$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

The Kapalua Villas

4 stars
2000 Village Road, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
174 reviews
Best Place in Maui

This is an amazing place with amazing ocean views as well as beach access. See full review

  • Missing Maui 071214
  • Jul 26, 2014
Paradise Found!!!!

Kapulua Villas can be described in one word- Incredible. We have been going to Maui for several... See full review

  • Grammie Mickey
  • May 4, 2014
Owned by Outrigger Hotels and Resorts, Kapalua Villas are deluxe accommodations in Maui, and each condominium is fully furnished with a granite-countered kitchen, private veranda and laundry facilities. Select an ocean or mountain view in a one, two or three bedroom villa. Each complex has pools for the family to enjoy, and other outdoor activities are abundant. Along with golf, guests can play in the fabulous Kapalua Tennis Garden or zip-line down the mountain.
Key facts
  • 141 villas
  • 27 buildings
  • Spa
  • Fitness facility (for ages 16+)
  • Tennis area
  • Pool areas
  • High-speed cable and Internet (fees may apply)
  • Self-parking
  • Shuttle service
Neighborhood
The Kapalua Villas are hidden in one of Maui's largest nature reserves -the resort is located in the northwest part of the island, and is surrounded by 22,000 acres of rainforests and waterfalls. Golf lovers will revel at the close proximity to two world-class courses, while beaches are right at every doorstep. Days in paradise would not be complete without dining -Pineapple Grill serves fresh local ingredients, with dishes ranging from scallops to clams and ravioli. Shop for Tahitian pearls at La Perle or pick up souvenirs at one of the other stores nearby.
Hints and tips
Staying at The Kapalua Villas places visitors among the endless bounty of Hawaii's natural settings.

Upgrade to the "Gold" villas, which offer fully updated kitchens and bathrooms -their proximity to the water lulls guests to sleep with the sound of ocean waves.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0031 -156.6562
Area served
Kapalua Maui, HI
Nearby airports
Kapalua West Maui-JHM-5 miles Kahalui-OGG-30 miles
Area description
Located on the Northwestern shoulder of the Hawaiian island of Maui, Kapalua is only minutes from the historic whaling port of Lahaina. Hawaiian in spirit and setting, it offers so much richness, so much beauty, that people awaken to new potentials. Kapalua can be a life-changing experience. There is no place quite like it on Earth today.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Kapalua Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Kapalua Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Fairway View
Located primarily in the Golf Villa complex, with a select few in the Ridge complex, these one-bedroom villas offer magnificent fairway views of The Bay Golf Course with the neighboring island of Molokai in the distance. Guests in the Golf Villa complex have their choice of four recreational areas to choose from with swimming pools and barbeques in a garden setting. Spacious in size, these villas offer private lanais, complete kitchens, washer/dryer, and televisions with VCR, hairdryers, two telephones and ceiling fans. Villas in the Golf Villa complex all feature central air conditioning.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Guests have access to three recreational/pool areas in The Bay Villas, two in The Ridge Villas, and four in The Golf Villas. These one-bedroom villas in low-rise buildings are designed for low density and optimum privacy. Ranging in size from 1,200 to 2,400 square feet, the villas all feature private lanais, complete kitchens, washer/dryer, and televisions with VCR, two telephones, hairdryers and ceiling fans. A limited number also feature central or in-wall air conditioning, and all have sweeping views of the beautiful Pacific Ocean and the neighboring island of Molokai.
One Bedroom Ocean Front
Located in The Bay Villas complex, on a bluff overlooking Oneloa Bay, The Bay Villas recreational facilities include three swimming pools with barbeque areas and two private tennis courts. The one bedroom Ocean Front Villas range in size from 1,200 to 2,400 square feet and come fully furnished with complete kitchens, washer/dryer, televisions/VCR, hairdryers, two telephones, ceiling fans and private lanais. Some have central air conditioning. These villas are also a short walk to Kapalua Bay Beach and offer stunning views of the blue Pacific Ocean and the neighboring island of Molokai.
Two Bedroom Fairway View
Located primarily in the Golf Villa complex, with a select few in the Ridge complex, these two bedroom villas offer magnificent fairway views of The Bay Golf Course with the neighboring island of Molokai in the distance. Guests in the Golf Villa complex have their choice of four recreational areas to choose from with swimming pools and barbeques in a garden setting. Spacious in size, these villas offer private lanais, complete kitchens, washer/dryer, and televisions with VCR, hairdryers, two telephones and ceiling fans. Villas in the Golf Villa complex all feature central air conditioning.
One Bedroom Gold Ocean front
One queen bed and one queen sofa bed. Egyptian-cotton linens. Balcony with unobstructed oceanfront view. 1,200-1,500 square feet. Travertine or porcelain floors. Granite countertops. Flat-screen TV. DVD player. Daily newspaper delivery. Housekeeping. Air conditioning. Nonsmoking only. Located in the Bay Villa complex
One Bedroom Gold Ocean view
One queen bed and one queen sofa bed. Egyptian-cotton linens. Balcony. Panoramic oceanfront view. 1,200-1,500 square feet. Travertine or porcelain floors. Granite countertops. Flat-screen TV. DVD player. Daily newspaper delivery. Housekeeping. Air conditioning. Nonsmoking only. Located in the Bay or Ridge Villa complexes
Two Bedroom Ocean View
Guests have access to three recreational/pool areas in The Bay Villas, two in The Ridge Villas, and four in The Golf Villas. These two bedroom villas in low-rise buildings are designed for low density and optimum privacy. Ranging in size from 1,200 to 2,400 square feet, the villas all feature private lanais, complete kitchens, washer/dryer, and televisions with VCR, two telephones, hairdryers and ceiling fans. A limited number also feature central or in-wall air conditioning, and all have sweeping views of the beautiful Pacific Ocean and the neighboring island of Molokai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Cafe Kapalua
A fun and relaxed atmosphere offering a casual menu, featuring the best local products Hawaii has to offer, including those from our very own 150 acre certified organic Kapalua Farms. Enjoy specialty breakfasts made with Kapalua Farms' all-natural eggs, house made soups, fresh salads, wraps and sandwiches, delectible desserts and an impressive selection of micro-brewed beers and boutique wines from around the world.
Honolua Store & Deli
A local favorite for 80 years famous for its "No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problem" policy. Serving deli style breakfast along with its own special blend of coffee from the full-service espresso bar, lunch which includes the local plate lunch and a variety of made to order sandwiches, wraps, pizzas and fresh salads. Take out dinner service features daily entree specials. All this with ocean views from outdoor seating on the lanai.
Merriman's Kapalua
This open air, ocean front restaurant boasts 280 degree ocean and island views and is the best place to catch sunset on Maui. Fresh and local are two words that easily describe Chef Peter Merriman's Hawai'i Regional Cuisine. The connection from the farm to the table is so short that fresh, natural flavors become the star of each dish. Located on Kapalua Bay, Merriman's features house-made ice creams, breads and pastries baked on premise and an eclectic wine list from around the world with over 25 wines by the glass.
The Planataion House
With expansive views overlooking the award winning Plantation Golf Course and the sparkling blue Pacific, The Plantation House offers exeptional Mediterranean-Hawaiian cuisine by Chef Alex Stanislaw. This popular restaurant features five styles of Eggs Benedict which can be ordered anytime from morning to afternoon and innovative dishes for lunch and dinner in a pictureesque setting.
Pineapple Grill
Located on The Bay Course, this island favorite features delightful Pacific Rim cuisine by rising star Chef Ryan Luckey. Nearly every ingredient he works with comes fresh from a high-quality, local source. The lounge and outdoor patio offer daily happy hour discounts, nightly specials and live entertainment on Friday and Saturday.
The Beach House
Located at D.T. Fleming Beach with open air, ocean front dining for lunch with great sandwiches, pupus (appetizers), and salads.
The Banyan Tree
Located at the Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel a fine dining restaurant offering world cuisine inspired by local and seasonal ingredients. Dinner Tuesday - Saturday.
Kai Sushi
Located at the Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel offering more than 20 varieties of sushi, sashimi & innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Terrace
Located at the Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel a family oriented dining experience featuring a breakfast buffet with island flavors. Open for breakfast and dinner.
Pool Bar & Cafe
Located at the Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel is their pool side dining with ocean views. Guests of The Kapalua Villas have access to the pool and charging ability.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Kapalua Villas caters to small leisure groups such as family reunions, weddings, and incentive groups. There is one board room style meeting room available for group use.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for The Kapalua Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
vancouver,bc
Apr 22, 2009

Could have been better

the orignal unit we were given was not baby friendly(tiled floors,no bath) when we specifically requested that option. We were moved to a ridge view as opposed to a bayview which we reserved. The new location was in the middle of street construction 730am every morning!!!! The power went out one night and they had NO CONTINGENCY PLAN. We have an 11 month old and finally an hour later they showed up with a flashlight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach on the south side of the new Ritz residences was very calm for children and a great spot to snorkel

Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aloha Ken
Newport Beach, CA
May 23, 2010

Nice on golf course and among the trees

Nice but remote from beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pineapple Grill best place to dine

Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aloha Ken
Newport Beach, CA
May 23, 2010

Nice on golf course and among the trees

Nice but remote from beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pineapple Grill best place to dine

Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
vancouver,bc
Apr 22, 2009

Could have been better

the orignal unit we were given was not baby friendly(tiled floors,no bath) when we specifically requested that option. We were moved to a ridge view as opposed to a bayview which we reserved. The new location was in the middle of street construction 730am every morning!!!! The power went out one night and they had NO CONTINGENCY PLAN. We have an 11 month old and finally an hour later they showed up with a flashlight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach on the south side of the new Ritz residences was very calm for children and a great spot to snorkel

Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hot in Kalakau
CA
Jul 6, 2010

No AC in Golf Villa

Good location in Kalakau. Stayed in Golf villas on the green. Very unhappy with AC which didn't work. After maintenance came out 3 days in a row, told front desk we wanted the AC to be working when we came back that afternoon. When we came back, the villa was cool, but the thermostat must have been broken, because the AC never went off. Woke up to 63 degree villa in morning. When we checked out, the front desk said the AC wasn't on because we had left the windows open and the window sensor shut off the AC. We didn't open the windows, so not happy with this explanation. Also, the wireless connection didn't work, so we were told to run a wire across the living room. Very dissatisfied. Don't stay in Golf Villa 12 V2. Run down, bathroom tile has paint marks, cockroaches in bedrooms. Overall, not up to expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei seafood/sushi - make reservations for 5:30 pm opening and get there early. 25% off on all orders placed before 6 pm.

Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hot in Kalakau
CA
Jul 6, 2010

No AC in Golf Villa

Good location in Kalakau. Stayed in Golf villas on the green. Very unhappy with AC which didn't work. After maintenance came out 3 days in a row, told front desk we wanted the AC to be working when we came back that afternoon. When we came back, the villa was cool, but the thermostat must have been broken, because the AC never went off. Woke up to 63 degree villa in morning. When we checked out, the front desk said the AC wasn't on because we had left the windows open and the window sensor shut off the AC. We didn't open the windows, so not happy with this explanation. Also, the wireless connection didn't work, so we were told to run a wire across the living room. Very dissatisfied. Don't stay in Golf Villa 12 V2. Run down, bathroom tile has paint marks, cockroaches in bedrooms. Overall, not up to expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei seafood/sushi - make reservations for 5:30 pm opening and get there early. 25% off on all orders placed before 6 pm.

Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfinmp24
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 19, 2010

Honeymoon Gold Villa

Great location and beautiful condo, however the noise level from the upper level condo every morning at 5AM are stay unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ash8809
Boulder COlorado
Dec 2, 2010

Mediocre Service, Beautiful Location

The location is astounding. The grounds and facilities are impressive. The service was consistently mediocre. - They lost our reservation and did little to amend the mistake (it was midnight and they were apathetic about our situation). - First night - found someone's belt tucked into the sheets of our bed. - They did allow us to switch rooms because there were small children above us waking us at 6am (given the remainder of our situation this was surprising). - The second room had hair in the bed. Gross! - The next morning my husband and I were eating breakfast in our condo. The chair my husband was sitting in crashed and he fell on the floor. He hurt his elbow. I called the front desk, they were completely apathetic. They said someone would come get the chair. No one came and finally we asked housekeeping to remove it. - After a week (of a two week vacation) we were out of shampoo (they weren't leaving them daily). We called the front desk and they promised to deliver. They never did. We found ourselves hunting down the housekeeping van. - Same thing happened a few days later when we needed body lotion. - I went in to complain to a manager and the front desk lied and told me no one was there until the following Monday (it was Friday at the time). They took my number and assured me someone would call over the weekend. No one ever called. - I went in to the main office again. They were reluctant to get me a manager but I insisted. He explained that there is always a manager on duty and that he never got my message; obviously there is a big problem with front desk staff. The manager, Anthony, was receptive but did nothing to change my opinion of the experience. Each of these, alone, (to me) are forgivable/understandable - together they are appalling. Even the lunch lady in the main take out restaurant was so rude that the man behind me said something to her about her attitude. She was friendly thereafter. I did, however, spend a lot of time in the spa. I really enjoyed the friendly and accommodating staff there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
denver
Aug 2, 2011

not as nice as it was a few months ago

We were lucky enough to stay here twice in the last 6mos. After an outstanding experience in March, we decided to stay here again in July. Unfortunately, several services have been downgraded. First, one of the wonderful unique points of this facility was that with a "gold Villa" the unit would get maid service and nightly turndown service daily. This set these units apart from the other villas on the island and is no longer offered. Housekeeping does come by to change towels and take the trash daily, but we had to call repeatedly for new soap, detergent, etc which on prior visits were replenished automatically. Sounds picky, but took away from the previous special feel of pampering. Secondly, the Honolua store has been bought by the large ABC store chain. While still a nice option for affordable breakfast and lunch, the big box mentality focusing on the bottom line has started to permeate (fresh fish sandwiches taken off menu because it was too expensive for them to buy (could have passed cost along instead of removing my favorite sandwich option?!). The views were still fantastic and the grounds well-taken care of. Kapalua is wonderful if you want to get away from the crowds and we are missing the peaceful walkable beaches already!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Safeway in Lahaina or Napili Market (just a mile away)are good places for groceries

Review of The Kapalua Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Fe
Mar 14, 2011

Nice facility, poor service

This is a beautiful facilty and well priced. Unfortunately our visit started very poorly. After missing our connecting flight to Maui and arriving seven hours later than expected with two small exhausted children, we found the couch in the one bedroom condo to not have a fold-out bed. We called the front desk who told us there was nothing they could do that night except send roll away beds. A man arrived an hour later, not with beds, but just to check and make sure we were able to differentiate between a couch and a fold-out bed. He then came back 45 minutes later with 2 beds which filled the entire living room. The following day we were told they could not move us to a different condo during the course of our 10 day trip. They offered "futons" which amounted to 2 inch thick camping mats which were not acceptable. We called and asked to speak to the manager on several occasions and not once received a call back. We physically went to the front desk the third day and were told the manager had nothing to offer and would not even come out to speak with us in person. We just let it go and didn't use the living room. This is our fourth trip to Kapalua in the last 13 months and our first and likely last at the Villas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

David Paul's restaraunt in Lahaina is consistently excellent.

Back to menu Return to top