happy hour specials! Catch sports events on flat screen TVs and live music every Saturday during happy hour.
Room Service
Available daily 6:30 am to 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (407)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Beach Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bride1012
Chicago
Oct 29, 2012

Wedding in Kauai

This was our first visit to Kauai and it was recommeneded that we stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. The hotel is conveniently located about 5 minutes (drive) from the airport. The ocean is a short walk behind the hotel and there are several beautiful pools right outside as well. It is quite beautiful and remote. We found it the perfect setting for our private wedding on the beach. The customer service at the front desk and the restaurant are excellent. I was worried because I had reached out several times to the hotel in order to get an early check-in time, but was never guaranteed. Once we arrived, however, all was ok. I also got my hair and make-up done at the salon located right at the hotel. Excellent service and beautiful job! The price was a little more than what I had anticipated, but it was worth it at the end. We also had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and enjoyed both. The fruit was beyond fresh and the dessert that we had for dinner (ice cream cake) was exquisite! My only real disappointment with the hotel was the cleanliness of the room. The room was spacious, however, it definitely had a "hotel smell" to it and the bathtub had hair. It also seemed as if the room was a bit old and needed a bit of an upgrade. We did, however, enjoy the wild chickens/rooster who visited our back patio. I would recommend this hotel if someone is looking for something that is inexpensive, with great customer service...and close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you get the macadamia nut-crusted ice cream cake for dessert at the restaurant. Impeccable!

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin the traveler
Tacoma, Washington
Oct 28, 2012

Wonderful honeymoon location!

My husband and I absolutely loved the Kauai Beach Resort! The beach was easily accessible, the pools were beautiful. The staff was very helpful and made our stay even better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The resort restaurants were wonderful but if you're looking for something outside the resort there isn't much but going north to Wailua has the biggest selection

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
October Honeymooner 2012
San Jose, California
Oct 25, 2012

Great spot for honeymoon

Great price, great location, and the staff was friendly. I recommend getting the breakfast option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
murraygoround
Chandler, Arizona
Oct 16, 2012

Ten Days in Paradise

Absolutely wonderful hotel. The staff was friendly, always smiling, and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great, and dinner was excellent. They often feature local artists in the lobby showing off their wares. The gift shops in the hotel had very reasonable prices. Great central location, allowing easy access to both sides of the island. We will definitely be staying at the Kauai Beach Resort on our next trip to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Market Fair in Kapa'a. You can buy souvenirs from local artists direct at significantly lower prices than what you would pay for the same items in pricier gift stores.

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 16, 2012

nice, clean and quite place with nice swimming pool, but

This hotel is nice and clean, and my husband and I enjoyed breakfast buffet. However we won't stay next time because the hotel is located at very seclusive area and there is not much things to do except swimming at pool. Their beach is not swimmable. (Some tourist may like this place because it's 5min drive from airport and located at the middle of Kauai and you can go to either north or south within short time. You definietely need a car for shopping and driving around. Next time we rather stay at south or north area of Kauai. More activities are over there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

it's worthy to buy breakfast buffet when you book in. I liked buffet a lot and I think it's more expensive if you pay it at hotel

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Lafrite
Del Mar, CA
Oct 10, 2012

Perfect for a relax & romantic time

The staff is really friendly, the beach, the surf, the location... all very good! The ambient Hawaiian music is soothing. The room was very clean and contained all we needed to spend a relax time. Breakfast could be a little more elaborate, but OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elbaso
Whittier, CA
Oct 10, 2012

Great family getaway

A great hotel for families, with several nice pools, and a nice beach (though not swimable). The food was quite good, and the staff treated us very well. Highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zwan
Janesville, Iowa
Oct 9, 2012

Wonderful relaxing vacation!

Kauai Beach Resort is wonderful! The staff is so friendly and helpful, rooms are very comfortable, updated and clean. We originally booked a lagoon view and when we arrived, they upgraded us to a pool view room, which also had a great view to the ocean!! Only recommendation for the rooms is to have microwaves available, but awesome otherwise. Beds are very comfortable. Location is great - easy to get around to other parts of the island, close to airport. Pool areas were great with food/beverage bar accessibility - wait staff was great at checking on anyone sitting around pool for any needs they had. Our favorite was the sand pool - feel of the beach & the sounds of the ocean without the sand crabs! :) Highly recommend & will return on our next visit to Kauai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Chicken in a Barrell food stand in Kapaa. Excellent barbeque chicken, pork & beef! Bobby V's in Kapaa is awesome for Italian pasta & pizza - they make their own sauces that are out of this world!

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric H M 61
San Rafael, CA
Sep 21, 2012

Great for couples

Our 4th annual stay at KBR. It's so relaxing there. We hardly left the resort this year. We relaxed by the pool; used the fitness center, spa (massage). The happy hour in the lounge (Shutters) was always nice. I Rx the breakfast buffet and afternoon snacks from Driftwood. Naupaka Restaurant is very nice for dinner and the food was pretty good. WalMart, Safeway, Costco, and mall are all close by as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanPatAnniversary
Waupaca ,Wi.
Sep 17, 2012

Pat&Dan anniversary

Great location,hidden from the road but close to everything. Setting is peaceful except for wild chickens awakening you at 6 am every morning. It did not bother us ,we are early risers. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The room was remodeled with granite vanity and tile floors. we would not hesitate to stay here again or recommendit to family and friends. The" Kauai Revealed" book was right on the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy "the Kauai Revealed " book to get a true feeling for visiting the island and how to save time and money.

Back to menu Return to top