$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
230 reviews
August 2014 WORV Stay

The Property is beautiful and well maintained. As it's just North of the major Kaanapali hotel area... See full review

  • Hawaii Veteran
  • Sep 10, 2014
First Family Vacation

This was an excellent first family vacation. With a 3 year old and a 9 month old we were slightly... See full review

  • California Lams
  • Sep 8, 2014
Westin Hotels & Resorts has operated upscale hotels since the 1930s. The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas in Maui is one of the most remote of almost 200 Westin destinations around the globe. Book a room or an entire villa; from island-view studios with whirlpool tubs and gorgeously scented spa products, to two-bedroom/villa ocean view accommodations with space for up to eight people, guests can enjoy an intimate break or take the whole family along. Kids can get into the swashbuckling spirit at the Pirate Ship Pool, and adults can enjoy spa treatments offered at the Helani Spa, while tennis courts plus the WestinWORKOUT center allow active guests to pick up a racquet or run on the treadmill.
Key facts
  • Business center
  • 2 on-site food markets
  • 3 pools
  • Spa Helani
  • Complimentary shuttle service
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis courts
  • Conference and event space
  • Kids club
  • Restaurants: Ocean Pool Bar and Grill, Pailolo Bar and Grill, Pulehu An Italian Grill
Neighborhood
Walk straight to one of Maui's most popular beaches from your villa for a late-evening luau, or climb aboard the Sugar Cane Train next door, a historic locomotive that meanders through the local landscapes, allowing guests to see what island travel used to be like. Explore Lahaina, just six miles to the south, to find retail therapy before hopping back on the train to the resort. Kahekili Beach Park is also just a short stroll away, and visitors can enjoy both scuba diving and snorkeling here, in unspoiled Hawaiian waters.
Hints and tips
While it's tempting to stick to the attractions that cater to tourists visiting Maui at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas, remember that there are also many free parks and trails ripe for exploration.

The hotel is right off of Honoapiilani Highway, so rent a car to circle the entirety of volcanic Puu Kukui Mountain and pick a good spot to ascend to the summit, if you're feeling adventurous.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9367 -156.6907
Area served
Lahaina, Maui Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport-OGG 30 Miles Kapalua Airport-JHM 2.7 Miles
Area description
Whalers Village and Museum - 1.0 mi/1.6 km, Ka'anapali Golf Courses - 1.0 mi/1.6 km,Kapalua Golf Courses - 4.0 mi/6.4 km Haleakala National Park - 61.0 mi/98.2 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two-bedroom, two-bath villas provides the ideal setting to rejuvenate your body and mind. Every comfort and convenience is provided to leave you completely relaxed in this tropical paradise. All villas are furnished with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Bath with a whirlpool tub, flat-screen TV, DVD, fully-equipped kitchen and kitchenette, Bose AM/FM wave radio, washer/dryer, and both wireless and wired high-speed Internet access. The ocean view villas provide wonderful views of the Pacific Ocean from a private lanai which is attached to the living area.
2 Bedroom Island View
The two-bedroom, two-bath villas provides the ideal setting to rejuvenate your body and mind. Every comfort and convenience is provided to leave you completely relaxed in this tropical paradise. All villas are furnished with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Bath with a whirlpool tub, flat-screen TV, DVD, fully-equipped kitchen and kitchenette, Bose AM/FM wave radio, washer/dryer, and both wireless and wired high-speed Internet access. The island view villas provide wonderful views of the West Maui Mountains or the resort courtyard from a private lanai which is attached to the living area.
1 Bedroom Ocean View
A warm palette sets the perfect backdrop for a modern blend of style and luxury in this 1 bedroom villa suite. Enjoy contemporary interior decor, our signature Heavenly Bed, a washer/dryer, a full kitchen with granite countertops, a microwave, dishwasher, stovetop, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The stylish bathroom features granite counters, an oversize whirlpool tub, a glass-enclosed walk-in shower, and upscale spa products. Entertain yourself with a flat-screen HDTV, DVD player, high-speed internet, and a Bose stereo. Your private lanai will offer you breathtaking views of Maui and the Pacific Ocean.
1 Bedroom Island View
A warm palette sets the perfect backdrop for a modern blend of style and luxury in this 1 bedroom villa suite. Enjoy contemporary interior decor, our signature Heavenly Bed, a washer/dryer, a full kitchen with granite countertops, a microwave, dishwasher, stovetop, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The stylish bathroom features granite counters, an oversize whirlpool tub, a glass-enclosed walk-in shower, and upscale spa products. Entertain yourself with a flat-screen HDTV, DVD player, high-speed internet, and a Bose stereo. Your private lanai will offer you views of Maui's West Maui Mountains or the resort's courtyard.
Studio Ocean View
440 square foot room with ocean views, 1 king bed and one sofa bed, spacious kitchenette stocked with full size appliances and all necessary cooking utensils, serving and seating for four people. 27" flat screen television, washer and dryer, dual shower heads, bathrobes, spa bath toiletries and Egyptian cotton towels. Complimentary high-speed Internet access, complimentary premium channels, and laptop-compatible safe. Enjoy stunning views of the Pacific Ocean.
Studio Island View
Treat yourself to modern comfort while enjoying all of the amenities of home. This studio villa offers our signature Heavenly Bed, a washer/dryer, a kitchenette with granite countertops, a microwave, dishwasher, stovetop, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The stylish bathroom features granite counters, an oversize whirlpool tub, a glass-enclosed walk-in shower, and upscale spa products. Entertain yourself with a flat-screen HDTV, DVD player, high-speed internet, and a Bose stereo. Enjoy views of the West Maui Mountains or the resort courtyard.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Puukolii General Store
The Pu'ukoli'i General Store offers baked goods, deli sandwiches and salads. Freshly marinated meats and island fish are available for grilling or in-villa cooking. Homemade pizzas are a specialty and available to carry-out or for villa delivery. Hours of Operation: Deli: 6:30am-8:30pm Lamont's sundries: 6:30am-10:00pm In-Villa Dining Service: 7:00am-8:30pm
Kai Ala Market
Fresh food market and sundries located in North lobby. Renew your senses with a vast variety of local and traditional products in a modern setting, and inspire your day with a delightful experience. Hours of Operation: Monday - Thursday 6:30am-8:00pm & Friday - Sunday 6:30am - 9:00pm.
Ocean Pool Bar and Grill
This casual poolside restaurant offers a delightful retreat for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a full bar featuring tropical cocktails and drinks. Let our local musicians lure you into the island experience through song on select evenings. Hours of Operation: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Pailolo Bar and Grill
Pailolo Bar & Grill offers casual sports bar-style dining with scrumptious fare such and delicious burgers, sandwiches and salads. It is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy magnificent views of the neighbor islands and the Pacific Ocean as well as all of your favorite sports. Hours of Operation: 10:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Pulehu, an Italian grill
Italian cuisine with a modern flair. Sustainability and supporting local farmers is paramount when developing our menu. Here at Pulehu, an Italian Grill we continually strive to source as many local products as possible to support the local agriculture community as well as showcase the true essence and flavors of Hawaii. We invite you to come in and join us for a memorable evening of great food and fine wine. Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ClevelandJoe
Cleveland, OH
Feb 7, 2013

Just okay

Hotel was fine, it was clean and newer. We had a one bedroom suite and I thought the size was very good. The major fault I have with this hotel is how they market "ocean view room." We were on a second floor room and could barely see the ocean only if we were on the balcony and leaned out and peered through the palm trees. I also agree with others stating the hotel caters to the time share owners and whatever is left over goes to the hotel guests. My other big complaint is the large pool was being renovated while we were there. If I had known this before I would definitely not have booked. Why would a hotel remodel their best feature during the busiest month? While everything else was nice, between the indifferent staff and the construction, the place just left a bad taste in my mouth. I would not go back. There are too many nice places in Maui to stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wrong room
Wisconsin
Feb 22, 2013

First Time to Maui

We were so excited to arrive in Maui, as this was our first trip to Hawaii from Wisconsin. The flights there were long, but still our spirits were up. After traveling for 25 hours, we finally arrived at the hotel! Went through the check in process only to find that the Oceanview room that we paid for was not available and they we would have to stay in a garden view room. After much nagging and debating with the Manager on options we were finally presented with an acceptable room, However we feel like we lost an entire vacation day from this mess as we had to move our stuff into a room, wait for the next room to be available and then move again. Not the fun "Welcome to Hawaii" that we were expecting. The hotel said it was Obritz's fault, but noneless it shouldn't have happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hawaii Addict
Portland, OR, USA
May 22, 2013

Where's the lanai?

Who on earth rents an ocean view room that has no lanai? Isn't it a given that paying the extra for a view room would grant you a patio on which to enjoy it? Apparantly not at this place. Buyer beware: don't get a studio in the south building. Total ripoff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 5, 2011

[...]

I booked a stay at the Westin KORV over Christmas. It was a very disappointing experience. At first, I was bothered that the "Deluxe Ocean View Sunsational Villa" I booked [...] was near and faced the street and a vacant lot with a construction site. Indeed, it also had a view of the ocean, but I find the room category misleading at best, perhaps even fraudulent. (Why not call it "Ocean-Street-Construction Site"?) I was especially bothered because I went through the trouble to confirm with the hotel that the room would face toward the resort before I had made the reservation, especially after reading comments about the property elsewhere. I would have never booked a room in Hawaii with a view of a construction site. [...] I took the time to express my disappointment with a manager, who was very patronizing, telling me she could have resolved the problem by changing my room had I spoken with her earlier. When I checked in, I was told all rooms were booked and the hotel was at 100% capacity, so I found her response disingenuous.Anyway, I chalk up these problems to the fact that the hotel was hopelessly understaffed over Christmas. The public men's rooms were dirty swamps, both showers in the men's locker room were broken, and the pool was a cloudy mess and overrun by kids, even the "adult pool." Not enough chairs at the beach or pool for all guests. I'll also say that the hallways are full of trash day and night. It's unseemly. Westin KORV is by no means a resort. It's a condo. And during holiday week it felt more like an inner-city public pool. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hawaii Explorer
Thousand Oaks, California
Apr 21, 2014

Smells like Sewage!

Be aware that if you are staying in the north side of the complex expect to have some sewage odor come your way. Apparently this resort is right next door to a sewage open filed and the smell is inescapable. We had to change our room three times!!! Also their ocean view rooms are very deceptive. They gave us a room with a partial ocean view on the first floor that was mostly blocked by trees and they categorize that as ocean view so before you spend the extra bucks make sure you could actually see the ocean. Overall I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone else. On a positive note, the beach in front of the resort is great for swimming and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had dinner at Roy's and it was excellent. Definitely worthwhile....The beach on HWY 30 at mile marker 14 is also excellent for a day trip and picnic

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oceanview
Las Vegas, NV
May 29, 2011

What does "Oceanview" mean to you?

The first room they assigned to us what THEY call "Oceanview" was far from my definition of "Oceanview". What I could see from my room was a big parking lot packed with cars and trees. I could only see a bit of ocean between the trees only. Very dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bjjwl
Palo Alto, Ca
Feb 3, 2014

nice

very nice. We were not interested in a Time Share. Didn't realize this reservation included a time share option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Jul 27, 2009

Reservation - Westin Ka'anapali Villas

We reserved a room through Orbitz, based on the description of a "Deluxe Ocean View" Villa at a Westin - Maui (paid more to get this deluxe room). When we arrived we had a 7' wall as we opened our Lanai. Called Orbitz (in the Philippines) - they didn't care. Said that they went by room descriptions from the hotel. Hotel said they relied on Orbitz. What a mess! Orbitz chose not to help a customer, they chose to loose a customer. I am telling everyone I know not to use Orbitz. And guess what. . .I sell meetings and events for Fortune 500 clients. I work for one of the largest meeting and event companies in the world (thank goodness) and I have told so many people about the poor customer service from Orbitz. When I spoke to an Orbitz supervisor, she said she couldn't help us. . .we spent over $4500.00 with Orbitz! Enough said! Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Peru, Illinois
Mar 11, 2011

Ok Hotel

We were in Maui for a wedding that was held at the Ritz Carlton. The Westin Villas is next to a new construction site. We paid for an ocean view. Well we barely saw the ocean through a tree line. What we did see was construction and heard the construction instead of the ocean waves. We had my son stay at the Westin Resort & Spa 1 mile away. His was a much better view at a cheaper fare. Our hotel did not greet us with Aloha or with a lei. The other hotels we visited did and even put a shell lei on our neck. We will not book with a Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the hotel bus to get around. No need to rent a car. They all charge per night to park the car even if you are staying at that hotel. Also the rental cars have you pay extra insurance at $300. They tell ypu your car insurance does not cover the rental car if some accident occurs.

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twin's Mom
Cincinnati, Ohio
Nov 14, 2010

Quiet yet ridiculous expensives!

The hotel is gorgeous with fantastic views and amenities! Our room was very quiet and had everything we needed to be comfortable. We had a little kitchenette with a washer/dryer, so we didn't need to bring many clothes! I would recommend going to a grocery store and buying some food and drinks so that it doesn't get too expensive with buying from the hotel. The bed was "delicious" and we loved climbing into bed every evening! The pools and bars were great, but get ready to spend a lot of money with the hotel taxes and surcharges. The beach was mediocre with it being on a hill and we had to PAY for beach chairs!! Luckily the towels were free and we could have as many as we wanted to. There was one FANTASTIC restaurant that was in the hotel (Pulehu) and the food there was fantastic! I would go back just for that restaurant! THe guest services were fantastic and I loved how polite and accommodating everyone was for us! If Maui wasn't so far away from us, we would visit this hotel yearly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Whalers Village is a great outdoor shopping mall. Lots of local Hawaiian flare as well as national chains.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search