$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
802 out of 802
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
May 22, 2010

Heaven on Earth

This was my 4th trip to Maui in 3 years but my first stay at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa. I had heard many good things about the resort and have to say I was not disappointed. Our stay was for 5 nights but looking back my only regret is we didn't stay longer. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. I absolutely love the island hospitality. This was my girlfriend's first trip to Maui and she was blown away by the service and personal attention we received. Just a few things about the hotel...the pictures on the website are spot on. From the waterfalls and habitat adjacent to the lobby, to the pools and the beach, we couldn't have asked for more. The service staff in the restaurants and bars were so friendly. After our first day, it felt like we were locals (but on vacation). We had a deluxe ocean view room which was spacious for the two of us. Our view overlooked the beach and Black Rock. We spent every morning with our coffee's on the lanai trying to soak in every moment. As far as activities goes, we had many plans but those went out the window after the first day. We got sucked into being lazy vacationers. We couldn't have made a better choice. Unless you are down at the pool/beach before 10am, it's going to be a challenge to get lounge chairs. I highly recommend the beach cabanas (for two). I believe it was $50 for the full day rental which included wait service. They also have half-day rates starting at 1pm. They provided complimentary fruit and water which was a plus. We had so much fun the first day, we decided to return the next. As far as dining options, the hotel has fine restaurants and Whaler's Village is next door with the old standby's, Leilani's and Hula Grill. We also had breakfast at Cane and Taro one morning which was delicious (and enormous). If you have the time, I also recommend making a trip to the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua. They have fantastic cocktails to go with the sunset views. There's also a great sushi restaurant. We went to the Feast at Lele luau one evening and had a wonderful time. This was my first time at this venue and enjoyed the reserved seating instead of the usual buffet style setup. The show was wonderful. The performers were friendly and gracious mingling with the crowds after the performance. After relaxing for several days, we did manage to snorkel Molikini and Turtle Reef. I've been several times and it still amazes me how I am surprised each time with the beauty of this place. My girlfriend could not stop talking about it the rest of the day and nite! All in all, another great trip. Can't wait to come back later this year. And yes, we will be staying in the same place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the dining options in Whaler's Village. While there may be a small premium, the convenience of leisurely walking over and choosing what you want is well worth it. Don't miss out on the Hula Grill mai-tai's. It gets crowded around the dinner hour, so try to get there early.

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best Time!
Business
Fort Collins, CO
May 18, 2010

Great Place

The vacation was wonderful. The hotel was in a great location and the beach was magnificent :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
May 17, 2010

We had a Great trip!

Drove around & Sight see Sailed snorkeled swam with turtles Old Lahaina Luau shopped Used Pool a lot & got sun Dinned out at good restaurants Had pedicure in Spa Wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
May 15, 2010

Great Hotel

It was a great hotel although a little pricey compared to other hotels in the area. Great location next door to a shopping center where you could shop, eat or buy beach/hotel food and drinks at a lower price than in the hotel. There were very few people on the beach so it felt like you had it all to your self, not much to do at the hotel but the beach and pools, take the tours they are great or rent a car and tour yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Lahania to buy tour tickets they are cheaper than buying at the hotel

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truly Julie
Business
Atlanta
May 12, 2010

Exceeded my expectations!

I want to start off by saying that I could not have been more pleased with this trip! I thought there's no way this hotel was going to be as awesome as the pictures, but it was even better! As soon as you arrive at the Westin you walk right into an open air lobby with 2 waterfalls, live flamingos, koi fish, and parrots. The staff members were all so friendly and accomidating as well. I had some concers about this place because I read tons of reviews before booking, and one of the most common complaints a lot of people had was about the cleanliness... or lack thereof. Well, I cannot speak for their experience but this was the FIRST TIME EVER that I felt comfortable keeping a hotel comforter on my bed! You know, usually the comforters seem a bit gross, even at nice hotels... and we've all heard that they don't wash them after every guest... eeew! Well, everything at the Westin is set up to match with their "heavenly spa" standards. I really wasn't expecting that extra little touch! The comforter had a stark white duvet cover on it, the pillows seemed fresh and lovely, and even the dual shower heads were boasting the westin's "heavenly spa" theme. Everything just seemed VERY clean, fresh, and super comfortable... and there were no bugs at all (until we fell asleep one night with the lanai door wide open, screen and all... then we had a little nat situation, but that was totally our fault) After we walked up and down both sides of the beach we decided that this was the absolute best hotel on Kaanapali Beach (except for the hyatt) and we felt so lucky to have picked it. One thing I do think they should have posted, or at least tell you when you check in, is that the air conditioner is triggered to not work when the lanai door is open... even slightly open. It wasn't until we had matience come to our room that they told us about that little detail. You will notice that the hotel is very eco friendly as well as most of the places in Maui, so they have a lot of little energy saving and recycling upgrades and options everywhere. Very nice. Another thing I was concerned about is everyone kept going on and on about how expensive everything is there. Well, I live in a major city (Atlanta) and the hotel drinks in Maui were the same price as drinks at any upscale bar, restaurant, nightclub or hotel where I'm from. Beer was like $6 or 7, liquor drinks were $9.75, and some specialty frozen drinks were $12.50. You'd be CRAZY to expect drinks and food to somehow be CHEAPER when you are being served poolside in Maui! They even have different happy hours for each poolside bar, and you can score 1/2 price mai tai's and half price drinks during the happy hours (and they do NOT skimp on the liquor just because it's half price... oooh weee! lol) While we sat there enjoying our mid-day cocktail, most days the bartender would slide us over little freebees of drinks that he made too much of. (Maybe I shouldn't have told that last part) I must say though, we totally cheated the system, cost wise, and only threw down cash when we needed to and we still got to live it up. My goal was to be as efficient as we could so we didn't waste money when it doesn't matter... but without cutting corners or hindering the overall experience of our trip. If you are unprepared, then you will be spending $4.50 for a cinnamon roll from the little breakfast stand in the lobby. Even an apple at the hotel is $1.50! That little nonsense stuff adds up if you're not careful!... the next thing you know you've wasted the equivalent to a day of snorkling on a few tiny boxes of cereal and some random snacks that you won't even remember eating because they probably didn't fill you up. (There's this great outdoor shopping mall right next door called Whaler's Villiage that has a store called ABC and they have groceries and everything else you will need to survive... even wine, liquor, and beer... AND at normal everyday prices) I made oatmeal every morning for breakfast using the hot...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 11, 2010

Not up to Westin Standards

We have been to Maui 4 times in the last 2 years. This was our second stay at the westin. You can't beat the location and pool... but the rooms and hotel leave a lot to be desired. The rooms are too small, too crowded with furniture, and not very clean. The housekeeping for the entire property needs to be upgraded. Our room was dirty, the halls are dirty, the elevators are dirty. We complained about the housekeeping of our room 2x and nothing was done about it. Our bathroom floor wasn't cleaned once during our 8 night stay. Overall, this hotel is ok but it certainly doesn't live up to westin standards. The Hyatt down the beach is much nicer... even though they don't have as good of a location. If you are someone who has high expectations for your 3500 dollars, stay somewhere else. You will probably be dissapointed with the westin. The first time we stayed at the westin was over a year ago and things were much better then. What has happened to the hotel lately? Cuts in staff because of low occupancy rates? We will not return to the Westin again. We will stay at the Hyatt next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missing the sun
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 13, 2010

Great Resort for Couples and Family

-walking distance to the nice shopping area with everything you need -Great choices of food around the area -nice pools, fun water slides

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missing the sun
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 13, 2010

Great Resort for Couples and Family

-walking distance to the nice shopping area with everything you need -Great choices of food around the area -nice pools, fun water slides

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goodtime Charlie
Business
Ventura, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Fun in the Sun!

Best pool for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SE, Michigan
Apr 10, 2010

Great Location

Great location with magnificant beach, offshore whales, walk in swim/snorkle with reef fish and sea turtles. Next to Whale Shopping Center. Minimal nightlife. Beginner surfing and SCUBA diving reasonably priced on resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top