$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lnikkila
Business
Lancaster, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Family Getaway

We had a great time at this hotel. It was our second time staying here. Furniture inside the room needs to be updated (heard it will be replaced in another 2 years.) More activities at the hotel would be ideal. My son loved the slide and pool. Love that they give you plenty of rooms towels. Beach towels were a bit of a hassel with the towel cards. Parking $16 per day :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at Dred's Mexican Restaurant in Kihei Maui...great place. Bit of a drive from Ka'anapali

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Lovin' Family
Business
California
Aug 30, 2011

Got Relocated to a Nearby Resort

The ratings are based on what we saw during the timeshare presentation. Yes, you read that correctly, TIMESHARE. We didn't actually stay at the Kaanapali Beach Club. Despite booking a room at this resort, when we arrived, we were told that the Kaanapali Beach Club had overbooked and so we were being relocated to the nearby Honua Kai Resort. The person at the counter found our reservation among a pile of other apparently overbooked reservations. The KBC is located in a prime spot along Kaanapali Beach. However, it's a rather windy stretch of beach. The room we saw looked nice and clean. Of course, they showed us an ocean view suite during the presentation. We weren't forced to attend the presentation fortunately since we booked through Orbitz with no such commitment. Next time we'll avoid the timeshare presentation--typical high pressure, tag team, sales pitch. They tried to tell us that they weren't selling timeshares though they were. Now where we got relocated was the newer Honua Kai resort nearby. Beautiful luxurious full-ownership condos instead of timeshare units. Very nice units and much newer than KBC. Once we arrived at Honua Kai, we had no complaints except for the strong winds. The Honua Kai units have full kitchens and even washer and dryer. We were thrilled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duke's Restaurant serves very good food. Make sure you get the coupon for a free dessert. Popular among the locals is the Honowakai Okazuya for plate meals--the teriyaki beef is good, but the fish was meh. The Fish Market serves great fish tacos. At night, there is a taco truck in the same lot as the Fish Market that's supposed to be good, but we didn't get to try it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling business lady
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 13, 2010

I was soooo sad to leave!

I was here on business but extended my stay a few days to enjoy Maui. I just hated to leave this place. My room was comfy and clean. The pool and beach were wonderful and the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The only thing I missed was a wider selection of dining options but there are so many great places to eat close by that it really isn't much of a downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a grocery store just across from the resort. I shopped for snacks and lunch items to prepare in the room so we didn't have to leave the pool and beach to break for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 18, 2011

This is a GOOD one!

This is a first rate hotel. Beautiful lobby and large suites. We had oceanview, but of course oceanfront is even better. Huge bathroom. Ocean breezes coming in the room. No screens, you don't need them! Sand beach in front of the hotel, nice pool. We thought it was perfect. Oh, one thing, they are very motivated to try to sell you a timeshare. We just smiled and said a firm "no thanks." The hotel was located in a great spot, very convenient to everything. It was a perfect stay for us. We wish we were there NOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Trilogy snorkel trip was EXCELLENT. The crew was fun and the snorkeling fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu
May 10, 2009

Very accomodating & friendly.

I picked the best overall Orbitz package and knew the hotel was older. It was not impressive at first but it appeated to be recently renovated. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We received an upgrade to a newly renovated one bedroom unit. The kitchenette was adequately stocked (cups, mugs, utensils, plates, etc). There was a small 4 seat dining table and a decent sized living room with sofa, easy chair, coffee table, and entertainment center/tv. The bedroom was large with a 2nd tv. The large bathroom had a shower stall, deep bathtub and separate toilet room. We had so many towels and wash cloths I didn't know what to do with it. Everything was new and clean. The pool was being renovated. The staff was the best part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jul 12, 2009

Relaxing experience

The pool was great (a little cold, but nice)! The staff very friendly and our room was very well appointed. Large bath, nice living room and seperate bedroom. Very comfy! Snack bar and grill was pricey! Didn't eat there! Great shopping for food across the street, however! One thing not appreciated was the timeshare pushiness. Tell them no and walk away. Don't be lured by "we have a gift waiting for you" unless you're in the market for a timeshare. We weren't. Otherwise, we absolutely adored the hotel and came home well rested after two weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To save on breakfasts or dinners, we would go to the stores and get those books that tell you about Maui and cut out coupons "buy one meal, get one free", or "buy one meal, get second half off". Saved alot of money and then we ate most breakfasts' in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City, CA
May 1, 2011

Lovely Time

Wonderful rooms with plenty of room (which our apartment was this size). Only thing was the elevators. Having carpet, they are very succeptable for stinking. The guests ride the elevators while wet from getting out of the pool and ocean, as well they should, but they drip on the carpet and the carpets don't seem to be cleaned. As a result, stinkage. This is the only minus I could find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy breakfast at the Safeway in Lahaina on your way to the hotel. The room has a fridge and microwave, but no stove. Save some money that way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krahner2
Business
seattle, wa
Jun 11, 2011

upgraded

The beach club was over booked so they upgraded us to the hanoa Lai beach resort which waS amazing. Great service and beautiful resort. Nice rooms dukes restaurant next to the pool. I'd go again in an instAnt! Totally recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Whalers village nice shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly married senior citizens
Business
South Bend IN
Jul 31, 2009

Can't wait to return!

We didn't use the fitness center. Were too busy exploring all we could of this island and Oahu. We did enjoy the beautiful pool and walks along the beach which is really close. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Would return there in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops at Lahaina offer nice inexpensive souvenirs. There is also an Orbitz booking agency for tours on Maui and other islands. We are so glad we went to see Pearl Harbor. At the beach we enjoyed the open air dining and the historical court house and Maui's biggest banyan tree.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveler 01
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 23, 2014

Has a very nice beach

Great location where the beach is attached to the resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top