$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Napili Kai Beach Resort

3 stars
5900 Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
64 reviews
Napili Kai Visit #5

We first stayed at the Napili Kai on our honeymoon in 1974, and this was our 5th visit there.... See full review

  • Thomas and Mary
  • Oct 30, 2013
Wonderful Stay

We only stayed two nights here before heading to our time share, and it was wonderful! Best beach,... See full review

  • MartyS
  • Oct 6, 2013
Beachfront bliss on Napili Bay with excellent extras and no resort fee
The low-rise Napili Kai Beach Resort offers guests 10 acres of beachfront bliss on Napili Bay, one of west Maui's most exclusive and magnificent areas. With rooms ranging from hotel-style to two-bedroom, two-bath suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes. The resort offers plentiful amenities and extras including four swimming pools, day spa, free parking, free on-site activities and events, plus free in-room high-speed Internet, all without a resort fee.
Highlights
  • Free parking, plentiful amenities, free activities and free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • Swimming pools and day spa
  • Kitchenette suites available
Location
One of the most coveted beaches on Maui, Napili Bay is picture perfect. Tranquil, turquoise water and a curving golden sand beach open to views of the island of Molokai and whales in winter. The Napili Kai Beach Resort situates guests in a prime spot on this idyllic bay, offering easy access to shopping and dining in west Maui's coastal communities.
Rooms
The Napili Kai Beach Resort offers 163 Island-décor hotel rooms and condo units ranging up to two-bedroom, two-bath suites and three-room connected suites. Guests in every type of accommodation enjoy free high-speed Internet access, cable/satellite TV, DVD player, private patio and daily housekeeping service.
Dining
Guests in kitchenette units save by dining in. The Napili Kai Beach Resort also offers beachfront dining at the award-winning Sea House Restaurant. At the nearby Kapalua Resort, one of Hawaii's best restaurants, Sansei, is well worth a visit. The Banyan Tree was voted Best Restaurant on Maui by readers of Maui No Ka Oi magazine.
Recreation
  • Four swimming pools and a Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Day spa
  • 18-hole putting greens, shuffleboard, bocce and croquet
  • Barbecue areas
  • Tennis (nearby)
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Kahului Airport (32 mi/51.4 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (9.2 mi/14.9 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (23.8 mi/38.4 km)
Policies and Fees
The Lahanai pool will be closed from 25 Aug until 31 Oct. All other pools will be available during this period

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9968 -156.6659
Area served
Lahaina.
Nearby airports
OGG Kahului International Airport.
Area description
Napili Kai Beach Resort is located on beautiful Napili Bay on the West Coast of Maui. The main airport is a breathtaking 36 mile drive from Kahului Airport along the Maui coast. The resort is adjacent to Kapalua Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Napili Kai Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Napili Kai Beach Resort Rooms

Hotel Room Ocean View
The Hotel Room Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Full Laundry Rooms, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Mini Refrigerator, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voicemail.
1 Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
The One Bedroom Suite Ocean Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Hotel Room Garden View
The Hotel room garden view offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Full Laundry Rooms, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Mini Refrigerator, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voicemail.
Studio Garden View
The Studio Garden View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Ocean View
The Studio Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
1 Bedroom Ocean View
The One Bedroom Suite Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Beach Front
The Studio Beach Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Ocean Front
The Studio Ocean Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Private Dining - Na Hoku Dinner
Na Hoku Dinner Experience a truly elegant, intimate and romantic dinner for two under the stars on Napili Bay, steps from the surf and sand. Pamper your palate with sophisticated island cuisine prepared by the Sea House Chef. The dinner includes a private location, personal waitperson, four-course dinner, wine paired with each course, tax and gratuity. The No Hoku (under the stars). Dinner starts at $209 per person. Contact catering at 808-669-9559.
In-Room Dining
If you'd like to dine or entertain in your room you can pre-order items from our Party To Go Menu. There are even items prepared for your grilling pleasure.
Sea House Restaurant
The Sea House Restaurant is a beachfront open-air restaurant and bar, and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day off with a morning stroll on the beach then breakfast at the Sea House Restaurant. Dining in Maui is always a treat with the flavors of exotic Pacific Rim cuisine. The Sea House Restaurant offers dishes to tempt your senses for lunch and dinner. Enjoy early bird special three-course menu (place order by 6:00 pm). After dinner, take a moonlight walk on the beach, and have a nightcap at the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Napili Kai Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Niscr
Gig Harbor, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Memorable!!

If they don't have it or can't arrange it for you, you don't need it. A lovely destination, meticulous attention to details with grounds, condition of pools, and room service. Food at restaurant and cantina was great. Five bravos! Comfortable room. COURTEOUS AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF AND CONCIERGE. We look forward to another stay! Beach was great for families, even on breezy days presenting surfing opportunities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Very helpful concierge services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farley's mom
Santa Cruz,CA
Apr 12, 2011

Best of Hawaii

Wonderful...as always. It was my 5th stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 7, 2011

Beautiful Traditional Maui Hotel

What we loved about the Napili Kai was the warm, traditional feel versus the sterile high-rise condos. The units are only two stories. We were on a ground floor with a beautiful ocean view. No air conditioning and none needed because of the natural breeze that flowed through our room. Mature landscaping and grounds were fabulous. I took a quick visit to one of the newer Kaanapali resorts which have a more artificial "Disney" feel, i.e., artificial rocks around the pools, high-rise feel and dense. Although the Napili Kai is older and a little rough around the edges in places, our room appeared to have been updated at some point with granite kitchen/bath counter tops and fixtures. Nice traditional architecture with real lava rock veneer on the buildings, thatch-like roof design. Our seven year old daughter absoulutely loved the beach at Napili Bay. The surf can change between calm and higher waves so you need to keep an eye on the little ones. No toys available so buy boogie boards and noodles at WalMart on your way from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coffee Store at the nearby Napili market makes awesome lattes. We are sort of Starbucks snobs and The Coffee Store was at least comparible. Lots of locals are obviously regulars here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kama-aina
San Francisco
Apr 5, 2011

sweet/suite getaway

Really enjoyed this place. It didn't feel like a cookie-cutter high-rise. Service was nice, restaurant was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
n/a
Apr 4, 2011

Nice resort, outdated rooms

Long drive from activities. Kid friendly resort. Rooms were extremely outdated. Nice restaurant on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mill Valley, CA
Apr 2, 2011

Fantastic-combines relaxing & very nice!

Napili Kai is a unique relaxing oceanfront experience with all the amenities one could ask for: great sandy bay; good snorkeling; wonderful beachfront restaurant;other nearby restaurants on bay; best massages on Maui at the resort; swimming pools; putting greens for adults and separate one for kids too; tennis nearby; free Mai Tai party once a week; free putting party once a week also; loan of snorkeling gear; towels, chairs and lounges provided for pools and beach; snack bar near big pool and beach; outdoor bar for snacks, drinks and whale watching; free wi-fi in room or suite; free coffee and tea in lobby in a.m. and mid-afternoon; daily demonstrations of Hawaiian arts and crafts with juice and coffee next to beach; air-conditioned exercise room with TV; laundry rooms throughout property with laundry cleaning products provided free of charge. You will fall in love with Napili Kai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Seahouse Restaurant is the only restaurant on Maui located directly on the sandy beach. Besides the wonderful view and sound of the waves, the food is very, very good. This restaurant is really Maui's best-kept secret.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelbears
Maui
Mar 28, 2011

fantastic but family centric

This place was fantastic - not a high rise, two floor units with great views of your own beach that face west for great sunsets. The beach was one of the best we saw in all of Maui and had great snorkeling (not too busy). As a younger couple the only draw back was that it was very family centric (not a necessarily a bad thing). Lots of young kids around doing what kids do best - running around and being loud. It was also very nice of the people above us giving us 7 am wake up calls by bring their screaming newborn onto their patio so early. Overall 8.5/10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. & Mrs. H
Ossian IN
Mar 15, 2011

Our March 2011 vacation at Napili Kai

Napili Kai looked exactly as I hoped it would. The beach, grounds, and view are beautiful. 5 star gorgeous! The room decor is dated, but the space was generous and adequate. The complete kitchen was a huge benefit. We saved a lot of money here.(Be careful with food as ants are a reality). The concierge [...] was extremely helpful setting up our chosen events. The Old Lahaina Luau was incredible. The Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour actually made me cry. The beauty of Hawaii from the air is not to be missed. Do it!! We also intended to do the zipline but it was cancelled by the company due to the Tsunami scare the day before. This was sadly the sour note our dream trip ended on. Our trip was Saturday - Saturday and on Thursday night we were evacuated and spent a sleepless night in the rental car in a parking lot considered to be high ground. (NO bathroom facilities) Friday we were super tired, The zipline tour cancelled, and there was no maid service for us that day. The very next morning we had to go home! Kindly, the woman who checked us out offered us breakfast on the house. This act of compassion and generosity showed the true aloha spirit of Napili Kai and cheered us up considerably. A good breakfast it was! (Vegetarian omelets) So, this was it, our Napili Kai vacation. I would recomend this resort for the beauty, quiet,and the relaxed Hawiian vibe. The location is unbeatable. The coastal trail walk around the point was also an asset to this special place. The complimentary coffee, tea, juice and fresh pineapple everyday were also great. If you want Old Hawaii, a relaxed vibe, camaraderie with fellow guests, this is the one for you. I will never forget this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Lahaina Cannerey Mall Safeway and fill out the Safeway Club card. It is valid immediately! Save $$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salem, OR
Mar 15, 2011

The only place I'll stay on Maui!!

This is the only place I'll recommend to people from now on. It has everything you need to have the perfect vacation, with no extra resort or parking fees. I went with my mother and toddler and we all had the best time ever!! Surprisingly quiet, even though it was a full house. I was amazed at how quiet it was. This resort is perfect for all ages and types of families or couples. Best beach for swimming and snorkeling. Very calm and completely safe! Heated pools and spacious rooms with all the amenities. Best trip ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

$5 appetizers/small plates with amazing food from 2-5pm. Take advantage of this, because you won't find a more affordable place to eat on the island with this kind of view!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Mar 1, 2011

Low stress resort

I took a girlfriend with me and we really enjoyed this low stress first class resort. The staff were very friendly and accomidating. There are many people who come back every year to this resort. They have restaurant with excellent food that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinnerand has a great view of the ocean cove. There is a putting green which we enjoyed and interested guests met every morning for coffee, tea, or lemonade served with fresh pineapple followed by 2 or 3 rounds of putting with random drawn teams so you get to know other guests as well. Several pools plus a large hot tub and shuffleboard game add to the amenities they have to offer. The only drawback we found was that everything in the hotel area closed down early with the restaurant and hot tub being the last to shut down at 10pm. Many of the guests were older and i'm sure this suited them just fine...lol Also our room didnt have AC and at times we were on the warm side but they had fans in the rooms and adequate ocean breezes made it comfortable at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search