$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chellychell
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Great experience

Very good service and room comfort. The hotel service was excellent and spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a zip line trip

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beto R
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 12, 2012

Great place to go

Hotel was great, location is great. hotel staff great. Will definintely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peakina61
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Wonderful place

Very enjoyable, exceedingly clean and well-kept, attentive staff and plenty of good stuff to do right on the property. We enjoyed our stay except for the fact that a very opinionated far-right wing TV program was playing in the workout room and we couldn't figure out how to change it... their "reporting" almost gave me a stroke!!! But that was the only sour note. As for value...I wouldn't have stayed there without a steep discount because I wouldn't be able to afford the regular price. And Kaanapali is pretty far from a lot of things on Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make use of Yelp or other ratings apps for food...we went to a great little Italian restaurant (Antonios)in a Kihei strip mall that we would have never gone to if not for Yelp. There are a lot of terrible places to eat from Kapalua to Wailea, but there are also some great places and you can't tell which is which by location, decor, price, or even by how popular it appears to be.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SummerFan
Business
Illinois, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Amazing Location

Staff were wonderful and helpful. I felt like I was on vacation my entire stay. Beach is steps from the hotel. Best pool on the beach walk. Rooms were large. Grocery store is right across the street. Buy your own beer here and take it to the beach to save $$. Don't rent a car. The public bus ($2 pass per day) will take you everywhere you want to go and picks you up at the hotel drive. Will take you to Lahaina, Whalers Village, etc. Ask bellmen when arrive and they'll direct you to the stop. Only negative is there is a $31.50 "resort fee" per day that is not included in your booking price. Hotel charged me when I checked in. So my 9 day stay cost me more than $283 than I was expecting to pay. Tried to refuse the fee with no luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Skyline Ziplining was well worth the money. Tons of fun, great view of Island

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris and Nora
Business
Colorado
Feb 7, 2012

Great Romantic Getaway

Room was really nice and comfortable. Room was located with mountain view which was fine. Room was quiet except when housekeeping carts went by. Staff was courteous. Food in hotel was pricey. Kitchen would be better if you replaced the dishwasher with a stove/oven. Pool was nice. Could use another hot tub! Drink service by the pool would be nice. Happy hour drinks nothing to brag about. A rather good experience. Would like to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alujan
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Great service

Courteous staff, very comfortable experience. The room was fantastic, house keeping was on point. The view was amazing. Only disappointment was the unexpected room fee upon arrival. The staff was very outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theroadlesstravled
Business
SE Michigan
Feb 7, 2012

Good Stay

We stayed here after finding a great deal. The room was larger then we expected and nicely furnished. We didn't use any of the hotels amenities, but they seem nice. The covered parking was good, but after 8 we found it difficult to find a spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angel is Jolie
Business
Union City Ca.
Jun 3, 2012

Great Value

Koi Pond is amazing, rooms are above than average, very warm welcoming stay. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spongebob Squarepants
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 21, 2012

Great value

Room was clean and smoke-free with daily maid service. Food and beverage on the premises was priced well, convenient, and tasted good. Activities Center was perfect for our children. The Activities Center staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling right in front of hotel was excellent.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snobby World Traveler
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jul 25, 2012

Very spacious and kitchen was a big plus

A year ago we went to Maui and stayed at one of the pricier hotels right next to Whaler's Village. We actually preferred the Kaanapali Beach Club to that competitor, as the rooms here were about 3X bigger and included a minikitchen with a full fridge, microwave, dishes and dishwasher. The room was huge with a main area, a separate bedroom and a humongous bathroom. Seriously the bathroom was over 10x10. We bought groceries at the start of the trip, and made all of our breakfasts in our room. For dinner, we walked next door to Duke's a couple times, as we love that place. They had free washers and dryers which was a huge plus! We were only there 4 nights so we didn't use them, but I verified that they were free and were usually available. The main negative we found with the place was that there was no wifi internet in the rooms. They had wired internet in the rooms (but I forgot my ethernet adapter) and they had wifi in the lobby area and by the pool. It was sufficient for email, and some basic browsing, but not much more. It forced me to actually relax and ditch work for a few days, so that was probably good. The beach was beautiful, but was pretty small in size (just a few steps of sand, not really enough to spread out a towel) but the pool deck was huge and had a nice view of the ocean, so I found this better than laying on the beach. The hotel itself is large, but is not all spread out like many of the other resorts where you feel you have to walk miles to get to the fitness room or the pool. We saw this as a plus. This hotel is two miles from Whalers, but to be honest, Whalers isn't all that great anyway, so we were fine just driving there when the need arose (parking is always validated anyway). When we wanted some morning exercise, we'd run along the BeachWalk to Whaler's which was a nice way to get a 4-6 mile round trip run in. (Lots of runners had the same idea, so we were in good company!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's is next door and is DELICIOUS. Ask to sit in the "informal" area where they have an equally delicious but cheaper menu in addition to all of the fine dining menu options.

Back to menu Return to top