$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Napili Kai Beach Resort

3 stars
5900 Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
66 reviews
Napili Kai Visit #5

We first stayed at the Napili Kai on our honeymoon in 1974, and this was our 5th visit there.... See full review

  • Thomas and Mary
  • Oct 30, 2013
Wonderful Stay

We only stayed two nights here before heading to our time share, and it was wonderful! Best beach,... See full review

  • MartyS
  • Oct 6, 2013
Beachfront bliss on Napili Bay with excellent extras and no resort fee
The low-rise Napili Kai Beach Resort offers guests 10 acres of beachfront bliss on Napili Bay, one of west Maui's most exclusive and magnificent areas. With rooms ranging from hotel-style to two-bedroom, two-bath suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes. The resort offers plentiful amenities and extras including four swimming pools, day spa, free parking, free on-site activities and events, plus free in-room high-speed Internet, all without a resort fee.
Highlights
  • Free parking, plentiful amenities, free activities and free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • Swimming pools and day spa
  • Kitchenette suites available
Location
One of the most coveted beaches on Maui, Napili Bay is picture perfect. Tranquil, turquoise water and a curving golden sand beach open to views of the island of Molokai and whales in winter. The Napili Kai Beach Resort situates guests in a prime spot on this idyllic bay, offering easy access to shopping and dining in west Maui's coastal communities.
Rooms
The Napili Kai Beach Resort offers 163 Island-décor hotel rooms and condo units ranging up to two-bedroom, two-bath suites and three-room connected suites. Guests in every type of accommodation enjoy free high-speed Internet access, cable/satellite TV, DVD player, private patio and daily housekeeping service.
Dining
Guests in kitchenette units save by dining in. The Napili Kai Beach Resort also offers beachfront dining at the award-winning Sea House Restaurant. At the nearby Kapalua Resort, one of Hawaii's best restaurants, Sansei, is well worth a visit. The Banyan Tree was voted Best Restaurant on Maui by readers of Maui No Ka Oi magazine.
Recreation
  • Four swimming pools and a Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Day spa
  • 18-hole putting greens, shuffleboard, bocce and croquet
  • Barbecue areas
  • Tennis (nearby)
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Kahului Airport (32 mi/51.4 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (9.2 mi/14.9 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (23.8 mi/38.4 km)
Policies and Fees
The Lahanai pool will be closed from 25 Aug until 31 Oct. All other pools will be available during this period

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9968 -156.6659
Area served
Lahaina.
Nearby airports
OGG Kahului International Airport.
Area description
Napili Kai Beach Resort is located on beautiful Napili Bay on the West Coast of Maui. The main airport is a breathtaking 36 mile drive from Kahului Airport along the Maui coast. The resort is adjacent to Kapalua Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Napili Kai Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Napili Kai Beach Resort Rooms

Hotel Room Ocean View
The Hotel Room Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Full Laundry Rooms, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Mini Refrigerator, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voicemail.
1 Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
The One Bedroom Suite Ocean Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Hotel Room Garden View
The Hotel room garden view offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Full Laundry Rooms, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Mini Refrigerator, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voicemail.
Studio Garden View
The Studio Garden View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Ocean View
The Studio Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
1 Bedroom Ocean View
The One Bedroom Suite Ocean View offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Beach Front
The Studio Beach Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.
Studio Ocean Front
The Studio Ocean Front offers one king bed or two twin bed and a sofa bed with Air conditioning or ceiling fan (depending upon unit), Alarm clock, Private Lanai, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Full Kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry Rooms, Microwave oven, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster, Voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Private Dining - Na Hoku Dinner
Na Hoku Dinner Experience a truly elegant, intimate and romantic dinner for two under the stars on Napili Bay, steps from the surf and sand. Pamper your palate with sophisticated island cuisine prepared by the Sea House Chef. The dinner includes a private location, personal waitperson, four-course dinner, wine paired with each course, tax and gratuity. The No Hoku (under the stars). Dinner starts at $209 per person. Contact catering at 808-669-9559.
In-Room Dining
If you'd like to dine or entertain in your room you can pre-order items from our Party To Go Menu. There are even items prepared for your grilling pleasure.
Sea House Restaurant
The Sea House Restaurant is a beachfront open-air restaurant and bar, and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day off with a morning stroll on the beach then breakfast at the Sea House Restaurant. Dining in Maui is always a treat with the flavors of exotic Pacific Rim cuisine. The Sea House Restaurant offers dishes to tempt your senses for lunch and dinner. Enjoy early bird special three-course menu (place order by 6:00 pm). After dinner, take a moonlight walk on the beach, and have a nightcap at the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Napili Kai Beach Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
went for fun
Santa Barbara, CA
Mar 14, 2012

Hope You Like Roosters

Room was an ocean view, a long way away ,had to walk around 4 buildings to get to the beach. everymorning was awakened by numerous roosters, staff was very polite and was very "too bad for you about the roosters. Parking spaces were very small, get ready for insurance claims. Nice beach setting though, better deals in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sea Horse is great, go for the anniversary platter

Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsgma
Vallejo, CA
Mar 14, 2012

Hard to share it

Wonderful place, hate to tell people about it, it's so nice. Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful clean grounds, perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cricricri
Bay area, CA
Nov 27, 2011

Wonderful vacation

Fantastic snorkeling location, it really can't be better than that, and beach; the hotel provides free masks, snorkels and beach towels. The beach is very nice and the view and sunsets with MolokaI and Lanai islands right in front, are spectacular. If you can afford it, Puna II rooms provide the most privacy and best views. Great location of the restaurant, a bit pricey but Maui is expensive everywhere you go. It's worth to have a kitchenette and make yourself some simple meals like sandwiches and salads to save money.The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The mattress of the sofa bed is not comfortable but they gave us a foam to make it softer and acceptable for a teenager. Our ocean view room was nice and clean and very quiet except when they mow the lawn on Mo, Wed, Fri at 9am for about 30 min. Overall we had a wonderful stay and vacation. I would certainly go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2jhs
Buffalo, NY, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Napli Kai beach resort great place to stay

Went for an anniversary trip and was so impressed with this hotel. It was beautiful! We chose to upgrade to an ocean front room, this was great. The view from our lani was just out of a magazine. The staff was always willing to help. One of the housekeeping staff even showed my husband how to properly cut a coconut and scope out the meat. The room was renovated last year with all stainless steal appliances and granite counters. Well stocked with quality items. One of the best vacations we have taken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the sea horse restaurant, it is worth it.

Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jessp123
Long Beach, CA
Sep 22, 2011

Paradise in Paradise

I've never been to Maui. Have been to Hawaii, Kauai, and Oahu several times and was just looking for a beach - do nothing - vacation. The beach at Napili Kai is wonderful for swimming and snorkeling or floating on a raft (which I did for hours at a time). The water is clear and turquoise and the beach is sandy. We stayed in a studio-ocean view on the second floor of Lani 2. It was a lovely room with a great kitchen (Cuisinart pots and pans) a clean refrigerator with ice-maker, microwave, dishwasher. The only cooling was from a ceiling fan and there were a few nights where I would have preferred air conditioning. The hotel offers free snorkeling mask and snorkel (no fins) that are pretty good quality. The ONLY thing that they don't offer either free or for rent are beach umbrellas and it's a big deal. There is virtually NO shade, aside from what you get from the scattered palm trees. We had to rent an almost useless umbrella from a local snorkel shop that was far too flimsy for the constant trade winds. When I sent in the review of the hotel, I made a point of mentioning that. They do have the snorkel/towel room and really need to stock good quality beach umbrellas. Other than that, the place is really wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colorado Robin
Highlands Ranch, CO
Sep 21, 2011

25th Wedding Anniversary Perfection

We have stayed at Napili Kai Beach Resort before. Loved it 10 years ago and loved it now. We enjoy the peaceful serenity of this place,friendly staff and beautiful location. If you love to snorkel right off of the beach you can do it here. We saw varieties of fish and swam with some sea turtles too. We stayed in a studio condo and had the option to cook some meals or have a leisurely breakfast. It was perfect for our needs. Large Lanai with an ocean view. We walked 3 minutes to the beach. We will definetly be going back to Napili Kai Beach Resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Aloha MIxed Plate. Great food Small price and Great View!! In Lahaina

Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brentwood, Ca
Aug 30, 2011

Fantastic

This was our first time to Maui and I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but from the moment we arrived at the hotel the view from inside the lobby was spectacular. Our room with the kitchen also had a great view. The beach right in front is really nice but there is much better snorkling at the beach to the right(within walking distance) amazing fish and sea turtles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved the town of Lahaina and although the food at Kimos is a little pricey it was the best fish I ever had and the view is great! Don't forget to try the Hula pie!

Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 28, 2011

quiet low-rise resort with a nice beach

We mostly enjoyed our stay here - it was much quieter and less intimidating than the huge resorts at Ka'anapali, and the bay was beautiful and good for some easy snorkeling. The sunset views from the Sea House restaurant were great as well. One downside is that there is no room service, which is kind of a bummer if you're on your honeymoon and don't want to always get dressed to eat breakfast! Also, our ocean-view room did have some portion of visible ocean, but it mainly looked directly onto the putting greens, which had kids and their parents tapping golf balls around from like 6:30am till 7pm every day. Not very private if you're on the ground floor. There was free coffee in the lobby (before 8:30am) if you could get up that early. Most of the other guests were either older couples or families with small children. Skip the food/drinks/snacks at the Makale Hale shop by the pool - super overpriced and not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Sea House restaurant had really tasty food - they have an early bird special between 5:30-6pm, and you can also get appetizers and drinks on the outdoor patio from 2-5pm, which is pretty nice and chill. Later at night, a musician plays some really nice guitar+voice songs with Hawaiian flavor.

Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kat G
Norwalk, CT
May 25, 2011

Absolutely Fabulous!

Resort is beautiful! Very clean + well maintained. The resort has everything you need + want for a trip to Hawaii. This was our 4th time to Maui, but 1st time at this resort. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Webfoot in Paradise
Independence, OR
May 18, 2011

Four thumbs up!

Wow! We just spent 7 days at Napili Kai and there is zero doubt that we will be back! We stayed on the 2nd floor of the Lani 2 block, which had an awesome view of the bay. Frankly, some of the more expensive "beach front" units had a worse view due to the fact they were at ground level and some were obstructed with hedges. The staff were always friendly and went out of their way to be helpful -- not a sour apple among the bunch. The bay offered excellent snorkeling and happy hour at the restaurant on the beach provided delicious pupus (appetizers) and drinks. Some units have A/C, some don't. Ours did not, but the room was well-designed for flow-thru ventilation and had ceiling fans, so we were adequately comfortable (there was an almost constant breeze while we were there). The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, and there are various sponsored activities (including family oriented) every day. This is a must-do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most rooms have kitchens and the small Napili Plaza shopping center nearby can provide basic necessities and food. Snorkel Bob's just down the street for gear rentals and boat reservations.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search