$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
briguy1annie
Business
detroit, mi
Mar 4, 2012

Great location

The beach is great. Be sure to go green--forgo room service for the day and get a voucher for a very filling breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed Family of 4
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Great location, but room cleanliness is unpredictable

Ka'anapali Beach is perfect! The villas at the Westin are unpredictable! We arrived late Wednesday night and were given a one bedroom ocean view villa that was filthy and smelled of sour milk, not to mention not much of a view behind the foliage in the garden. The floor was sticky, there were dirty handprints on the walls and there was sand and food crumbs in the pull out sofa. I had called a few days prior to our departure and requested a room on a upper floor, 3rd floor or higher. I was told that they would make a note of my request. When I inquired about a different room, I was told that they were completely sold out and could not change the room until the next day. So we slept in the filthy room and then spent the next day "homeless" while they prepared a different room for us which was still on the first floor with minimal ocean view. At least that room was clean! A full day was wasted. We had made the reservations 9 months prior! Why could they have not honored our request for a room on a higher floor?! I wonder if you don't book the room directly from them then you get a subpar room. Love the beach, but be weary of what villa you are given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jonip
Business
MN
Feb 24, 2012

Beautiful property

We were expecting a two king bed room suite and arrived to a two separate bedroom suite with stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, dishes, silverware, etc. Clean, comfortable beds and pillows, luxurious linens, sofa bed, table and chairs nice sized lanai overlooking the pool with ocean and mountain views. Concierge personnel were friendly aided in dining for a group of ten people. The pirate ship in the kids pool was a big hit with our 5 year old grandson. About the only complaint would be the main pool we found crowded and hard to find a spot to sit.. We stayed only two nights and did not get out to scope out the beach but it looked well groomed and were told there is good snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skap
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 9, 2012

fantastic !!!

we recently stayed at the westin kaanapali ocean resort villas , the stay was great , property is great! better then sister Sheraton . the beach is superb for snorkeling . now things which we did not like were the concierge services , pretty mismanaged i would say , the day we arrived we were never given much information about various offers and then on 3rd stay while we were inquiring about road to hana were given the complete welcome package . on other instances we called them to book for magic show and were told to wait for her call back and we were waiting and nothing happenned and on calling we got answer "nobody is answering " and right after this when we called reservation was made in less than 5 minutes. this did not end here when we went for magic show they had made 2 reservations and on furthering explaining they agreed to cancel one of the charges on credit card . the pool side restaurants are ok ! but the italian puleho grill is not worth spending money , will choose Hula Grill in whaler's village instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BerrySm28
Business
Michigan, USA
Feb 9, 2012

Best hotel on Kaanapali Beach- great staff!

Our stay at this hotel was very nice! This is probably the nicest hotel on Kaanapali Beach... we explored the other hotels and resorts, and this one was by far our favorite. The staff was beyond helpful and friendly, and they are located everywhere throughout the resort. There are not that many food options, but the ones that are available are delicious! They offer a shuttle that takes you to many other places as well, so that was very nice. We took the shuttle to dinner a few nights we were there. The room was pleasant. It wasn't huge, but well kept up and clean. We stayed in a studio villa... my ONLY complaint was that the balcony on the studio villas is extremely small... and you only have room to stand out there with your back against the outside door, no room to sit at all. This is something I wish I would have known because I would have loved to sit on the balcony in the morning, but this definitely did not ruin our stay! The villas with bedrooms do have a very large balcony... so next time we would just upgrade to those. You do pay a decent amount to stay here, but it is very nice. If you want to stay on Kaanapali Beach and have an extremely nice experience that is not overcrowded (in February at least), then I would recommend the Westin Villas. We loved it there and it would definitely be back if we stay on Kaanapali Beach again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for everything you want to do! Activity, dining, and entertainment reservations are highly recommended!! Things often are booked or sell out!

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee815
Business
Woodland, CA, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Maui Vacation

This was our third time staying here. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas2
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great time in Maui

Westin Ocean Resort & Villas is very nice. Pool and spa are great and its right on the beach. Snorkling and swimming is literally just a couple minutes walk from the room. Only drawback is that it is a short car ride away from most of the other resorts/Whaler Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
five seas
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Beautiful Place- Over Rated

The location of the Hotel was beautiful. I was disappointed in the room. I paid for a Ocean View, and received a view of Palm trees & pool. Paid for a King bed, got two doubles. The room was clean, but really used. The bed mattress was split on one end, the sheets didn't fit the bed. One bed had a twin comforter on it instead of a full size. I expected more from the Westin. The room could use some deep cleaning. Also I don't understand why you have to pay for beach chairs. That should be inclued in the hotel amenities, for the amount you pay to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sporter
Business
Concord, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great property, friendly and accommodating staff

We stayed at the The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas Jan 5 -16, 2012. We paid for a deluxe ocean view so our daughter could watch for whales from the balcony. After checking in, we noticed our view of the ocean was obstructed by trees. We called the front desk, and they immediately moved us to a room that was a little closer and had a better view of the water. We stayed on the North side in building 8. The property was fantastic! The landscape, pools, and buildings where all well maintained. The staff was constantly cleaning to keep the walkways and lobby looking great. The maid service was top notch as well. We really enjoyed the hotel staff. They were professional and courteous. Throughout our stay we made requests for extra hangers, robes, a roll-away bed and a scale. Each call was answer promptly and the items arrived within 5-10 minutes. Same was true with Valet and Bellhop requests. By the time we left, we were on first name basis with many of the staff members. We would definitively recommend this property for people wanting to stay in the Ka'anapali area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For whale watching, use Captain Steve's Rafting. We tried the large catamaran, but is was not as good. Captain Steve's Rafting takes only 18-20 passengers and their boats are quick, allowing them to get to the whales faster.

Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trvl43
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Great place to stay but.....

The staff, location, grounds and rooms are all deserving of five stars. The only issue we faced was that when we arrived at our room there was a dead cockroach in our bathroom. The staff were quick to properly clean our room and were very apologetic. Still, for how much you are paying to stay at this resort you shouldn't have this kind of issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pacifico restaurant hands down one of the best dining experiences.

Back to menu Return to top