$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newlywed Johns
Couples
Seattle
Apr 15, 2013

Wish I loved it more

The hotel was very nice but I was left wanting more The pillows were horrible Our room smelt musty & moldy The 1 restaurant onsite was not very appealing after 1 day the pool had no music so it was pretty boring loved the location towels were great staff was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Java Jazz across the street is AMAZING for breakfast Dukes 2 hotels over was the best night, fun, meal we had all week

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Eugene, or
Feb 16, 2010

"let the buyer beware"

My wie and I planned this trip with another couple two months before departing. We planned on sharing the cost of a rental car and food. The day before we departed, our friends recieved a call from the hotel stating that they were "sold out" and had been moved to another hotel. This procluded us from sharing car expenses.We also found out upon arrival that the hotel charges $16.00 per day to park your car. We also found out that "scenic" room does not mean ocean view (as I was told on the phone). Our room overlooked a minature golf course. we could just see the ocean between two buildings, palm trees, and around the corner from our deck. We also had two full beds, rather than a queen, or king bed. We asked the front desk for a new room (remember they had told our friends the day before that they were sold out). We were told that they had three rooms, that overlooked the mountains...AKA the parking lot and highway. The concierge was rude and not helpful. When she found out that we had no intrest in a time share we were ignored. Everywhere we went in the hotel we were asked to attend the time share meeting. The beach access was great, and we had a wonderful time watching whales from the beach. Our friends actually got a much better deal. They were moved to Honua Kai. We spend most of our vacation at there hotel. Better food, much better room, and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
usa
Jan 20, 2010

Not what we expected or were told

We were told that since this was our honeymoon, we would be upgraded to the best view in the house, didn't happen. There is a bird sanctuary in the middle of the hotel, so unless you want to have to yell to communicate for about 2 hours at sundown, you have to keep your doors shut. We were delivered a warm bottle of champayne and there was trash under our sofa. The front desk staff was repeatedly unfriendly, even when I hit my knee on the reef and was bleeding in front of them asking if they had a first aid kit. We were not told by [...] or the hotel that there would be construction during our stay. One of the 2 pools was closed the entire stay (one week) and there was jack hammering throughout the days. There were signs posted in the elevators stating that the pool was under construction and that it would be finished our 3rd day there--didn't happen, and they took these signs down because they were not on schedule. There were only 2 hot tubs on the entire property that had 4 different buildings and there were constantly unsupervised children in both of them no matter what time of day or night it was. The bartenders were unfriendly and didn't acknowledge us for about 10 minutes standing at the bar when they were not even close to being busy. Their attitudes were phony and non-responsive. They also gave my parents, who stayed here this same week a room that was half renovated with non working appliances and were unresponsive to our complaints. We will never stay at this hotel/condo again and will certainly not recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own snorkel gear and save $70 a week. Book directly through airlines and hotels and car rental places and get what you pay for. [...]

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VANNA'S MOM
Couples
DOLORES,CO.
Feb 7, 2011

MAUI TRIP

REALLY LOVED THE HOTEL.COULD HAVE BEEN A LITTLE "CLEANER". ROOM WAS NOT MADE UP DAILY & WHEN THEY DID A FEW THINGS WERE OVERLOOKED. WE HAD TO CALL TO HAVE OUR NEEDS MET ( lotion,coffee,tea bags etc.) VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE & MOST WILLING TO TRY TO ACCOMEDATE. THANK YOU, SHERRIE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yve
Family
Chicago, IL
Aug 19, 2009

Great location with limited services

Enjoyed the pool. Not much for pool service or restuarant service however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Francisco Bay Area
Jan 5, 2010

A decent hotel - but a bit oversold

We picked Kaanapali Beach Club hotel because it has a great pool right on the beach, and since it's a former Embassy Suites, we knew we could get a satisfactory suite for the family to spend a week. If you've stayed at Embassy before, you know you get a decent 3-star kind of experience - not special, but quite adequate. However, this is now a time-share setup (Diamond International) and the first thing they did was sit us down with the "concierge" who wanted to book us into a timeshare sales presentation. NO THANK YOU! Here are some important caveats about this property: it is not really on Kaanapali - it's closer to Honokowai, a mile or two north of the "black rock" which marks the northern end of Kaanapali beach. The beach in front of the hotel is NOT very good - rocky, not really safe at all for swimming. A half-mile walk to the south brings you to a better section of beach, but we didn't want to walk that far - this misses the point of being right on the beach. My other significant complaint was that, at this busy time of year, it was impossible to get a lounge chair by the pool by midmorning. There appeared to be plenty of lounges, but they were *all* taken by morning, and people effectively reserved them for most of the day. This is a management issue. Otherwise, The west Maui location is delightful. A short drive north or south leads to numerous great beaches with different characteristics (for waterplay or snorkeling or just basking in the sun).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive north to Napili Bay for a great beach - a sheltered location, terrific snorkeling, soft sand, tide pools, and a low-key feel.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam G
Couples
Carlsbad, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Great location, spacious room

Centrally located, great value! Exterior and pool are outdated, but the room and location makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the aluminum chef
Couples
hiddenbrooke, Ca
Nov 1, 2011

our wedding vacation

We had a huge suite that had a great view. Flat screens, huge bathroom, kitchen with everything we needed, and spotlessly cleaned everyday. Waterfalls, pools, and spas everywhere. Tiki torches set the atmosphere and captured the aloha spirit. Great hotel at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hula grill and Leleina's right on the water are fun and the whaler shopping center has something for everyone.

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AK mom
Family
Alaska, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Family friendly

Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. No hidden extra charges. The suite was gorgeous,spacious, and had a really well furnished kitchen so we ate two meals per day there. The waterslide and children's pool were great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ernesto.Enrique
Family
New York, NY, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Hawaii vacation with the family

The hotel is located in a beach resort area in maui. Rooms are huge and very nice. Pool restaurant left a LOT to be desired. For such a hotel you'd expect they would have good cuisine around. Prepare to have a car to drive for better food alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is very aggresive when it comes to selling their time shares. Do not fall in their trap of putting up with their time shares sessions in order to get discounts on any of the island activities like helicopter rides or scuba diving. Just get the brochure and call yourself for info. Most places do offer discounts of their own. No need to go through the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top