$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
701 out of 701
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter G202
Los Angeles, Ca
Nov 21, 2012

Great Hotel, but major construction until end of 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The pools are great, rooms are clean and service was excellent. My only complaint is that the hotel is under major construction. Floor levels 4 - 7 are closed for renovations. The issue is they will stick you on the 2nd or 3 floors unless you pay the big bucks for floors 8 and up. The view is not as nice on the 3rd floor even if you pay extra for ocean view. Besides that the hotel is amazing, great for kids too. Your family will love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Luaus are not really worth the money. But you cannot go to Hawaii and not see a luau. The hotel sells tickets for $149 per person. The Costco on Maui has discounts for preorder for the same luau at $70. Check out the souvenirs there too.

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jul 18, 2009

Paradise!

It was a relly nice place. Parking lot got filled up quickly. It was little too busy for us. Good for families a lot of things for kids to do, but we didn't need all that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the resort is a shopping place and it has reasonable places to get food.

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
california
Jul 16, 2009

Not the best stay

We were last in Maui 18 years ago for our honeymoon. We were bummed that the hospitality and friendliness that we remembered were absent from this trip. Both the bartender and the lady at the coffee hut bordered on rude. We repeatedly thanked them for their service and were ignored. Our room neighbor had noisy children that were allowed to run in the hallway at 5:30 in the morning.. And the restaurants are rediculous. Not every restaurant needs to act like it is on the food network. How about a place with 'regular' food... steak and seafood etc... The pools were lovely, the beds were indeed heavenly, but could have been bigger.. is it too much to ask for a queen sized bed? The housekeeping ranged from obsessively tidy (ogranizing our tolietries by height) to not leaving enough towels. Should we visit Maui again, the cons outweigh the pros and we would not stay at the Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Vacationers
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 13, 2009

Beautiful and good location, service ok.

The location was perfect to walk right out of the hotel and get a variety of food and shopping at Whalers Village. It's great to take a shuttle into town for dinner. The pool is above and beyond any others on that streattch of beach. Beautiful beach!! The service was decent - slow and not on top of check in and check out and special requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Whalers Village to get a slice of Pizza, sandwich, wrap, great fish tacos on beachside patio, salads, etc that range from $8 meals to $80 meals.

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jul 12, 2009

Not quite what we expected for the price

The location is good for gound activities, shopping etc. For beach activities the Sheraton is the best. There is a coral reef with hundreds of beautifully colored fish at "black rock" right in front of the Sheraton. We were at Kanapali beach nine years ago and absolutely loved it. That is why we returneed. We were hoping for and paid for an upscale room. Our room at the Westin was smaller than expected and quite moderate. We were put in a room with two double beds and were told there was nothing else available even though we made our reservations two months in advance. That obviously was not true because we called orbitz and next thing we knew we were being moved to a room with the king size bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Read your brochures before purchasing activities. Lots of people will try to sell you expensive tickets. Shop around and you can get good prices. Also, there is a guy with a parking lot just off Front St in Lahaina. You purchase your time up front and if you are two minutes late returning you will find your vehicle with a tire lock on it and he will want $50 to remove it. Be ware!

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westerville, OH
Jul 10, 2009

Absolutely Beautiful

We were celebrating our first anniversary. BEAUTIFUL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A nice adventure
Business
Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Jul 10, 2009

Infor that can help

I was a bit apprehensive, when I first arrived at the hotel. It took some time to get baggage and my rental car, at the AP, so I was a bit wound up. Be ready for the "chill out, what's your rush from everyone on the island." Once in the hotel and to my room everything actually did chill out a bit and the hotel is very attentive. Before I got to the hotel I called about my room type and was told sorry since I booked from Orbitz nothing can be guaranteed beyond your room being there. I was on my 25th and wanted a King bed. Well when I got there they gave me the King bed and a bottle of champagne, very nice. I asked if parking was free when I booked, I was told yes. But actually everyone pays a extra Fee/day for parking, internet and 2 bottles of water. Car or no car. The car lot was full most nights and they would valet park my car for free those nights. You still have to wait to give them your car and tip to get it back in the morning, just know this. It wasn't a big deal. There are plenty of nice places to eat in town and it was very scenic, I went there almost every day. The drinks and food at the hotel are very good but also very expensive. There is a small, nice, mall next to the hotel. Tip for the pool; get up early and put towels out for your chairs. I learned like many people after the first day and no chairs were open. Then at the beach they rent chairs and have one guy setting them up. This can take up to a hour and they will run out of umbrellas and chairs. The adult pool is kind of small and only 4' deep. They should make it a little bigger and deeper. If kids bother you then maybe look for another property to stay at because the larger 2 pools are full of them. There are lots of beach activities to do. I did find I could have booked my tours there just as easy as on-line and if you have a car you can tour the island your self. If you book a snorkel cruise be ready to pay double because they sell a second dive trip, on board, called snuba(and yes you do want it) and rent water proof camers and sell other photes services, you can BYOB but no one told me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

First Go to downtown any time day or night. Many stores to shop, lots of restaurants to choose from and allot of tour information to be had. Second book a snorkel crusie that includes snuba.( Snokel plus scuba hose)

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ & Sherrie
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 8, 2009

Unbeatable location!! Awesome resort!

It was our first time in Maui and the Westin Maui Resort was the perfect place to stay. The location is unbeatable, right next to Whaler's village and close to Old Lahaina. There's so much to do within walking distance. There's plenty of good restaurants nearby (Leilani's, Hula Grill) and great golf courses (Ka'anapali). We rented a jeep to get to other parts of the island for our daily activities. We loved staying at the Westin and the hotel grounds are beautiful. Many people say the rooms are too small but they were fine for us. We didn't spend too much time in the rooms. I would recommend the Westin Maui Resort & Spa to anyone. I can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

They offer shuttle service to Front Street in Old Lahaina. We used it to go to the fireworks on July 4th and saved money from having to use a taxi.

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rjhwild
Business
Vicoria bc
Jul 7, 2009

The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Watching my 2 year old daughter swim in the pool and have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 6, 2009

Fabulous Resort

The resort was fabulous with plenty of activities to do. The pool was beautiful and great for kids as well as adults. I heard from others who come to this hotel repeatedly that this year was quieter maybe due to the economy. You did need to get an early start to have a nice place by the pool or rent beach chairs. Very clean and well maintained. Food a bit pricey but this is Hawaii..... Great beach location, you could enjoy the calmer waves or walk down just a bit for some surfing. Highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relaxed Twenty-Something Couple
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Not Relaxing.

If you have a family with children, you're going to love this hotel. There's a slide at the pool and birds & fish in the lobby. If you're a childless couple looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway -- this hotel is not for you. We were so unable to relax, we left mid-stay and went to the Four Seasons in Wilelia. Some details: The pool area is a zoo. It's a free-for-all when it comes to finding chairs; most people head down by 8am to stake claim for their family for the entire day. There's no pool-side staff to help you find charis. What's remaining are undesirable chairs, in the bright sun, next to screaming children. The pool area is also a mess; there's service items and old towels strewn everywhere. It smelled like urine one day. There is an adult-only pool, but there are so few chairs that there's never anything open. The sounds of screaming children permeate this area as well. You also need to check-in and check-out towels from a towel shack -- with the threat of being charged if you don't check-in your towels at the end of the day. You can get a somewhat relaxing experience by getting a beach cabana. It's not really a cabana -- it's a two seat deck chair with a retractable awning. Unfortunately, they're $60 for the day, and guess what: there's always a screaming kid nearby. You can snag a chair on the beach for $15, but they're first-come first-served, and are gone by breakfast. The food at the poolside restaurant & the main hotel restaurant Tropica were average to below average. The spa was clean and above average, but the actual services rendered were below average. The Beach Tower room was passably clean, but not actually clean. Felt like it needed a spring cleaning. The front desk staff was hit or miss. When you got a nice person, they were terrific. When you got a cranky one, boy were they cranky. Free parking wasn't free at all: the cost was headaches and not enough spaces. I conceded to $15/day valet to not stress over this. All in all, this hotel was what you'd expect for a Westin that was adjacent to a Convention Center or a business center in a big city: decent and dependable. But when you plant it beachfront in Maui, and price & market it like a five star resort -- it adds up to an underwhelming experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top