$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeboniCat
Friends
San Francisco
Aug 1, 2012

Kaanapali Beach Club

I can think of nothing negative about this condo. The beds were very comfortable, as was the sofa in the living area. Kitchen was well equiped. The bathroom was huge with a sink and counter on each end. Very, very nice. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When leaving the airport in a car, make sure you turn left and not right. We ended up making a 45 minute trip into a 3 hour trip. We ended up on dirt road with a cliff on the left and rock wall on the right with about 8 ft width and tight curves. Very scary.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaieart
Friends
LA, California
Jun 22, 2012

Great Trip

The hotel was good not great, I liked going out more then staying at my hotel. My friends had better places so i went there during the day. the honai kai was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

buy food at costco and cook in your room.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randolph Family
Family
Carlsbad, CA
Aug 20, 2012

Nice family vacation spot

The hotel was very nice, a great lobby and pool area, close to the beach and walking distance from groceries and restaurants. The room was nice, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The open areas between the buildings on the need some work, it is very 'hospital' looking on the room floors, all tile, no plants, etc. They had a variety of activities to entertain the kids when we weren't on the beach. My only major complaint is that in spite of paying a $25 daily 'resort' fee, we still had to pay for the kids activities, like bowling, or to play miniature golf on a course that has definitely seen better days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Maui Pizza was awful. Even the kids wouldn't eat it.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nwwd
Couples
los angeles, california
Sep 2, 2012

huge bathroom!

there are 2 flat screen tv in the living room and bedroom! huge bath tub with separate room for shower! free laundry machines on every other floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Jose
Oct 5, 2012

Great place for the money

Location and property was very nice. Its a large facility and only limited full ocean views. We got a partial ocean view, but it was nice overlooking the pool area . Walk right onto the beach and snorkel off the shore. Liked the Daily happy hour with service at the pool. Only disappointment was the WiFi was only in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tvsvelbep
Friends
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 14, 2012

Greatest Getaway Vacation

All the hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. We ate at both restaurant and snack bar and the food was very good. Pizza was awesome!! Went to the beach and swimming pool. The location of the hotel was close to shopping and many restaurants. The amenities this hotel had to offer were soo much better than any of the other hotels i've stayed. Couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina Cannery Mall was the best shopping for souvenirs, not as crowded as Front street.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maui traveler 012
Family
Sunnyvale, California
Nov 30, 2012

Big rooms, good staff, but not everything was as expected

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights in November 2012. Pros: Room: 1. The suit was very big and we were able to convert the living room into kids bedroom. The bedrooms and bathroom were clean and room service was as required. the staff replaced the sofa with two roll aways. 2. Overall a great value as compared to other locations. The hotel was away from black rock, but black rock is overrated and not really for kids (because it is too deep). mala ramp or baby beaches are great beaches. 3. The staff was quite friendly and tried to accomodate our requirements. Cons: 1. Ocean view is only partial ocean view and we were not happy about it. They have a deluxe ocean view which is really ocean view. 2. The concierge was too pushy to sell us tickets to different events and none were really that great. One tip, they are desperate and can offer discounts of up to 80% if you negotiate. Ask for what you want and not what they are offering (which is usually not the best). 3. Kitchen is also partial, meaning that you can fix a simple breakfast and nothing more. btw, ask the locals (at grocery stores where they eat and which beaches they visit. You will get great tips)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At Farmer's market, very hearty vegetarian dishes are 50% off after 6 pm. Perfect dinner.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paperback
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2012

Nicely done

the room was very nice but the happy hour food was atrocious. it was great having full access to parking garage. the beach is missing but they promise it will return. did not like that they snagged the weary traveller upon checkin to go to the diamond timeshare orientation and to take advantage of the free gift upon arrival. Pool was nice and big with lots of open chairs - there was never a mad dash for chairs early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradiso Pizza across the street in the strip mall was fantastic!!!

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach traveler 5811
Couples
Seattle
Mar 25, 2013

Good value.

The bad: In the room the shower had mildew and the couch looked dirty. The beach next to the hotel was only narrow strip of sand. At high tide you almost can't walk on the beach without the waives washing over your feet. The good: the price was great $1800 for 7 days Including air fair for two from Seattle. The room was large with a partial view had A little kitchen with dishes, a microwave and hot plate (no stove or oven).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't want to be stuck in a fairly small area you need to rent a car. It's a 45 minute plus drive the the main airport.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On Fire in Arizona
Family
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 28, 2013

The Stars are Subjective

Overall, it was a great experience. The hotel was very nice, the staff very attentive, and the room was nice with the exception of the shower. The shower was open (no step-in, even with the rest of the floor) and the shower curtain rod was straight, so you felt claustrophobic. This would easily be solved with a outward-curved rod to give more room in the shower. The balcony was extremely narrow, which gives someone with fear of heights the willies on the 6th floor. There were a couple of extreme disappointments that bear mentioning. The first is that we were awakened at midnight two nights before we left with the super-loud blaring of an alarm and a woman's voice on loudspeaker warning that there may be a fire in the building. It turned out to be a smoke detector in one of the rooms, and there were absolutely no apologies or concessions made for getting the entire building out on the balconies in their pajamas at midnight. The other is the Diamond Resorts fractional share presentation. We were given the impression when we arrived that the concierge could get us great deals on activities through the hotel. What we found out was that we had to sit through a presentation to buy vacation plans. I have sat through one of these before, so I thought it would be worth the savings to sit for the stated 90 minutes. It was over two hours, the salesman creeped my wife out with his constant shark grin. The "closer", a retired jockey, swooped in and lent his own personal air of used car salesmanship to try to pressure us into buying. We were subjected to high pressure, humiliation, double-talk, and the longest value statement I have ever encountered in a sales presentation. The little guy even walked away from me while I was in mid-sentence after realizing I was not going to be bullied into a sale right at that moment. We would definitely go back to that resort, as it seemed to be the best on that beach, but I give a word of caution I will adhere to myself in the future: pay for the activities and avoid the boiler room. It sullied our experience, sadly, and is not worth the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

No matter what anyone tells you, take the road to Hana. Leave early (7 am) to see it all, and remember that it's the journey, not the destination. Most incredible scenery and roadside stops, waterfalls, etc. DO IT!

Back to menu Return to top