$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maloha Maui
mid-country
Jan 26, 2013

Exceptional hotel

This hotel, or rather, villa stay, had everything we could ask for and more. We didn't realize from the description provided that we would have not only a beautifully appointed room with sitting area, but also a full kitchen and washer/dryer! We only wish we had been able to extend our stay and fully enjoy this true resort. There is also a fabulous kids area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Trilogy excursion was wonderful experience to Lanai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ClevelandJoe
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 7, 2013

Just okay

Hotel was fine, it was clean and newer. We had a one bedroom suite and I thought the size was very good. The major fault I have with this hotel is how they market "ocean view room." We were on a second floor room and could barely see the ocean only if we were on the balcony and leaned out and peered through the palm trees. I also agree with others stating the hotel caters to the time share owners and whatever is left over goes to the hotel guests. My other big complaint is the large pool was being renovated while we were there. If I had known this before I would definitely not have booked. Why would a hotel remodel their best feature during the busiest month? While everything else was nice, between the indifferent staff and the construction, the place just left a bad taste in my mouth. I would not go back. There are too many nice places in Maui to stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RedGreen
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Feb 5, 2013

Scenic grounds!

This was such a lovely resort! Friendly staff and a relatively luxurious setting - our room was comfortable and had a kitchenette - we had a small balcony that you could stand on but not put a chair on which would be our only desire for next time. The valet parking was $12/day which we thought to be reasonable and it was always prompt. Although it is a giant resort it never felt overcrowded. There was a lovely beach walk linking several resorts in Kaanapali together. Great snorkelling right off the beach in front - we had an awesome stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If going in the whale watching season I would definitely recommend a whale watching tour- the Pacific Whale Foundation is a research non profit tour company that we went with and it was $30/ person and we saw lots of amazing whale action out on the water for 2 hours!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrzs
Business
Canada
Feb 3, 2013

Our stay at the Westin Villas

Overall we quite enjoyed this resort. The location was a a 20 minute walk from Whalers Village my favourite shopping area (next to Keiheh) and 10 minute walk to a smaller grocery store. The boardwalk that runs from the Villas to the Village is great and you can walk alone at almost any time of the day and feel secure. The beach is pristine and the waves were gentle for our 10 year old to learn snorkelling. We didn't see any green turtles but loads of fish. Lots of whale sightings in the ocean, and I mean lots! We were quite disappointed that the water slide was closed for most of our stay and re-opened on our last full day there. This was one of the considerations when we booked and had we known then (Oct), we might have chosen a different resort. This meant that all of the guests were forced to use the other main pool which meant chairs and space in the pool were at a premium however the pool was heated which was important with the wind and cooler temperatures we experienced. Michael, at the conceirge desk, provided wonderful assistance in planning our drive south for the day. The kitchenette was a big plus and we saved some money eating in. Great bed. Shuttle is wonderful #Tina one of the drivers was great) but at times they were at capacity and people had to stand. We had housekeeping every 2nd day which provided us with some breakfast buffet coupons but I feel this should be included in the price. For the reasons I mention, we would go back if we found a deal and got breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The shuttle schedule is great and gets you to most places you need to go. This saves you on parking and you may find you only need a rental car for part of the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy N Sedona
Business
Sedona, Az
Feb 2, 2013

Can't wait to return!

This was our 2nd experience a this facility and we couldn't be more pleased. We were fortunate enough to be accorded an upgrade in a room that couldn't be better if we had chosen it ourselves. A clean , well run operation which will undoubtedly become a regular destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Day trip to Lanai...spent a fun day (8hrs.) of whale watching, snorkeling and touring Lanai. Captain and crew prepared a light breakfast, lunch and barbcue dinner. Class operation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ali M
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 29, 2013

Great Overall Experience

The hotel is pleasant to walk into and stay in. The location is quite central and beaches around are very nice. We we also pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms come fully equipped with a small kitchenette, utensils and washer/dryer. Overall the place was a bit pricey, but would be a good option for someone who wants to utilize all the amenities that the property offers within the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoRocket
Business
Oakland, Ca
Jan 29, 2013

Great Vacation at the Westin Ka'anapali

As first time visitors to Maui, we were thrilled with our experience at the Westin. The amenities were clean and well maintained. We found it very kid friendly, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Body Surfing at the beach in front of the hotel at sunset! The water was warm and the photo ops amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boris G.
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 27, 2013

Beautiful!

Very nice hotel. Beautiful grounds. Very well equipped kitchen. Great rooms. Lush tropical gardens with lit torches at night. The beach is great for snorkeling or diving, but for plain swimming the beach is much better at the neighboring Sheraton (free shuttle)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doctor R
Business
Michigan
Jan 26, 2013

Maui Vacation

Excellent hotel to stay at. Right on the beach. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maloha Maui
Business
mid-country
Jan 26, 2013

Exceptional hotel

This hotel, or rather, villa stay, had everything we could ask for and more. We didn't realize from the description provided that we would have not only a beautifully appointed room with sitting area, but also a full kitchen and washer/dryer! We only wish we had been able to extend our stay and fully enjoy this true resort. There is also a fabulous kids area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Trilogy excursion was wonderful experience to Lanai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DJengdome Dex
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 25, 2013

Great hotel to stay in

The westin hotel was great to stay in. I would recommend staying here. Great beach and walkways to other hotels and to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are grocery stores nearby. Buy groceries and eat in at the hotel since the room has microwaves and a stove.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top