$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jan 5, 2010

A decent hotel - but a bit oversold

We picked Kaanapali Beach Club hotel because it has a great pool right on the beach, and since it's a former Embassy Suites, we knew we could get a satisfactory suite for the family to spend a week. If you've stayed at Embassy before, you know you get a decent 3-star kind of experience - not special, but quite adequate. However, this is now a time-share setup (Diamond International) and the first thing they did was sit us down with the "concierge" who wanted to book us into a timeshare sales presentation. NO THANK YOU! Here are some important caveats about this property: it is not really on Kaanapali - it's closer to Honokowai, a mile or two north of the "black rock" which marks the northern end of Kaanapali beach. The beach in front of the hotel is NOT very good - rocky, not really safe at all for swimming. A half-mile walk to the south brings you to a better section of beach, but we didn't want to walk that far - this misses the point of being right on the beach. My other significant complaint was that, at this busy time of year, it was impossible to get a lounge chair by the pool by midmorning. There appeared to be plenty of lounges, but they were *all* taken by morning, and people effectively reserved them for most of the day. This is a management issue. Otherwise, The west Maui location is delightful. A short drive north or south leads to numerous great beaches with different characteristics (for waterplay or snorkeling or just basking in the sun).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive north to Napili Bay for a great beach - a sheltered location, terrific snorkeling, soft sand, tide pools, and a low-key feel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LIVERMORE JOE
Business
SAN FRANCISCO
Jun 13, 2009

Great Time

Good place to stay it's on a very nice beach with easy access the pool has a water slide and hot tub we loved the pool side cafe fun waiters. With children it's very nice all rooms are suites with big bathrooms you will feel right at home. This is the sixth time we have stayed there and will return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have time see the Warren and Annabelle show its a fun time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonnyB
Business
Erie, CO
Jun 17, 2009

20 Year anniversary

It was a great time. Plenty to do at the hotel, pool w/ water slide, restaurant, putt-putt, teen zone, movie nights, polynesian feast night, first time scuba lessons, scuba/snorkel/boogie boards/floaties available poolside, Maui Jim sunglasses complimentary try and buy, local grocery story w/i quarter mile in strip mall (kinda pricey though even for Maui). Bus shuttle right outside hotel on the hour for heading north or south to Whaler's Village. VIP parking underground. Only downside was local booking agency [...] was kicked out while we there. They are available in hotel right next door though. Snorkeling right out back of Hotel was best (better than Black rock and Molokini) for number and species of fish to view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hula Grill in Whaler's Village is a must (best seafood) Go to Lahiana on Front street for best views. Every restaurant on the Ocean with a great view of the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hjjk
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 22, 2009

Great family getaway

Liked beach right next to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Aug 2, 2009

Great location, on the beach.

Clean. Huge, updated suites with kitchenette. Grills for cooking out. Affordable. The hotel was everything we needed and wanted for a 1-week stay. The location was perfect. On a sandy beach. The pool was recently renovated and huge, never a problem finding lounge chairs. Grocery store is very close but expensive. Several places nearby to rent snorkel gear. Lahaina is a 5 minute drive away, cool shops and restaurants on the oceanfront. If we go back to Maui, I wouldn't have any problem staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

#1 - Get the book "Maui Revealed" and use it as your tour guide. It makes the trip so enjoyable and you won't miss a thing! #2 - Rent a Jeep. They have 4-door jeeps that they don't advertise at the rental companies, it's an upgrade when you get there, totally worth every penny to see the island. I can't imagine going down the curvy oceanside roads in a sedan. #3 - Go to the top of Haleakala for sunrise!! Go the first morning you get there so the time change hasn't set in. You will need to be at the summit by 5am ish, depending on when sunrise is. We used Haleakala Bike Co. and did a downhill bike ride. Had to wake up about 1am to be at the bike shop by 3am. If you have a convertible or Jeep, you could just drive it yourself but the tour guide is nice to have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Feb 19, 2011

most restful, large and clean condo ever

this resort was incredibly peaceful. we were in a high rise, yet it felt as if we were out in the country. we heard no neighbors. the place was kept impeccably clean. staff was helpful and friendly but not intrusive. very restful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

paradise pizza was across the street. the food was delicious with a variaty of greek, italian, american fare and gelato. resonably priced. supermarket also across the street facilitating grocery shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Peg
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 28, 2011

Seems like a fine family location

Easy to get to beach, even for handicapped folks. Rooms were very spacious which is great for a longer stay when traveling with a large group of people -- could come and go from each others rooms with ease. I was there for a family wedding, so visiting was ideal. The only thing I found missing was a directory of where things like the exercise room are -- you could find out by asking, but there was no map in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

They were able to tell me where to find Lappert's ice cream -- my all time favorite! It's on Front St. near the historic Banyon tree.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Kaanapali Beach Club

We stayed for 9 nights. The room was nice, but the carpet in the bedroom smelled like urine. When we notified housekeeping, they send someone up right away and steamcleaned it. It smelled better, but the smell wasn't totally gone. I am sure we could have changed rooms, but we were too busy. Besides that, the room was great, the view was good, the staff was super friendly, the location is the best! We walked right out to the beach. I would stay there again. The hotel is super family oriented. A game room, mini golf, pool, waterfalls, places to eat. The prices for kids games are very cheap. Just a couple bucks. Some stuff is free for kids. The food prices were average for the area. The parking is 16.00 a day, so be ready for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you have a mini kitchen. We bought our breakfast and lunches at the supermarket, and ate in. We only ate out for dinner. They have restaurants there at the hotel and across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylmar, California.
Jul 26, 2011

Great place to stay with family.

We went with a senior and two toddlers. The hotel was awesome. We were in a deluxe ocean front room. I am sure there is no better view in Maui. The hotel amenities were great. The daily made service was a plus. Pool and slide were very nice. We would definitely visit again. The only negative thing is if you buy any activity via the hotel concierge who claim not to work for the hotel. You are better off buying your activities via an third party broker. We bought the Royal Lahaina luau , which we ha gone to before, and paid full price. We called a broker and we could have saved over 150$ for the group. My wife called to complain but all they could do is credit my credit card $50 for the inconvenience. Don't buy anything from them. Call around, it's your best bet. Another downer was that the breakfast buffet was not included. At $15 a pop breakfast got expensive fast. I heard it was once included. That would make a stay here the only place I would stay in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Baby beach is great if you can find it. Drive down front street till you pass the "Jesus is coming," sign then turn right. If you get to the cementary you arrived. Park ib front then walk down to the beach. Best baby beach in Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam G
Business
Carlsbad, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Great location, spacious room

Centrally located, great value! Exterior and pool are outdated, but the room and location makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top