$359 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big lil
Business
Santa Monica, ca
Mar 31, 2013

Weston review

Great place, super accommodating, beautiful beach access and the rooms are great looking, beds are super comfy. Overall awesome. Only thing that was not so good, there were a lot of "hairs" on the bathroom floor when we first got there-also they charge each night for parking, lame! But otherwise we loved it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The la haina fish company has amazing food!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluekitti9
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 11, 2013

Nice Getaway

The hotel is nice. However, a lot of things are for a fee, and the place really pushes its SPG points and ownership program. Great location by the beach. Scuba diving was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina Grill nearby is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crossbones
Business
Worthington, OH, USA
Mar 8, 2013

Perfect piece of paradise

Overall experience was excellent. Upgraded to 1 bedroom unit. They discounted the price of a garden view 1 bdrm and gave us an ocean view because that's all they had. Great deal. They also let you decline maid service for a 24.95 breakfast voucher. The breakfast buffet is good, although a little overpriced. The beach in front of resort is excellent, with swimming to the left and snorkeling to the right. Very easy ocean entry. The 1 bdrm unit includes a HUGE bathroom with jacuzzi, double sinks and shower. Unit had full kitchen, dining area, living area w/ hide-a bed, w/ king bed in large bedroom. Unit was very clean, although we noticed a food odor upon entering. Staff tried to use freshener to no avail. Wasn't noticeable after a minute or two. Suspect it had to do with the owner's cooking habits. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Resort supplies unlimited beach towels. Only possible complaint was a queue at the front desk that took some time with only one desk clerk. Not a big deal - just slightly annoying. (hence 4 stars for staff, though they were, without exception, polite and helpful) Didn't try restaurant, except pool rest.for breakfast buffet. Restaurant is Italian, which is not our taste and seemed a little pricey, even for Hawaii. They use a manual push lawnmower to cut the grass, apparently so as not to disturb guests with noise of a power mower. Nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A great snorkeling site, Honolua Bay is north on Rt. 30 just past the 32 MM. There is a parking lot on the left just after you cross a narrow bridge. Additional parking short of the bridge. Although an on-line guide claims you need property owners permission, the trail to the beach was being used by general public with no apparent problem. Enter water at left - best snorkeling is on right side of Honolua Bay. If a good swimming/sunning beach is your thing, D. T. Fleming beach, about 1/2 mile south is great. Has huge parking lot, easy access, full facilities, including life guard.. If snorkeling charter to Molokini is in your plans, strongly reccomend Kai Kanani's Molokini Express. It's fairly cheap, includes a continental breakfast, has a great staff and you get to Molokini and the turtles before any other charters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii tvlr
Business
Seattle
Mar 6, 2013

Great Family Getaway

Staff were great and even upgraded my room to a one bedroom, when I told them that we were travelling with a 3-yr old. The location was great as we could do whale watching from our room. Service was awesome as the house-keeping would clean the room everyday. Parking is a bit of a problem, as there is no dedicated spot for each villa, and moreover there's a parking fee too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the hotel frontdesk for an upgrade, and you may end up being lucky.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michellio
Business
Tigard, OR
Mar 5, 2013

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

The Westin Ka'anapali Resort exceeded our expectation. We expected to be pressured to sit through the timeshare sales pitch, but after we politely declined, we weren't treated any differently. The heavenly bed was just that and was one of the reasons we booked at this resort. We thought the buffet breakfast at the poolside restaurant was pretty good, especially compared to other breakfast buffets at nearby hotel restaurants. I had a facial and massage at the spa. I was able to book it with less than 24 hour notice. Both were 4 1/2 star experiences. I especially liked the sauna. The only negative part was the weather - it was rainy (with flood warnings!) and windy (up to 50 mph that caused power outages in town). Next time, I'd go in March.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We spent a fun afternoon at the Barefoot Grill a short drive south of the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janna Island Momma
Business
Billings, MT
Mar 5, 2013

Nice Hotel For Families!!

We are a family of 5 so it is hard to find a place that will let you have 5 to a room, this place does and they have nice kids stuff!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Cheesburgers are at Cool Cat in Lahaina, definitely should give them a try!! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luvmauigal50
Business
Sparks, NV
Feb 28, 2013

awesome hotel

This is our second stay at this Westin in Kaanapali I love the location - right on the beach. There are plenty of pools and the landscaping is beautiful. The hotel staff is excellent. Check in was painless and a great concierge service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Maui. The room was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

there is plenty to do near the hotel - Lahaina is a short drive and Whaler's village as well. Dinner at Roy's is always good. Mama's Fish House in Paia is absolutely my favorite - awesome food and location is no ka oi!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luvmauigal50
Business
Sparks, NV
Feb 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel and location

This is our second visit to this hotel - home away from home. The location is perfectly situated on the beach and it was never overcrowded. Short drive to Whaler's Village, Lahaina, Napili. The staff was excellent in helping with reservations and were very courteous. The pools and beach areas were well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the promo to save on room cleaning service - free buffet coupon available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wrong room
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 22, 2013

First Time to Maui

We were so excited to arrive in Maui, as this was our first trip to Hawaii from Wisconsin. The flights there were long, but still our spirits were up. After traveling for 25 hours, we finally arrived at the hotel! Went through the check in process only to find that the Oceanview room that we paid for was not available and they we would have to stay in a garden view room. After much nagging and debating with the Manager on options we were finally presented with an acceptable room, However we feel like we lost an entire vacation day from this mess as we had to move our stuff into a room, wait for the next room to be available and then move again. Not the fun "Welcome to Hawaii" that we were expecting. The hotel said it was Obritz's fault, but noneless it shouldn't have happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kopps
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 21, 2013

Wonderful vacation destination

The Westin does an excellent job of making you feel welcome and relaxed! Beautiful resort and friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top