$283 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Napili Kai Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 5900 Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Napili Kai Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Webfoot in Paradise
Business
Independence, OR
May 18, 2011

Four thumbs up!

Wow! We just spent 7 days at Napili Kai and there is zero doubt that we will be back! We stayed on the 2nd floor of the Lani 2 block, which had an awesome view of the bay. Frankly, some of the more expensive "beach front" units had a worse view due to the fact they were at ground level and some were obstructed with hedges. The staff were always friendly and went out of their way to be helpful -- not a sour apple among the bunch. The bay offered excellent snorkeling and happy hour at the restaurant on the beach provided delicious pupus (appetizers) and drinks. Some units have A/C, some don't. Ours did not, but the room was well-designed for flow-thru ventilation and had ceiling fans, so we were adequately comfortable (there was an almost constant breeze while we were there). The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, and there are various sponsored activities (including family oriented) every day. This is a must-do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most rooms have kitchens and the small Napili Plaza shopping center nearby can provide basic necessities and food. Snorkel Bob's just down the street for gear rentals and boat reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Oh
May 13, 2011

Beachfront Beauty

Beautifully landscaped small resort, right on the beach. This place has everything you could want on a vacation, without the hassle of a huge resort. Pools, activities, hot-tub, snorkeling, and an awesome restaurant. Staff is extremely friendly and provide plenty of activities to meet and socialize with other guests. This is a relaxing space with clear calm waters. Highly recommended. When we go back to Maui, this is where we will go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Arrange to rent a car if you're staying for just a week and flying in from the main airport. A cab ride or a shuttle will cost you as much as a rental car, and you'll have the freedom to tour the island at you own pace if you wish. There's a grocery store a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Niscr
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Memorable!!

If they don't have it or can't arrange it for you, you don't need it. A lovely destination, meticulous attention to details with grounds, condition of pools, and room service. Food at restaurant and cantina was great. Five bravos! Comfortable room. COURTEOUS AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF AND CONCIERGE. We look forward to another stay! Beach was great for families, even on breezy days presenting surfing opportunities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Very helpful concierge services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farley's mom
Business
Santa Cruz,CA
Apr 12, 2011

Best of Hawaii

Wonderful...as always. It was my 5th stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 7, 2011

Beautiful Traditional Maui Hotel

What we loved about the Napili Kai was the warm, traditional feel versus the sterile high-rise condos. The units are only two stories. We were on a ground floor with a beautiful ocean view. No air conditioning and none needed because of the natural breeze that flowed through our room. Mature landscaping and grounds were fabulous. I took a quick visit to one of the newer Kaanapali resorts which have a more artificial "Disney" feel, i.e., artificial rocks around the pools, high-rise feel and dense. Although the Napili Kai is older and a little rough around the edges in places, our room appeared to have been updated at some point with granite kitchen/bath counter tops and fixtures. Nice traditional architecture with real lava rock veneer on the buildings, thatch-like roof design. Our seven year old daughter absoulutely loved the beach at Napili Bay. The surf can change between calm and higher waves so you need to keep an eye on the little ones. No toys available so buy boogie boards and noodles at WalMart on your way from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coffee Store at the nearby Napili market makes awesome lattes. We are sort of Starbucks snobs and The Coffee Store was at least comparible. Lots of locals are obviously regulars here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kama-aina
Business
San Francisco
Apr 5, 2011

sweet/suite getaway

Really enjoyed this place. It didn't feel like a cookie-cutter high-rise. Service was nice, restaurant was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n/a
Apr 4, 2011

Nice resort, outdated rooms

Long drive from activities. Kid friendly resort. Rooms were extremely outdated. Nice restaurant on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Valley, CA
Apr 2, 2011

Fantastic-combines relaxing & very nice!

Napili Kai is a unique relaxing oceanfront experience with all the amenities one could ask for: great sandy bay; good snorkeling; wonderful beachfront restaurant;other nearby restaurants on bay; best massages on Maui at the resort; swimming pools; putting greens for adults and separate one for kids too; tennis nearby; free Mai Tai party once a week; free putting party once a week also; loan of snorkeling gear; towels, chairs and lounges provided for pools and beach; snack bar near big pool and beach; outdoor bar for snacks, drinks and whale watching; free wi-fi in room or suite; free coffee and tea in lobby in a.m. and mid-afternoon; daily demonstrations of Hawaiian arts and crafts with juice and coffee next to beach; air-conditioned exercise room with TV; laundry rooms throughout property with laundry cleaning products provided free of charge. You will fall in love with Napili Kai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Seahouse Restaurant is the only restaurant on Maui located directly on the sandy beach. Besides the wonderful view and sound of the waves, the food is very, very good. This restaurant is really Maui's best-kept secret.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelbears
Business
Maui
Mar 28, 2011

fantastic but family centric

This place was fantastic - not a high rise, two floor units with great views of your own beach that face west for great sunsets. The beach was one of the best we saw in all of Maui and had great snorkeling (not too busy). As a younger couple the only draw back was that it was very family centric (not a necessarily a bad thing). Lots of young kids around doing what kids do best - running around and being loud. It was also very nice of the people above us giving us 7 am wake up calls by bring their screaming newborn onto their patio so early. Overall 8.5/10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem, OR
Mar 15, 2011

The only place I'll stay on Maui!!

This is the only place I'll recommend to people from now on. It has everything you need to have the perfect vacation, with no extra resort or parking fees. I went with my mother and toddler and we all had the best time ever!! Surprisingly quiet, even though it was a full house. I was amazed at how quiet it was. This resort is perfect for all ages and types of families or couples. Best beach for swimming and snorkeling. Very calm and completely safe! Heated pools and spacious rooms with all the amenities. Best trip ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

$5 appetizers/small plates with amazing food from 2-5pm. Take advantage of this, because you won't find a more affordable place to eat on the island with this kind of view!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top