$294 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Napili Kai Beach Resort

3 stars
5900 Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, HI 96761
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
65 reviews
Napili Kai Visit #5

We first stayed at the Napili Kai on our honeymoon in 1974, and this was our 5th visit there.... See full review

  • Thomas and Mary
  • Oct 30, 2013
Wonderful Stay

We only stayed two nights here before heading to our time share, and it was wonderful! Best beach,... See full review

  • MartyS
  • Oct 6, 2013
Beachfront bliss on Napili Bay with excellent extras and no resort fee
The low-rise Napili Kai Beach Resort offers guests 10 acres of beachfront bliss on Napili Bay, one of west Maui's most exclusive and magnificent areas. With rooms ranging from hotel-style to two-bedroom, two-bath suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes. The resort offers plentiful amenities and extras including four swimming pools, day spa, free parking, free on-site activities and events, plus free in-room high-speed Internet, all without a resort fee.
Highlights
  • Free parking, plentiful amenities, free activities and free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • Swimming pools and day spa
  • Kitchenette suites available
Location
One of the most coveted beaches on Maui, Napili Bay is picture perfect. Tranquil, turquoise water and a curving golden sand beach open to views of the island of Molokai and whales in winter. The Napili Kai Beach Resort situates guests in a prime spot on this idyllic bay, offering easy access to shopping and dining in west Maui's coastal communities.
Rooms
The Napili Kai Beach Resort offers 163 Island-décor hotel rooms and condo units ranging up to two-bedroom, two-bath suites and three-room connected suites. Guests in every type of accommodation enjoy free high-speed Internet access, cable/satellite TV, DVD player, private patio and daily housekeeping service.
Dining
Guests in kitchenette units save by dining in. The Napili Kai Beach Resort also offers beachfront dining at the award-winning Sea House Restaurant. At the nearby Kapalua Resort, one of Hawaii's best restaurants, Sansei, is well worth a visit. The Banyan Tree was voted Best Restaurant on Maui by readers of Maui No Ka Oi magazine.
Recreation
  • Four swimming pools and a Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Day spa
  • 18-hole putting greens, shuffleboard, bocce and croquet
  • Barbecue areas
  • Tennis (nearby)
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Kahului Airport (32 mi/51.4 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (9.2 mi/14.9 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (23.8 mi/38.4 km)
Policies and Fees
The Lahanai pool will be closed from 25 Aug until 31 Oct. All other pools will be available during this period

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Napili Kai Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Napili Kai Beach Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
The One Bedroom Suite Ocean Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Hotel Room Garden View
The Hotel room garden view offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Full Laundry Rooms, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Mini Refrigerator, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voicemail.
Studio Garden View
The Studio Garden View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Hotel Room Ocean View
The Hotel Room Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Full Laundry Rooms, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Mini Refrigerator, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voicemail.
Studio Ocean View
The Studio Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
1 Bedroom Ocean View
The One Bedroom Suite Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Beach Front
The Studio Beach Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Ocean Front
The Studio Ocean Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Private Dining - Na Hoku Dinner
Na Hoku Dinner Experience a truly elegant, intimate and romantic dinner for two under the stars on Napili Bay, steps from the surf and sand. Pamper your palate with sophisticated island cuisine prepared by the Sea House Chef. The dinner includes a private location, personal waitperson, four-course dinner, wine paired with each course, tax and gratuity. The No Hoku (under the stars). Dinner starts at $209 per person. Contact catering at 808-669-9559.
In-Room Dining
If you'd like to dine or entertain in your room you can pre-order items from our Party To Go Menu. There are even items prepared for your grilling pleasure.
Sea House Restaurant
The Sea House Restaurant is a beachfront open-air restaurant and bar, and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day off with a morning stroll on the beach then breakfast at the Sea House Restaurant. Dining in Maui is always a treat with the flavors of exotic Pacific Rim cuisine. The Sea House Restaurant offers dishes to tempt your senses for lunch and dinner. Enjoy early bird special three-course menu (place order by 6:00 pm). After dinner, take a moonlight walk on the beach, and have a nightcap at the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Napili Kai Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rrehling[@]
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 16, 2010

Peaceful Perfect

The views of the turquois blue water and surrounding resort property from our room and room's balcony were fantastic.We picked up a few mangoes that had dropped from the HUGE mango tree while we walked to the restaurant.The waiter brought us plates to help us enjoy them! I really felt like I was at home in paradise. I had promised my wife 15 years ago that if we ever got enough money together, we would go to Hawaii. Long story short...that happened. I was told that Maui was the most beautiful of all the islands so that decision was made. I only had one chance to get this right and I hit the target "spot on" [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea House restaurant's food is 5 stars but for the best values, don't order ORDINARY dishes.You're in paradise! Eat like it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, Ca
Aug 5, 2010

Great for young and old.

Staff was more than accomodating and went the extra mile. I saw how the rooms were cleaned and they do an AAAA job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mama's Fish House on the road to Hana was beautiful and the food was excellent. It was just over-priced. Restaurants in and near hotel vary to fit all budgets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joesgirl214
Business
Jacksonville, TX
Aug 3, 2010

Wonderful, MUST SEE!!

This was the first time we have been to hawaii, and this was the place to go, great location, beach was private. You must see to believe!! the hotel is local owned, very friendly and you gert first class service. We will be coming back here. Very close to Linai to do all your shopping on front street, Restaurant was fabulous. The room was very nice with ocean veiw. Lots of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

you don't have to rent a car, they have very cheap taxi service if you want to go out to entertainment and drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 24, 2010

Couldn't have been nicer...was perfect!

Was just what we wanted. Away from highly commerical areas but still convienent. A gem property. Very beautiful bay. Great sunsets. Very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Merriman's next door. Great food and fantastic sunset!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NoCO Couple
Business
Northern Colorado
Jul 18, 2010

Do we really have to share this secret?

We stayed at the Napili Kai because the older, low-key style really appeals to us. We were not disappointed! It's a quiet, friendly, and very comfortable hotel in a great location for sunbathing, snorkeling, and spending time on Maui's northeastern shores. We didn't get into the pools, but there were four, and they all seemed to have their own "personalities" with the one by the beach being the most active/kid-friendly and the one farthest from the beach being pretty deserted. We peeked into the exercise room, and it seemed pretty adequate, but since we were snorkeling and swimming in the ocean every day and going on lots of walks and bike rides, we didn't use the facility. Everything and everywhere at the Napili Kai = clean, clean, clean! The staff obviously takes great pride in making sure the hotel and grounds are beautiful and well-kept. We will definitely be back! ***Note: We did not have air-conditioning in our 2nd floor room, but with the cool ocean breeze flowing through our screen-door and jalousy-windowed entryway, we never felt a need for it! We were told that *most* of the rooms have A/C, so if you require this, you will want to specify that when you make your reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the SeaSide and The Gazebo (a couple of resorts to the south) restaurants were great, especially if your room has a refrigerator/microwave so you can warm leftovers. Prices really weren't out-of-line with other resort restaurants on the island, and the quality and service were always great! **The SeaSide has a fantastic Happy Hour menu everyday from 2:00-5:00 and you can definitely have a great dinner of their pupus! If you get a room with a full kitchenette (which we had), you might want to prepare and eat many of your meals in your room or on your lanai/patio. There are also gas and charcoal barbecues around the grounds that guests may use. We noticed they were cleaned/maintained every day, and both large families or groups and couples used them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ter-Ter
Business
Casper WY
Jul 12, 2010

Nice and quiet place to relax

The hotel was great and so was the location except when we wanted to do something . . . all excursions or activities (helicopter ride, snorkeling to molokini and turtle arches, etc) were 20-30 minutes away. We did have a leaking fridge problem but it was taken care of when reported. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed the restaurant and the beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This is a great getaway if you want to simply relax and not see what the island has to offer. All of our excursions were based out of Lahaina, Weilai, etc., so we did spend a lot of time on the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 7, 2010

Can't Wait to Return!

This wonderful hotel is 50 years old and everything worked to perfection. It is on its own lovely Napili Bay, which we loved as we are avid snorkelers. At the north end of the property is another public lovely snorkeling bay, Kapalua Bay. A family of big turtles lives at one end of Napili Bay and we saw colorful fish a few steps from our oceanview studio. The kitchen was fully stocked with coffee filters, salt and pepper, sugar and creamers, sharp knives and a chopping board, dishwashing liquid and a new sponge and towels, plus a dish drying rack. We found a Times supermarket nearby. There were more than enough shiny wooden hangers for us both, plus an ironing board and iron, blow dryer, and even an umbrella, plus a programmable safe in the closet. We loved watching the sun rise, sipping our coffee fetched from the lobby downstairs, while visiting on our lanai. I loved walking from our car through a lush green setting to our room. It was a super, super weekend, and I would stay at Napili Kai Beach Resort again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Resort's Sea House Restaurant, is right on the bay - a perfect setting to watch the sunset at the ocean's side. We thought it would be pricey. (We did have one dinner from Subway and found two McDonald's) However, the portions of food are so huge (and delicious), we split a bacon Swiss cheeseburger with fries, and were both full.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alpha and Omega
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Jun 2, 2010

Amazing

This resort spreads over acres. The units are very quiet and roomy. The beach is absolutely beautiful and the hotel allows you to bring beach chairs out by the water. Everyone was very helpful to make sure we had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several nice restaurants a little drive out. Limited dining in immediate area. Find a Times grocery store for deli meals etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thegirlruler
Business
Portland, OR
May 26, 2010

Napili Kai Beach Resort

We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon and loved it. The location is beautiful and the staff were unfailingly friendly. They have beach towels, chairs , and snorkel gear and coolers for free use during your stay. We stayed in a studio in the Aloha building, which is the main building. Our lanai had a great view of the ocean and we could hear the waves from our bed. We really liked that the resort isn't a high rise-it felt small and friendly. The beach here is also great. The only critiques I have are very minor-the bedspreads could use some updating and the restaurant wasn't outstanding for dinner-although it was great for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley
May 3, 2010

Loved it!

We loved Napili Kai. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was fine. Everything was well-maintained. If planning to do the road to Hana, it is very far north of where it starts. We decided not to do it as it would have been 150 miles round trip. We were too relaxed to do that much driving. Fine dining in the area and the whale watching was great even at this late date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go for the seven nights with two nights free. We stayed 5 nights and wished we had stayed longer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top