$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
726 reviews
Beautiful resort

We enjoyed our honeymoon at the resort. The restaurants at the resort are excellent. The views from... See full review

  • J.D.K.P.
  • Oct 19, 2014
Family getaway

First rate. The staff was great with us and our 2-year old daughter. She loves the pool, and was so... See full review

  • Erinleigh95
  • Sep 8, 2014
The Westin Maui Resort is one of the island's largest accommodations, welcoming travelers to vast landscaped grounds with an epic driveway. Five swimming pools allow adults and children to swim through a grotto, skim down a 120-foot-high waterslide, or chill out inside the bubbling Jacuzzi. Accommodations feature small balconies, and guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep on a "Heavenly" bed. Pick up tasty hot dogs or sweet snacks at Sea Dogs before working out inside the state-of-the-art fitness center, or relaxing with a lush spa treatment. Paradise scenery meets contemporary amenities and great service at this Westin Hotel and Resort in Hawaii.
Key facts
  • On-site shopping
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 5 pools, including one for adults only
  • Restaurants, cafes and bars: Beach Bar, Colonnade Cafe, Relish Burger Bistro and Sea Dogs
  • Kids' club
  • 24-hour room service
  • Heavenly Spa by Westin with dry sauna and whirlpool
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 35,000-square-feet indoors, 32,000-square-feet outdoors
Neighborhood
Located on the famed Kaanapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort is a seaside hotel that provides gorgeous views of the neighboring islands of Moloki and Lanai. The vast resort offers enough entertainment to fill the day, but it is also just minutes from several Hawaiian attractions. Head next door to the Whalers Village complex, which offers one-of-a-kind boutiques for souvenirs, familiar store brands and al fresco dining.
Hints and tips
Rooms in the Beach Tower are larger and closer to the water.

Guests should not delay in snagging a poolside lounge chair in the morning - they fill up quickly and can remain occupied all day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Maui Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Maui Resort and Spa Rooms

Mountain View Room
All guest rooms feature the Westin Heavenly beds, private balcony, as well as,In-room safes and coffee makers,Iron and ironing boards,Voice mail messaging,Nightly turndown services available upon request Non-smoking rooms ADA-compliant guest rooms available, and High Speed Internet Access
Ocean View Room
All guest rooms feature the Westin Heavenly beds, private balcony, as well as,In-room safes and coffee makers,Iron and ironing boards,Voice mail messaging,Nightly turndown services available upon request Non-smoking rooms ADA-compliant guest rooms available, and High Speed Internet Access

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Colonnade Cafe
The Colonnade Cafe serves continental breakfast including fresh fruit, Danish pastries, bagels, muffins, fruit juice and smoothies. Also offered is Starbucks Coffee. Hours of Operation: 6:00AM to 6:30pm
Relish Burger Bistro
Scheduled to open mid-summer, Relish Burger Bistro presents innovative selections such as burgers served bun-less and traditional favorites. Beer lovers will enjoy Relish Beer Menu with its extensive choices and seasonal specials. All day dining including breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sea Dog
Convenient spot to pick up a snack on your way to the pools or the beach. Here you'll find hot dogs, soft drinks, popcorn, shave ice, ice cream and a variety of light snacks. And for your convenience, you may simply charge any bill back to your room! Hours of Operation: 11:00AM to 4:00PM
Sugar House
Scheduled to open mid-summer, the new Sugar House Island Kitchen and Sugar Shack Rum Bar will delight guests with its diverse offerings, ranging from scrumptious small plates to salads, burgers, pizzas and more.

The restaurant presents a magnificent oceanfront setting along legendary Ka'anapali Beach. Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (726)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
726 out of 726
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relaxed Twenty-Something Couple
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Not Relaxing.

If you have a family with children, you're going to love this hotel. There's a slide at the pool and birds & fish in the lobby. If you're a childless couple looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway -- this hotel is not for you. We were so unable to relax, we left mid-stay and went to the Four Seasons in Wilelia. Some details: The pool area is a zoo. It's a free-for-all when it comes to finding chairs; most people head down by 8am to stake claim for their family for the entire day. There's no pool-side staff to help you find charis. What's remaining are undesirable chairs, in the bright sun, next to screaming children. The pool area is also a mess; there's service items and old towels strewn everywhere. It smelled like urine one day. There is an adult-only pool, but there are so few chairs that there's never anything open. The sounds of screaming children permeate this area as well. You also need to check-in and check-out towels from a towel shack -- with the threat of being charged if you don't check-in your towels at the end of the day. You can get a somewhat relaxing experience by getting a beach cabana. It's not really a cabana -- it's a two seat deck chair with a retractable awning. Unfortunately, they're $60 for the day, and guess what: there's always a screaming kid nearby. You can snag a chair on the beach for $15, but they're first-come first-served, and are gone by breakfast. The food at the poolside restaurant & the main hotel restaurant Tropica were average to below average. The spa was clean and above average, but the actual services rendered were below average. The Beach Tower room was passably clean, but not actually clean. Felt like it needed a spring cleaning. The front desk staff was hit or miss. When you got a nice person, they were terrific. When you got a cranky one, boy were they cranky. Free parking wasn't free at all: the cost was headaches and not enough spaces. I conceded to $15/day valet to not stress over this. All in all, this hotel was what you'd expect for a Westin that was adjacent to a Convention Center or a business center in a big city: decent and dependable. But when you plant it beachfront in Maui, and price & market it like a five star resort -- it adds up to an underwhelming experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan & Barb
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 2, 2009

Great Maui Hotel

The Westin is a wonderful hotel and we would recommend it to family and friends. Everything except the parking was first class and well done. Great location to shopping and beach activities. Try the Gemini for snorkeling as they have great staff and great food. Pool is great and the food service poolside is very good and reasonably priced for Hawaii. Entire Kaanapali area is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Whalers Village, a short walk from the hotel for best restaurants. Also, the Sea House Restaurant at Napili Kai Beach Resort Napoli Point is fantastic & a short drive. Don't miss it and it is a short 15 minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean frequent traveler
Business
Washington D.C.
Jun 29, 2009

Relax, unwind and have fun!

We enjoyed the hotel and found much to do in the resort but after all it is Maui so don't forget to leave the resort to explore the island's many acitivites and sights. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously kept, staff seemed very helpful and accomodating. The only downfall is you have to wake up by 6am (no kidding) to make sure you can reserve a lawn chair by the pool or under an umbrella.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Seven Sacred Pools on the Southeastern side of the island in the National Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 28, 2009

Excellent stay

We arrived in the a.m., but check in time wasn't until 3 p.m.. The staff didn't tell us that there was a special lounge for us to wait in. We had sand in the linens,which lead us to believe that they weren't changed before we checked in. All other aspects were perfect. We plan to visit again for a week next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you get a package deal with Orbitz, don't upgrade your rental car when you arrive on the island. You'll end up paying double for a rental car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frankinbuffalo
Business
Lancaster, NY
Jun 22, 2009

Greta for the family-Not for honeymoons!

Great loaction and very helpful Employees. The only thing I was unhappy about was that I was there for my honeymoon and there was absolutely too many children for us to enjoy some peace..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you bring some money for shopping. I would say the best unique products in the world are available in Maui..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newlywed joe
Business
midwest
Jun 21, 2009

nice location.....avoid time share tour

loved everything except for everyday trying to get us to take there time share tour.....it was a little over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaimeAlicia
Business
Prosser, WA
Jun 18, 2009

Good Time Had By All

We had a very nice time. We loved the snorkeling, hiking, para sailing, pool area, and riding waves on the beach. We've been to a luau before in Oahu so we didn't do one this time, but I heard the one offered was excellent. The only complaint that I have is in regards to not being able to do my own wash. I am a fitness buff and exercise everyday. I like to be able to wash my gear when needed. I like to be able to take all my gear and throw it into a washing machine, I'm not picky about sweaty clothes. When I saw that I could not do my own wash I was disappointed. I'm not filling out any laundry form for gym clothes, besides the prices to me were exorbitant. If that's never going to be an option at your hotel how about listing laundry mats in your directory? As it was I ended up putting my gym clothes on our balcony to let them dry, but they never really did dry adequately. If there was a phone book in the room I could have found a laundry mat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a mall a short walk from the motel and other shopping available just a short way down the road. I also appreciated having the option of fine dining on-site or the cheaper dining available at Whalers, which is just a short walk i.e. McDonald's, pizza, chinese etc. I also liked the Continental breakfast option on-site even though we had to pay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newlywed on Honeymoon
Business
Marina del Rey, CA
Jun 18, 2009

Honeymoon in Maui at a Family Resort

This hotel is way overrated it was no better than Holiday Inn expresses we have stayed in. The only good thing I can say about it is the location--it's in the midst of everything on the beach. The room was incredibly small, smelt like mold, and the ac barely worked. The view was of a dusty mountain. If you are a smoker Hawaii isn't for you. You can't smoke like anywhere on the island. In my opinion don't go to Hawaii, there are much prettier and cheaper places in Florida and the Caribbean. The beach isn't that pretty on Maui. If you do go, make sure you go into Lahina to get discounts and much cheaper excursions than from the resort. For example a snorkel trip was 100 dollars at the resort, the same one was 20 dollars in town. We did enjoy the trip although we overpaid for it on the Gemini. The crew was awesome. We also did a luau at the Sheraton, which was really fun. The pork was to die for and the MC was really funny. The next night we overheard the Westin one and it was super boring, so we were happy. If you want to do a zipline make sure you reserve it over two weeks before you get to Maui. Be sure to bring lots of cash, food, gas, excursions aren't very cheap. The luau alone cost us like 220 (for two of us). DON'T EAT AT THE RESORT! EAT AT THE WHALER VILLAGE OR IN TOWN AT LAHINA. One night we ate at Ruth Chris's and not only was it cheaper but it was delicious as always. The resort food was way overpriced and not very good. Don't go here for your honeymoon because there was nothing but kids and families not very romantic. The "adult pool" still had kids (like 10-15) 90% of the time. Honestly I would pick another island. Everywhere we went it was kids (I actually love kids, but wanted to relax and not have to fight to lounge in the pool).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, AL
Jun 16, 2009

Stay of a lifetime

This was the best family vacation we have ever taken. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and had great views of the ocean. The beach was perfect and the pools were fabulous. We could not have asked for a better vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the Hana Hwy drive. It is an all day experience, but one you do not want to miss. The scenery is like no where else!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sl/mom
Business
denver,co
Jun 15, 2009

great location

helpful staff traveled to other beaches-short drives great restaurants close by shuttle to Lahina is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try a variety of restaurants-lots to choose from

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top