$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2015 Check-out: Apr 18, 2015

The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
749 out of 749
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frannie17
Chicago
Nov 19, 2012

Perfect Honeymoon

From the moment we arrived every person working at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. It was very clean and beauitful. The big perks we liked were the pools, the beds (super comfy) and great buffett. Would totally stay again and recommend it to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your own liquor at the general store. The drinks were a little pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GDoise
Business
Vacaville, CA
Mar 9, 2014

Could have been much better

Day of arrival were did get an upgrade on our room. We started with a deluxe ocean view category in the beach tower and were upgraded to premiere ocean view in same tower. Hallway was dirty, opened door to room musty smell, not so bad, but dust everywhere about 1/8 to 1/4 inch deep. Thread on bath floor, mildew on tub surround, just filthy. Nika at the front desk scheduled us to be moved to the newly remodeled ocean tower on the next day. When we returned from a day outing we had a lovely new room with an outstanding view. Only negative to room, paper thin walls, that is until we returned at the end of the following day to find house keeping had not cleaned the shower, had not left soap, had not left face clothes or refreshed our coffee cup supply. All in all, room was great, other than noise. Brian the general manager who we met in the lobby gave us room credit for our first night. On our fourth day, we ordered two bottles of beverage from room service which we had been given vouchers for. After waiting three hours, my wife called to find out the stays and was rudely told by room service, it will be there before the end of the day! After my wife called the front desk to report this, we went to a restaurant on the property for a mid day meal and were met at our table by the food and beverage manager, Vlademir, who spoke with us, picked up our tab and promised our room service order would be waiting in our room with a surprise, Vlademir did not disappoint. We returned to our beverages and a cake celebrating our anniversary! The property is in a great location but took many issues with house keeping and room service, if not for great front staff and management they would just die!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whaler's village is next door and offers a variety of dining and shopping with better pricing than the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Kim
Business
Indiana
Mar 4, 2014

9 nights at Kaanapali Coast

We both found the staff to be the most friendly we have ever dealt with. The Concierge staff acted like we were their friends and asked about our activities when they would see us in the halls. We loved the variety of swimming pools and on site attractions. We liked the whale watch boats picking us up right at the shoreline and the crews were enthusiastic and friendly to all. We loved being able to walk the shore walk to see other properties and the Whalers Village being so close was very nice. The beds were really comfy and allowed us to get a good rest so we could hit it hard every morning. The shuttle to Lahaina was great and we used it to go to town for supper and also to rent bikes to ride the West Maui Loop ride. The concierge staff were very efficient at booking our activities and very friendly each time we made a change to our itinerary. The most relaxing, entertaining, fun loving vacation ever. The hotel took care of the little things so we could take care of having fun on the activities. Thanks for a great vacation. Kim and Jim Fox

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Westin shuttle to go to Lahaina and eat at the rooftop bar at Mick Fleetwood's Place. Make a reservation for about sunset and have the greatest view while eating and listening to great music. Doesn't get any better than this. Pina Coladas were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pr59
Business
Napa, California
Feb 23, 2014

maui westin

Nice facilities, room. Beach is mediocre with catamarans docking and leaving the beach constantly. Pool extremely busy with small kids overflowing into the adult areas constantly. Hotel "restaurant" (more of a grill) and bar quite poor. Parking constantly full requiring you to valet. Valet retrieval on average takes 10+ minutes. Would not go again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay in Napili; better beach, amenities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2loveorbloved
Business
lahaina, hawaii
Feb 18, 2014

staycation

The property had everything we needed. We didn't leave the property once. Home away from home!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twelfth man
Business
Tacoma, wa
Feb 18, 2014

Nice break from the weather

Great vacation. The staff was great and the grounds kept the family busy. The rooms were good but having four people in the room was crowded...not that we planned on staying in there long. It was not ocean view but had a nice view of the sunrise. The food a a bit expensive but the 5-6pm happy hour helped. We liked honokowai okazuyu and Honu Seafood and Pizza. We tried to eat at Maui brewing and Star Noodle but the lines were too long. okazuyu is not fancy but has good food. I enjoyed the Chicken Katsu and my wife liked the mahi mahi dish with lemon and mushrooms. We also liked the beachfront places by Whalers Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Honu Seafood and Pizza.. Everything With Tuna was perfect....including appetizers and main meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RANGER61
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 16, 2014

Bring A lot of Benjamins and you will enjoy the benefits

It is a good place to stay on Kaanapali maybe the best. The room was great and the location was excellent. The ambiance from a visual perspective was just what I expected. The problem is that the Hawaiian feel is missing. Imagine Disneyland staffed with employees trained at a hotel in Dallas Tx. Everything costs extra too. Drinks for 12.95 should be really awesome but what you get is just OK. I know it's Maui, don't go on a budget. Really I didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe the tool man
Business
Chicago
Jan 26, 2014

Beware of construction

This was not our first stay at the Westin, and it is still one of the better hotels. However, had we known about the ongoing remodeling of sections of the two lowest flloors, the nearby nightly construction of busy Hwy 30, as well as lawn cutting at night at nearby golf course, we would have made other arrangements. We basiclly chose the Westin for its impeccable pool area where we wanted to get a few days of relaxation. Unfortunately, with constant construction noise coming from the rooms right behind the adult pool, this was not exactly possible. You might think that the staff would apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort. Not so, perhaps because they know that in January they will have no problems filling the rooms with plenty of people from the snow belt. For us, a perfect vacation was ruined. Stay away from rooms with mountain view. All you will get is a view of the parking lot, the golf course and a busy highway. And yes, the mountain is in the background.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William and Mary Mom
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jan 21, 2014

Family vacation

The Westin is a beautiful hotel in a great beach location. We enjoyed the beach, the hotel pools and the nearby restaurants. We felt many things at the Westin were very high priced (eg.$28 for a buffet breakfast) and thought perhaps Westin guests should have received a discount. Our bed was too soft and not really comfortable. A couple of days the bed was made up very haphazardly and we had the straighten the sheets out when we went to bed. The concierges were only slightly helpful and seemed more interested in selling the time shares up the beach. The hotel book in the room was not helpful about where things were in the hotel or nearby. We tried the green option not to have our linens changed but this also meant we did not have the trash dumped or the coffee/water replenished.Twice we had problems with our room keys not working. We did enjoy the view from our room and the gift shops were nice and reasonably priced. The check-in and check-out was fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers Village has great shops and restaurants within a short walk. They have everything from nice Hawaiian shirts and jewelry to shave ice and coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Momma
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas break

We were not given advance notice that this particular Westin was going through renovation. The person that checked us in did not either. We were given rooms right next to where they were drilling. Even though they said work hours were 9-5, the construction workers started at 8am each day. This experience was very disappointing given the price we paid for this vacation package. Hope to hear your feedback and instill our faith in booking with you again. We want to request a partial refund, pls contact us about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants next door at Whalers Village are really good and convenient. Might want to make reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
quasiK
Business
massachusetts
Dec 16, 2013

Great Location but

This hotel's faults mirror those of Lahaina itself..it's very expensive for what you get...even if you shell out a lot of money you may be disappointed with the result. If you want locovore food, or fresh local vegetables you will have to work very hard to get it. (other than going to Down to Earth or Whole Foods to eat).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make all bookings directly with tour providers, equipment renters etc. I normally am comfortable 'rewarding' a property with my business, but here I had the feeling you pay quite a bit for what you get and then a lot more for each thing you might need; e.g. toilet paper not like nearly transparent sandpaper. Only the hotel sundries shop was reasonably priced, It might be cheaper to rent a place and hire a local chef

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top