$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
759 out of 759
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Apr 6, 2010

Great location

We loved seeing the whales from the beach! We also visited Paia and the small towns in the upcountry. The culture is so different there. The pool and beach were great, but crowded--had to wait and pounce on a lounge chair to open up. We love how close the Westin is to Lahaina and Kapalui. Hawaii is wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Apr 6, 2010

great , expensive hotel

We stayed for 7nights at westin Maui which is a great, wonderful resort /spa. Great pool,spa, resort facilities, friendly staff, express phone service (someone picked up the phone straightway, i never had to wait when i called for anything xcept when they connected to front desk, it was busy) Excellent in room dining service. Rooms were clean, modern, well maintained, we got the described room (partial ocean view ) as promised. Excellent onsite pools, beach, restaurants, etc. Heavenly Bed, Heavenly shower, Heavenly spa were all nice. They provide 2 waterbottles everyday which is nice. There are couple of things i want to mention which needs to be improved. Housekeeping cleaned the room everyday unless you opt out for certain days, but everyday they forgot to keep something in the room, either soap/shampoo or coffee/hot cocoa/tea/stirrer to make coffee/vanity kit or soemthing. Though i got all of these within 5-10min after i called the service express phone center.So the house keeping need a check list and make sure they check everything before the complete cleaning the room. Another issue was the pool area was full, couldn't get any chair unless you go early in the morning and reserve /put a towel in a chair. Iam not sure is it be'cos of the spring break or is it always like this. But i have to mention this facility has a large pool area (5 pools including separate one for adults which was nice) High quality service, but expensive resort. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many excellent restaurants nearby on the Ka'anpali beach and Whalers village shopping mall. (Try Cane & Taro Breakfast/bruch, dinner at Hula grill & Leilani's) We also drove to Lahaina front street which is a must see/go, many shops, restaurants, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denzl
Business
Illinois
Apr 6, 2010

Spring Break

Great location, and beautiful lobby/pool area layout. Close to Whalers Village and local restaurants. Parking is inadequate unless you want to shell out for valet parking. Restaurants on site are expensive and limited choice but the Luau was well worth the money with a great show and great service. Impossible to get a lounger near the pool (they were always reserved by the time we came down to Breakfast) and we were charged to get one on the beach. Snorkeling right next to the beach was very good and close to the shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We took the Whale spotting cruise with the Pacific Whale Foundation (non profit) which was great. Even better was the sunset cocktails cruise with the same organization and we saw even more whales on that trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wausau, WI
Apr 3, 2010

Spring Break~~Maui/Westin Resort & Spa

To start things off, the resort was booked, but had to contact the booking agency to get confirmation(thanks! Hiliary) because when I called to let the resort know we would not be arriving until after 6pm, they couldn't find our reservation. And because of the resort being so busy, we didn't get the room we requested- 2 queen beds. So we got a hide a bed delivered and had two extra pillows in the closet when we check in, but when they dropped off the bed they took one of the extra pillows. Then upon check out, because we had an activity planned and we wouldn't be back till after check out, they have these so called hospitality rooms that you can use for a half hour if you request them after 8am on the day of your departure. (if you are on an outing, this is the first thing you want to be doing, looking for a phone to use to call, not to mention watching the clock.) Anyways, with this above senerio, I talked to the front desk and they confirmed that we could have our room until 2pm with no extra charge. Perfect. Yeah right! We didn't plan on major traffic back to the resort, got back around 1:20pm to find the cleaning lady in our room!!! All 3 of us wanted to shower and get ready for our fight home. She proceeded to continue to clean up the bathroom. We now had less that 20 minutes for all of us to get ready and out of our room. Plus she took our snacks we had in a bag for the plane ride.(didn't think to ask for them) to rushed to get cleaned up. Good thing we had already taken all of our personal items with us and out of the room.The reason that we checked noisy on the things we didn't like, is because our partial ocean view room you could constantly hear a/c units of the Whaler's Villiage shops, and always seemed to be alot of other unknown noises all the time (day/night). Just as there was always a loud vent noise from the bathroom. We were very happy with the location of this resort,though. It was located very close to the beach with a walking path all along it that connected to other resorts. It would of been better if it had more grassy areas to sit and enjoy the beach. However, just north on highway 30 a litte ways was the most perfect beach~Kahekili Beach Park. This beach/park had nice grassy area with picnic table area, restrooms/changing room, and was really great for snorkeling. We really enjoyed this park on our days that we didn't have activities planned. We were planning on hanging out at our resort, but found it hard to get any lounge chairs pool side. Had to sit at the bar on their very uncomfortable chairs and watch and wait for somebody to get up and leave. And sitting by the bar tables, the waitresses would walk right by on there mission to check with the people in the reserved Cabanas/sites, we only got asked once if we wanted or needed anything. This was also a normal occurance if you did get a poolside chair..always taking good care of the more elite customers- not to concerned with the rest of us paying customers, who, if we wanted anything, we had to get it ourselves from the bar. The adult area pool always seemed to have unattended children around it. Our Spa experience: made reservations for my daughter and I so we could get two difference services, but at the same time, so we'd be done and get on with our day as a family. Well, about 40 minutes before our sceduled appointment they called to say they had goofed up with their scheduling and if we wanted to come in, we could do so a half hour later. We had an other activity booked. Needless to say, when we did go in for the appointment, they took me to my daughters scheduled area, cuz they were all confused because WE had changed our scheduled appointment. And then at a later time when I went back up to inquire on some of there products and other services, I got the feeling that I was bothering them and couldn't answer my questions because my gal that did my facial was suppose to go thru everything with me after my appointment. The spa was not busy ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car-check prices on the internet first, we reserved one and expidited the whole process when we arrived at the airport. Rent snorkel gear from Maui Dive Shop in Kihei, very helpful and resonalbly priced. My husband lost one of his flippers and they only charged him a minimal fee for it. Also, the Resort restaurant Tropicana had a pre dinner speacial that saved a lot on the meal, and it was very delicious food. Also, look through your coupon from check-in, lots of good coupons. And purchasing a MAUI REVEALED BOOK IS A GOOD BUY AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carol Stream, IL
Apr 3, 2010

Resort Review

We had to get down to the pool each morning before 0700 to secure poolside chairs. No sleeping in for us! Also, no "Aloha greeting", just the usual check in. However, the beach was spectacular, as were the grounds. Restaurants on the resort were "ok" but the ones in Lahaina were much better, just do your research. Whale watching was by far, the highlight! Fitness room was very crowded, and no Hand San! But who needs a fitness room when you have the Pacific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get to the pool early to secure a poolside chair during peak season. Otherwise, you will just wander aimlessly.Eat outside of the resort. Better food, better atmosphere and better value. Whaler's Village is a godsend for those on a budget. McDonalds for breakfast or lunch, and save your $$ for dinner. Buzz's Wharf is a "Don't Miss"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patricia N.
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Apr 2, 2010

The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

We like the location and kid friendliness of this hotel. The resort fee is really maddening as there are never even enough chairs by the pool for a family to sit together. Also, because the there is only a small, self-park lot, you always have to valet your car which then requires tipping. The fees and food costs added up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the local ABC Store to purchase everything from alcohol and snacks to souveniers. It's the best deal in Hawaii!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
minima traveler
Business
portland,or
Apr 2, 2010

great place for couples

great view, easy pool and beach access. lots of kids which was ok, but what made us livid was people reserving pool spots at 5am!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

maui tacos! quick, easy and super tasty

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 29, 2010

Great overall experience!!

Hotel in a great location, close to shopping, restaurants, and snorkeling (black rock). Whale watching is a must! (pickup from hotel). Also would recommend Haleakala national park and driving "the road to Hana".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairbanks, Alaska
Mar 22, 2010

Just Ok

I go to resorts for the Spa and pool. I had the worst massage ever. I think it was the person giving the massage so I can't blame the whole staff. The pools were great. Very family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 22, 2010

Westin Maui review

Great hotel with convenient location and nice beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top