$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
232 reviews
August 2014 WORV Stay

The Property is beautiful and well maintained. As it's just North of the major Kaanapali hotel area... See full review

  • Hawaii Veteran
  • Sep 10, 2014
First Family Vacation

This was an excellent first family vacation. With a 3 year old and a 9 month old we were slightly... See full review

  • California Lams
  • Sep 8, 2014
Westin Hotels & Resorts has operated upscale hotels since the 1930s. The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas in Maui is one of the most remote of almost 200 Westin destinations around the globe. Book a room or an entire villa; from island-view studios with whirlpool tubs and gorgeously scented spa products, to two-bedroom/villa ocean view accommodations with space for up to eight people, guests can enjoy an intimate break or take the whole family along. Kids can get into the swashbuckling spirit at the Pirate Ship Pool, and adults can enjoy spa treatments offered at the Helani Spa, while tennis courts plus the WestinWORKOUT center allow active guests to pick up a racquet or run on the treadmill.
Key facts
  • Business center
  • 2 on-site food markets
  • 3 pools
  • Spa Helani
  • Complimentary shuttle service
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis courts
  • Conference and event space
  • Kids club
  • Restaurants: Ocean Pool Bar and Grill, Pailolo Bar and Grill, Pulehu An Italian Grill
Neighborhood
Walk straight to one of Maui's most popular beaches from your villa for a late-evening luau, or climb aboard the Sugar Cane Train next door, a historic locomotive that meanders through the local landscapes, allowing guests to see what island travel used to be like. Explore Lahaina, just six miles to the south, to find retail therapy before hopping back on the train to the resort. Kahekili Beach Park is also just a short stroll away, and visitors can enjoy both scuba diving and snorkeling here, in unspoiled Hawaiian waters.
Hints and tips
While it's tempting to stick to the attractions that cater to tourists visiting Maui at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas, remember that there are also many free parks and trails ripe for exploration.

The hotel is right off of Honoapiilani Highway, so rent a car to circle the entirety of volcanic Puu Kukui Mountain and pick a good spot to ascend to the summit, if you're feeling adventurous.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9367 -156.6907
Area served
Lahaina, Maui Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport-OGG 30 Miles Kapalua Airport-JHM 2.7 Miles
Area description
Whalers Village and Museum - 1.0 mi/1.6 km, Ka'anapali Golf Courses - 1.0 mi/1.6 km,Kapalua Golf Courses - 4.0 mi/6.4 km Haleakala National Park - 61.0 mi/98.2 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two-bedroom, two-bath villas provides the ideal setting to rejuvenate your body and mind. Every comfort and convenience is provided to leave you completely relaxed in this tropical paradise. All villas are furnished with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Bath with a whirlpool tub, flat-screen TV, DVD, fully-equipped kitchen and kitchenette, Bose AM/FM wave radio, washer/dryer, and both wireless and wired high-speed Internet access. The ocean view villas provide wonderful views of the Pacific Ocean from a private lanai which is attached to the living area.
2 Bedroom Island View
The two-bedroom, two-bath villas provides the ideal setting to rejuvenate your body and mind. Every comfort and convenience is provided to leave you completely relaxed in this tropical paradise. All villas are furnished with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Bath with a whirlpool tub, flat-screen TV, DVD, fully-equipped kitchen and kitchenette, Bose AM/FM wave radio, washer/dryer, and both wireless and wired high-speed Internet access. The island view villas provide wonderful views of the West Maui Mountains or the resort courtyard from a private lanai which is attached to the living area.
1 Bedroom Ocean View
A warm palette sets the perfect backdrop for a modern blend of style and luxury in this 1 bedroom villa suite. Enjoy contemporary interior decor, our signature Heavenly Bed, a washer/dryer, a full kitchen with granite countertops, a microwave, dishwasher, stovetop, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The stylish bathroom features granite counters, an oversize whirlpool tub, a glass-enclosed walk-in shower, and upscale spa products. Entertain yourself with a flat-screen HDTV, DVD player, high-speed internet, and a Bose stereo. Your private lanai will offer you breathtaking views of Maui and the Pacific Ocean.
1 Bedroom Island View
A warm palette sets the perfect backdrop for a modern blend of style and luxury in this 1 bedroom villa suite. Enjoy contemporary interior decor, our signature Heavenly Bed, a washer/dryer, a full kitchen with granite countertops, a microwave, dishwasher, stovetop, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The stylish bathroom features granite counters, an oversize whirlpool tub, a glass-enclosed walk-in shower, and upscale spa products. Entertain yourself with a flat-screen HDTV, DVD player, high-speed internet, and a Bose stereo. Your private lanai will offer you views of Maui's West Maui Mountains or the resort's courtyard.
Studio Ocean View
440 square foot room with ocean views, 1 king bed and one sofa bed, spacious kitchenette stocked with full size appliances and all necessary cooking utensils, serving and seating for four people. 27" flat screen television, washer and dryer, dual shower heads, bathrobes, spa bath toiletries and Egyptian cotton towels. Complimentary high-speed Internet access, complimentary premium channels, and laptop-compatible safe. Enjoy stunning views of the Pacific Ocean.
Studio Island View
Treat yourself to modern comfort while enjoying all of the amenities of home. This studio villa offers our signature Heavenly Bed, a washer/dryer, a kitchenette with granite countertops, a microwave, dishwasher, stovetop, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The stylish bathroom features granite counters, an oversize whirlpool tub, a glass-enclosed walk-in shower, and upscale spa products. Entertain yourself with a flat-screen HDTV, DVD player, high-speed internet, and a Bose stereo. Enjoy views of the West Maui Mountains or the resort courtyard.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Puukolii General Store
The Pu'ukoli'i General Store offers baked goods, deli sandwiches and salads. Freshly marinated meats and island fish are available for grilling or in-villa cooking. Homemade pizzas are a specialty and available to carry-out or for villa delivery. Hours of Operation: Deli: 6:30am-8:30pm Lamont's sundries: 6:30am-10:00pm In-Villa Dining Service: 7:00am-8:30pm
Kai Ala Market
Fresh food market and sundries located in North lobby. Renew your senses with a vast variety of local and traditional products in a modern setting, and inspire your day with a delightful experience. Hours of Operation: Monday - Thursday 6:30am-8:00pm & Friday - Sunday 6:30am - 9:00pm.
Ocean Pool Bar and Grill
This casual poolside restaurant offers a delightful retreat for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a full bar featuring tropical cocktails and drinks. Let our local musicians lure you into the island experience through song on select evenings. Hours of Operation: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Pailolo Bar and Grill
Pailolo Bar & Grill offers casual sports bar-style dining with scrumptious fare such and delicious burgers, sandwiches and salads. It is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy magnificent views of the neighbor islands and the Pacific Ocean as well as all of your favorite sports. Hours of Operation: 10:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Pulehu, an Italian grill
Italian cuisine with a modern flair. Sustainability and supporting local farmers is paramount when developing our menu. Here at Pulehu, an Italian Grill we continually strive to source as many local products as possible to support the local agriculture community as well as showcase the true essence and flavors of Hawaii. We invite you to come in and join us for a memorable evening of great food and fine wine. Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LauraF
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Sep 14, 2014

Dirty Room and Pushy Time-Share sales

Upon arrival the valets greeted us warmly. Joyrama checked us in at the front desk; who was lovely and very informative. She advised us we had been provided a complimentary upgraded to a partial ocean view room. She also let us know about the 50% off the buffet breakfast deal if you pass on having your room serviced for a day. We thought this was a great program and selected to skip having our room serviced the first day. The first impression of our room was that it was a good size. The kitchenette was a little dated and the deck very small, could not fit a table or chair on it. The bed was great, as it was a Westin heavenly bed. The view from our room was picturesque over looking the pools and the ocean. When taking a shower the first morning we noticed hair and sand throughout the shower floor. We also found hair and nail clippings in the carpet of the room. I feel this is unacceptable for a Westin and very unhygienic. I also found the kitchenette had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. Most of the cooking items and china were dirty. I went to use a coffee cup and it had little chucks of food in it. The microwave was discussing. It looked liked the previous guest had exploded a bowl of chili in it. I left a note for housekeeping to please clean the microwave, which they did. But I did have to wash any dish before I used it throughout my stay, for sanitary/health reasons. When we went to use the Jacuzzi tub we also noticed more hair and sand in. At breakfast in the Ocean Pool Bar & Grill Restaurant the server was friendly and provided prompt service. The buffet was very disappointing as all hot items were cold (eggs benny, hashbrowns, scrambled eggs). We arrived when the restaurant first opened so there is no excuse for the buffet items to be cold. Within the first 24 hours we were asked about buying time-shares three times. The “concierge” staff aka sales people continued to push about attending a time-share meeting. When asking for assistance with a dinner reservation the concierge kept asking us why we were not interested in considering a time-share to the point that I almost left her desk. We were also left a voice mail by the concierge staff to come to an “orientation session”, better known as a time-share sales pitch. After all this we did not make eye contact with any concierge desk for fear we would be harassed even more. The grounds and pools were beautiful. Poolside service was very good and so was the poolside food. The main pool was always over crowded so we selected to go to the back pool. It was nice and quite until they started painting. Throughout our stay they were painting one of the buildings by the pool. You could hear the compressor running loudly for the painting guns and would we could smell the paint poolside. I would have hoped that that were would have been notification of painting on the website, so we could have been aware prior to purchasing out vacation package. We tried to express our discontent with our stay at check-out but the desk agent smiled and said “oh well…. we hope you come back and stay with us again.” We have stayed in other Westins throughout North America and loved our stays, but we will not be recommending this hotel. We are disappointed with our stay at the Westin Kaanapali and feel this property is not up to Westin standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat a Leilani's at the Beach. The seafood is great and the service was wonderful. We also enjoyed the beach front/ocean view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii Veteran
Business
New Jersey
Sep 10, 2014

August 2014 WORV Stay

The Property is beautiful and well maintained. As it's just North of the major Kaanapali hotel area its quiet witch is exactly whag we wanted. They have 2 Van routs that take you to the Whalers Village and downtown Lahainia. It's a very convienient hotel perk. There is NO resort fee andonly $10.00 to self park. We had a studio room garden view and we upgraded as we were SPG members. They Only thing to avoid are the timeshare presentations. They are not 100% No Pressure as they say they are. Some employees are rude and unprofessional if you decline ALL offers. And you will be offered many options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Trilogy trip to Lanai. It's an 8 hour trip. The crews are wonderful and they are extreamly friendly. We have taken several trips with Trilogy and will do so again when we return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Lams
Business
Camarillo, CA
Sep 8, 2014

First Family Vacation

This was an excellent first family vacation. With a 3 year old and a 9 month old we were slightly worried however those worries were soon gone. About a 30 min drive from OGG our first view was of a beautiful lobby filled with friendly staff. Our room was amazing with a microwave, washer and dryer, dishwasher and stove. Our view was spectacular with easy access to all the pools and fantastic restaurants. Hotel staff were so friendly throughout our trip with help and suggestions for excursions and local spots. The beach access was so close and the beach was beautiful and the clear waters with amazing fish meant an awesome view for an excited 3 year old just steps into the water. I cannot recommend this hotel with enough stars! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Star noodle! a great local noodle restaurant! very friendly towards kids, the staff was amazing and the price was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srid3232
Business
Fremont
Sep 3, 2014

Overall a good experience

We stayed here for 3 nights - 4 days. the hotel is very well managed and has staff is friendly. It is kids friendly. the only issue is every thing here is very expensive. need to pay for parking. restaurants are expensive. the positive thing about these villas is that each room has a fully loaded kitchen. so if you plan to cook then it is a good choice if not you will end up spending a fortune.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

beach is next door. we loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manoj
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2014

Great Location

Hotel is at a Great Location. Great View. Front Street (Main Street in Lahaina where there are lots on restaurants etc) is at driving distance. Overall great location and great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Man with No Name
Business
Sacramento, California
Jun 26, 2014

Wonderful Getaway - Honeymoon

Went to the West in for our honeymoon and loved every second. Location and resort were amazing. Food was good, but Lahaina just down the street was a lot of fun. Went golfing, snorkeling, and diving. Ka'anapali had a lot to do. Would go back again. Also... separate kids pool located away from main pool and beach (saw kids but never heard them... Nice).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The town of Lahaina is right down the street with a lot of fun shopping and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Jun 17, 2014

Best Place Ever

This hotel was so pretty and perfect you knew you were in paradise. The staff was awesome, the room was insanely awesome, the pools and the beach were amazing. It was super family friendly though so if you don't want to be in a place with a lot of kids, this might not be the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Travis
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA
May 8, 2014

Amazing location, facilities and amentities; food could be better

Overall, the Westin at Ka'anapali was great. The location is located on the beach with some of the best snorkeling at your doorstep. The facilities are new and well maintained. The room was great and the kitchenette and washer/dryer combo provides a great sense of freedom. The one negative is the restaurants (Ocean Front and Pailolo). The food was mediocre and overpriced. The servers were friendly, but were inexperienced and moderately uncomfortable. There are so many great restaurants just a short drive away, so we mostly ate off site or brought food in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling in front of the hotel is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ness554
Business
Aussie
Apr 29, 2014

Nice hotel , not for couples

This is a lovely hotel that is perfect for families . We were a couple looking for a romantic getaway , this isn't the place to do it. We paid for an Ocean view , the extra price wasn't worth it , we overlooked the pool that was quite noisy. If you have kids you'll love this hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hawaii Explorer
Business
Thousand Oaks, California
Apr 21, 2014

Smells like Sewage!

Be aware that if you are staying in the north side of the complex expect to have some sewage odor come your way. Apparently this resort is right next door to a sewage open filed and the smell is inescapable. We had to change our room three times!!! Also their ocean view rooms are very deceptive. They gave us a room with a partial ocean view on the first floor that was mostly blocked by trees and they categorize that as ocean view so before you spend the extra bucks make sure you could actually see the ocean. Overall I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone else. On a positive note, the beach in front of the resort is great for swimming and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had dinner at Roy's and it was excellent. Definitely worthwhile....The beach on HWY 30 at mile marker 14 is also excellent for a day trip and picnic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top