$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randolph Family
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Aug 20, 2012

Nice family vacation spot

The hotel was very nice, a great lobby and pool area, close to the beach and walking distance from groceries and restaurants. The room was nice, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The open areas between the buildings on the need some work, it is very 'hospital' looking on the room floors, all tile, no plants, etc. They had a variety of activities to entertain the kids when we weren't on the beach. My only major complaint is that in spite of paying a $25 daily 'resort' fee, we still had to pay for the kids activities, like bowling, or to play miniature golf on a course that has definitely seen better days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Maui Pizza was awful. Even the kids wouldn't eat it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nwwd
Business
los angeles, california
Sep 2, 2012

huge bathroom!

there are 2 flat screen tv in the living room and bedroom! huge bath tub with separate room for shower! free laundry machines on every other floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Oct 5, 2012

Great place for the money

Location and property was very nice. Its a large facility and only limited full ocean views. We got a partial ocean view, but it was nice overlooking the pool area . Walk right onto the beach and snorkel off the shore. Liked the Daily happy hour with service at the pool. Only disappointment was the WiFi was only in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tvsvelbep
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 14, 2012

Greatest Getaway Vacation

All the hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. We ate at both restaurant and snack bar and the food was very good. Pizza was awesome!! Went to the beach and swimming pool. The location of the hotel was close to shopping and many restaurants. The amenities this hotel had to offer were soo much better than any of the other hotels i've stayed. Couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina Cannery Mall was the best shopping for souvenirs, not as crowded as Front street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maui traveler 012
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Nov 30, 2012

Big rooms, good staff, but not everything was as expected

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights in November 2012. Pros: Room: 1. The suit was very big and we were able to convert the living room into kids bedroom. The bedrooms and bathroom were clean and room service was as required. the staff replaced the sofa with two roll aways. 2. Overall a great value as compared to other locations. The hotel was away from black rock, but black rock is overrated and not really for kids (because it is too deep). mala ramp or baby beaches are great beaches. 3. The staff was quite friendly and tried to accomodate our requirements. Cons: 1. Ocean view is only partial ocean view and we were not happy about it. They have a deluxe ocean view which is really ocean view. 2. The concierge was too pushy to sell us tickets to different events and none were really that great. One tip, they are desperate and can offer discounts of up to 80% if you negotiate. Ask for what you want and not what they are offering (which is usually not the best). 3. Kitchen is also partial, meaning that you can fix a simple breakfast and nothing more. btw, ask the locals (at grocery stores where they eat and which beaches they visit. You will get great tips)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At Farmer's market, very hearty vegetarian dishes are 50% off after 6 pm. Perfect dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paperback
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2012

Nicely done

the room was very nice but the happy hour food was atrocious. it was great having full access to parking garage. the beach is missing but they promise it will return. did not like that they snagged the weary traveller upon checkin to go to the diamond timeshare orientation and to take advantage of the free gift upon arrival. Pool was nice and big with lots of open chairs - there was never a mad dash for chairs early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradiso Pizza across the street in the strip mall was fantastic!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach traveler 5811
Business
Seattle
Mar 25, 2013

Good value.

The bad: In the room the shower had mildew and the couch looked dirty. The beach next to the hotel was only narrow strip of sand. At high tide you almost can't walk on the beach without the waives washing over your feet. The good: the price was great $1800 for 7 days Including air fair for two from Seattle. The room was large with a partial view had A little kitchen with dishes, a microwave and hot plate (no stove or oven).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't want to be stuck in a fairly small area you need to rent a car. It's a 45 minute plus drive the the main airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On Fire in Arizona
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 28, 2013

The Stars are Subjective

Overall, it was a great experience. The hotel was very nice, the staff very attentive, and the room was nice with the exception of the shower. The shower was open (no step-in, even with the rest of the floor) and the shower curtain rod was straight, so you felt claustrophobic. This would easily be solved with a outward-curved rod to give more room in the shower. The balcony was extremely narrow, which gives someone with fear of heights the willies on the 6th floor. There were a couple of extreme disappointments that bear mentioning. The first is that we were awakened at midnight two nights before we left with the super-loud blaring of an alarm and a woman's voice on loudspeaker warning that there may be a fire in the building. It turned out to be a smoke detector in one of the rooms, and there were absolutely no apologies or concessions made for getting the entire building out on the balconies in their pajamas at midnight. The other is the Diamond Resorts fractional share presentation. We were given the impression when we arrived that the concierge could get us great deals on activities through the hotel. What we found out was that we had to sit through a presentation to buy vacation plans. I have sat through one of these before, so I thought it would be worth the savings to sit for the stated 90 minutes. It was over two hours, the salesman creeped my wife out with his constant shark grin. The "closer", a retired jockey, swooped in and lent his own personal air of used car salesmanship to try to pressure us into buying. We were subjected to high pressure, humiliation, double-talk, and the longest value statement I have ever encountered in a sales presentation. The little guy even walked away from me while I was in mid-sentence after realizing I was not going to be bullied into a sale right at that moment. We would definitely go back to that resort, as it seemed to be the best on that beach, but I give a word of caution I will adhere to myself in the future: pay for the activities and avoid the boiler room. It sullied our experience, sadly, and is not worth the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

No matter what anyone tells you, take the road to Hana. Leave early (7 am) to see it all, and remember that it's the journey, not the destination. Most incredible scenery and roadside stops, waterfalls, etc. DO IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucy and friends
Business
Portland, Oregon
Nov 25, 2013

Great condo for the price

This was a very roomy, comfortable condo. We loved having the kitchen for snacks and breakfasts, which saved a considerable amount of money. The pool was great, and very close to the beach. The only downfall was that the parking garage was the front of the condo complex...kind of weird, but definitely not a deal breaker. Also the 10am checkout time. We were at first told by the evening manager no late checkout, but when we asked again in the morning, were given until noon, which at least let us pack leisurely. Kudos to the day manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Magic snorkel cruise. The crew was excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this cruise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oznap
Business
Phoenix AZ
May 26, 2009

Great place to stay

I thought this was a great place for the price. The staff was always very courteous and prompt. I can't think of a bad thing to say. I will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top