Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
118 reviews
Has a very nice beach

Great location where the beach is attached to the resort See full review

  • World traveler 01
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great condo for the price

This was a very roomy, comfortable condo. We loved having the kitchen for snacks and breakfasts,... See full review

  • Lucy and friends
  • Nov 25, 2013
Luxurious oversized condos offer resort living on Kaanapali Beach
The eight-acre Kaanapali Beach Club fronts the famed Kaanapali Beach with golden sand, swimming and views of distant islands. Three towers feature one- and two-bedroom luxury condo suites, all with a kitchenette for easy living. The resort is built around a one-acre, freeform swimming pool with rock gardens, waterfalls and a 64-foot waterslide leading to a children’s pool. Additional amenities include an 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, yoga classes and massage. On-site eateries range from poolside bites to fine dining.
Highlights
  • Beachfront with year-round swimming, golden sand and exotic vistas
  • Beachfront aquatic playground with gardens, waterfalls and a 64-foot slide
  • 18-hole miniature golf course and two championship courses nearby
Location
The Kaanapali Beach Club offers guests a prime location on west Maui’s Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area of Black Rock. A direct view of the island of Molokai across the channel adds to the exotic scenery. The shopping and dining destination Whalers Village is within easy reach.
Rooms
The Kaanapali Beach Club features 413 luxuriously decorated one- and two-bedroom condo suites across three 12-story towers. With one-bedroom units at a spacious 820 square feet and most two-bedroom units at 1,400 square feet, guests enjoy plenty of room for family and friends. All units feature a gourmet kitchenette, living room, entertainment center, air conditioning, ceiling fan, oversized tub and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Most also include a private balcony.
Dining
The Kaanapali Beach Club offers plentiful dining on site. Top choices include the poolside Ohana Grill & Bar, serving casual dishes all day and live Hawaiian music in the evening. Kaimana is open selected evenings for fine oceanfront dining. Kaanapali Beach Club condos have kitchenettes for home cooking.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • 18-hole miniature golf course
  • Fitness center
  • Yoga
  • Massage
  • Golf (near the resort)

 

Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.9 mi/32 km)
Policies and fees
  • Beginning January 1, 2012 a $25/per night resort fee for all rental and exchange reservations will be charged. The Resort fee will cover the following: free internet access, fitness center access, parking and local calls
  • Major credit card or debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo will be accepted as deposit for all guests on checkin. No cash allowed. The deposit will be $250.00 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kaanapali Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kaanapali Beach Club Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View 820 sqft
Beautiful appointments throughout room. Suite offers separate bedroom and living room. Living room offers a pull out sofa. Living room includes entertainment center with video on demand and stereo system, coffee table and lounge chairs. Dining room set that sits four. Kitchen with nook, lanai to include lounge chair and two captain chairs with mini-table. Bedroom includes entertainment center, desk with high speed internet access. Bathroom includes his and her vanity with vanity bench for the ladies. Separate shower and tub concept and individual water closet. Size (sq ft) Approx 820 sq ft.
One Bedroom Scenic View 820 sqft
Beautiful appointments throughout room. Suite offers separate bedroom and living room. Living room offers a pull out sofa. Living room includes entertainment center with video on demand and stereo system, coffee table and lounge chairs. Dining room set that sits four. Kitchen with nook, lanai to include lounge chair and two captain chairs with mini-table. Bedroom includes entertainment center, desk with high speed internet access. Bathroom includes his and her vanity with vanity bench for the ladies. Separate shower and tub concept and individual water closet. Size (sq ft) Approximately 820 Square Feet

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

North Beach Grill
Breakfast: 6:30am - 9:30am Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:00pm Breakfast Buffet featuring assorted Danish Pastries, Fresh Fruits, Juice Station, Cereal Station, Toast Station with White, Wheat and Mini Bagels and breakfast favorites such as scrambled eggs, Breakfast meats, Pancakes, French Toast and Potatoes, Ala minute Omelet Station
Ohana Express
All Day and Dinner: 6:00am - 10:00pm All Day Casual Dining, To Go Services and Suite Services A La Carte Offerings; Appetizers, Sandwiches, Burgers and Pizzas, Snacks, Ice Cream Bars, Smoothies, Shaved Ice, Soft Drinks and Juices. New Breakfast A la Carte Menu from 6:30 am- 9:30am Starts this Friday August 10, 2007. Entertainment Contemporary Hawaiian Music Daily from 4:30pm-9:00pm
Ohana Bar and Grill
All day and Dinner: 11:00am - 10:00pm All Day Casual Dining; A La Carte Offerings; Pupu's, Salads, Chicken, Sandwiches and Burgers, Pizzas, Refreshing tropical drinks to Specialty Mojitos. Kid's Coconut Drink Promotions, Chef's Daily specials, Pizza Promotions, Rice Bowls.. Happy Hour from 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm Special Prices on Drinks and Pupu's. Entertainment: Torch Lighting Ceremony at Sunset; Live Hawaiian Music from 6:30pm -9:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Lovin' Family
Business
California
Aug 30, 2011

Got Relocated to a Nearby Resort

The ratings are based on what we saw during the timeshare presentation. Yes, you read that correctly, TIMESHARE. We didn't actually stay at the Kaanapali Beach Club. Despite booking a room at this resort, when we arrived, we were told that the Kaanapali Beach Club had overbooked and so we were being relocated to the nearby Honua Kai Resort. The person at the counter found our reservation among a pile of other apparently overbooked reservations. The KBC is located in a prime spot along Kaanapali Beach. However, it's a rather windy stretch of beach. The room we saw looked nice and clean. Of course, they showed us an ocean view suite during the presentation. We weren't forced to attend the presentation fortunately since we booked through Orbitz with no such commitment. Next time we'll avoid the timeshare presentation--typical high pressure, tag team, sales pitch. They tried to tell us that they weren't selling timeshares though they were. Now where we got relocated was the newer Honua Kai resort nearby. Beautiful luxurious full-ownership condos instead of timeshare units. Very nice units and much newer than KBC. Once we arrived at Honua Kai, we had no complaints except for the strong winds. The Honua Kai units have full kitchens and even washer and dryer. We were thrilled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duke's Restaurant serves very good food. Make sure you get the coupon for a free dessert. Popular among the locals is the Honowakai Okazuya for plate meals--the teriyaki beef is good, but the fish was meh. The Fish Market serves great fish tacos. At night, there is a taco truck in the same lot as the Fish Market that's supposed to be good, but we didn't get to try it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling business lady
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 13, 2010

I was soooo sad to leave!

I was here on business but extended my stay a few days to enjoy Maui. I just hated to leave this place. My room was comfy and clean. The pool and beach were wonderful and the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The only thing I missed was a wider selection of dining options but there are so many great places to eat close by that it really isn't much of a downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a grocery store just across from the resort. I shopped for snacks and lunch items to prepare in the room so we didn't have to leave the pool and beach to break for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 18, 2011

This is a GOOD one!

This is a first rate hotel. Beautiful lobby and large suites. We had oceanview, but of course oceanfront is even better. Huge bathroom. Ocean breezes coming in the room. No screens, you don't need them! Sand beach in front of the hotel, nice pool. We thought it was perfect. Oh, one thing, they are very motivated to try to sell you a timeshare. We just smiled and said a firm "no thanks." The hotel was located in a great spot, very convenient to everything. It was a perfect stay for us. We wish we were there NOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Trilogy snorkel trip was EXCELLENT. The crew was fun and the snorkeling fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu
May 10, 2009

Very accomodating & friendly.

I picked the best overall Orbitz package and knew the hotel was older. It was not impressive at first but it appeated to be recently renovated. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We received an upgrade to a newly renovated one bedroom unit. The kitchenette was adequately stocked (cups, mugs, utensils, plates, etc). There was a small 4 seat dining table and a decent sized living room with sofa, easy chair, coffee table, and entertainment center/tv. The bedroom was large with a 2nd tv. The large bathroom had a shower stall, deep bathtub and separate toilet room. We had so many towels and wash cloths I didn't know what to do with it. Everything was new and clean. The pool was being renovated. The staff was the best part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jul 12, 2009

Relaxing experience

The pool was great (a little cold, but nice)! The staff very friendly and our room was very well appointed. Large bath, nice living room and seperate bedroom. Very comfy! Snack bar and grill was pricey! Didn't eat there! Great shopping for food across the street, however! One thing not appreciated was the timeshare pushiness. Tell them no and walk away. Don't be lured by "we have a gift waiting for you" unless you're in the market for a timeshare. We weren't. Otherwise, we absolutely adored the hotel and came home well rested after two weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To save on breakfasts or dinners, we would go to the stores and get those books that tell you about Maui and cut out coupons "buy one meal, get one free", or "buy one meal, get second half off". Saved alot of money and then we ate most breakfasts' in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City, CA
May 1, 2011

Lovely Time

Wonderful rooms with plenty of room (which our apartment was this size). Only thing was the elevators. Having carpet, they are very succeptable for stinking. The guests ride the elevators while wet from getting out of the pool and ocean, as well they should, but they drip on the carpet and the carpets don't seem to be cleaned. As a result, stinkage. This is the only minus I could find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy breakfast at the Safeway in Lahaina on your way to the hotel. The room has a fridge and microwave, but no stove. Save some money that way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krahner2
Business
seattle, wa
Jun 11, 2011

upgraded

The beach club was over booked so they upgraded us to the hanoa Lai beach resort which waS amazing. Great service and beautiful resort. Nice rooms dukes restaurant next to the pool. I'd go again in an instAnt! Totally recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Whalers village nice shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly married senior citizens
Business
South Bend IN
Jul 31, 2009

Can't wait to return!

We didn't use the fitness center. Were too busy exploring all we could of this island and Oahu. We did enjoy the beautiful pool and walks along the beach which is really close. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Would return there in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops at Lahaina offer nice inexpensive souvenirs. There is also an Orbitz booking agency for tours on Maui and other islands. We are so glad we went to see Pearl Harbor. At the beach we enjoyed the open air dining and the historical court house and Maui's biggest banyan tree.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oznap
Business
Phoenix AZ
May 26, 2009

Great place to stay

I thought this was a great place for the price. The staff was always very courteous and prompt. I can't think of a bad thing to say. I will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 26, 2009

Would stay here again

The overall experience was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont book activities with activities experts in hotel. You could get those activities cheaply outside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top