$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
118 reviews
Has a very nice beach

Great location where the beach is attached to the resort See full review

  • World traveler 01
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great condo for the price

This was a very roomy, comfortable condo. We loved having the kitchen for snacks and breakfasts,... See full review

  • Lucy and friends
  • Nov 25, 2013
Luxurious oversized condos offer resort living on Kaanapali Beach
The eight-acre Kaanapali Beach Club fronts the famed Kaanapali Beach with golden sand, swimming and views of distant islands. Three towers feature one- and two-bedroom luxury condo suites, all with a kitchenette for easy living. The resort is built around a one-acre, freeform swimming pool with rock gardens, waterfalls and a 64-foot waterslide leading to a children’s pool. Additional amenities include an 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, yoga classes and massage. On-site eateries range from poolside bites to fine dining.
Highlights
  • Beachfront with year-round swimming, golden sand and exotic vistas
  • Beachfront aquatic playground with gardens, waterfalls and a 64-foot slide
  • 18-hole miniature golf course and two championship courses nearby
Location
The Kaanapali Beach Club offers guests a prime location on west Maui’s Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area of Black Rock. A direct view of the island of Molokai across the channel adds to the exotic scenery. The shopping and dining destination Whalers Village is within easy reach.
Rooms
The Kaanapali Beach Club features 413 luxuriously decorated one- and two-bedroom condo suites across three 12-story towers. With one-bedroom units at a spacious 820 square feet and most two-bedroom units at 1,400 square feet, guests enjoy plenty of room for family and friends. All units feature a gourmet kitchenette, living room, entertainment center, air conditioning, ceiling fan, oversized tub and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Most also include a private balcony.
Dining
The Kaanapali Beach Club offers plentiful dining on site. Top choices include the poolside Ohana Grill & Bar, serving casual dishes all day and live Hawaiian music in the evening. Kaimana is open selected evenings for fine oceanfront dining. Kaanapali Beach Club condos have kitchenettes for home cooking.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • 18-hole miniature golf course
  • Fitness center
  • Yoga
  • Massage
  • Golf (near the resort)

 

Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.9 mi/32 km)
Policies and fees
  • Beginning January 1, 2012 a $25/per night resort fee for all rental and exchange reservations will be charged. The Resort fee will cover the following: free internet access, fitness center access, parking and local calls
  • Major credit card or debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo will be accepted as deposit for all guests on checkin. No cash allowed. The deposit will be $250.00 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9476 -156.6901
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
Located 3 miles from the West Maui airport, 25 miles from Kahului airport. Located just 4 miles from Kapalua Golf courses, 5 miles from old whaling town of Lahaina, 1 Mile from Ka'anapali Golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kaanapali Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kaanapali Beach Club Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View 820 sqft
Beautiful appointments throughout room. Suite offers separate bedroom and living room. Living room offers a pull out sofa. Living room includes entertainment center with video on demand and stereo system, coffee table and lounge chairs. Dining room set that sits four. Kitchen with nook, lanai to include lounge chair and two captain chairs with mini-table. Bedroom includes entertainment center, desk with high speed internet access. Bathroom includes his and her vanity with vanity bench for the ladies. Separate shower and tub concept and individual water closet. Size (sq ft) Approx 820 sq ft.
One Bedroom Scenic View 820 sqft
Beautiful appointments throughout room. Suite offers separate bedroom and living room. Living room offers a pull out sofa. Living room includes entertainment center with video on demand and stereo system, coffee table and lounge chairs. Dining room set that sits four. Kitchen with nook, lanai to include lounge chair and two captain chairs with mini-table. Bedroom includes entertainment center, desk with high speed internet access. Bathroom includes his and her vanity with vanity bench for the ladies. Separate shower and tub concept and individual water closet. Size (sq ft) Approximately 820 Square Feet

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

North Beach Grill
Breakfast: 6:30am - 9:30am Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:00pm Breakfast Buffet featuring assorted Danish Pastries, Fresh Fruits, Juice Station, Cereal Station, Toast Station with White, Wheat and Mini Bagels and breakfast favorites such as scrambled eggs, Breakfast meats, Pancakes, French Toast and Potatoes, Ala minute Omelet Station
Ohana Express
All Day and Dinner: 6:00am - 10:00pm All Day Casual Dining, To Go Services and Suite Services A La Carte Offerings; Appetizers, Sandwiches, Burgers and Pizzas, Snacks, Ice Cream Bars, Smoothies, Shaved Ice, Soft Drinks and Juices. New Breakfast A la Carte Menu from 6:30 am- 9:30am Starts this Friday August 10, 2007. Entertainment Contemporary Hawaiian Music Daily from 4:30pm-9:00pm
Ohana Bar and Grill
All day and Dinner: 11:00am - 10:00pm All Day Casual Dining; A La Carte Offerings; Pupu's, Salads, Chicken, Sandwiches and Burgers, Pizzas, Refreshing tropical drinks to Specialty Mojitos. Kid's Coconut Drink Promotions, Chef's Daily specials, Pizza Promotions, Rice Bowls.. Happy Hour from 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm Special Prices on Drinks and Pupu's. Entertainment: Torch Lighting Ceremony at Sunset; Live Hawaiian Music from 6:30pm -9:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZoombaFuzz
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Beware of high pressure sale and ocean view is not really ocean view

nice staff, nice hotel, but the check-in experience is so high pressure it is hard to recover from. The "concierge" is a sales agent and offers to help you get settled in and then pressures you to participate in a time-share tour, in exchange for some free meals. This is fine but it's all very tricky, and for a tired traveler to all the sudden have to stand up to the high pressure sales pitch is really a drag. otherwise the place is great. Nice beach, great staff, very nice room. We were also very disappointed that even though we booked an ocean view, we could barely see the ocean. We were informed you have to book a "deluxe ocean view" in order to really see the ocean. Some tricky sales stuff going on here, that taints and otherwise very nice resort and staff. I think it'd be better to go to the Hyatt or Ka'lapani shores hotel and skip the sales pressure. The prices is about the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store across the street and you can buy groceries and the rooms are furnished with kitchens so it really saves money on dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
heddame
Business
Oregon, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Comfy but a hassle

I found the room accomodations to be adequate and comfy but the staff and processes of staying there are inconvenient and annoying. We came across road blocks around every corner with this company! When we asked for butter pats for our meal, they charged us an extra 25 cents per pat of butter! This seems ludicrous to me! They did not replace and provide more coffee filters in our room, we had to buy those too. The housekeeping staff kept walking in on us the last morning we were there prior to our check out time to see if we had left yet. The pool is very cold and the hot tub is extremely small and always seems to be packed so using it was very difficult. We had our wedding reception in the hotel's restaurant but experienced much difficulty there with accomodating the 17 people in our party, wanting to charge us rental fees to eat in their dining room, and the manager told us that though they would serve us there "you won't get the same amount of service because our waiters will be busy with other tables and can't focus only on you and your group." He was argumentative and rude, even telling us at one point that we could take our business elsewhere and "that was fine" by him. The halls are grouted tile so you wake up very early (5:00am) to the sound of carts being wheeled down the halls, clanging and banging. Our "ocean view room" was partially right....it looked directly onto the backside of it's neighboring property and if you looked to the left, you could see some ocean. The worst part is the sales pitch from the timeshare staff. Brutal. So glad we got out after an hour and a half!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chapped Hide
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Room selection

I paid for a room with an ocean view. We were put in a room on the second floor where you could see a tiny piece of the ocean through the flags and trees in the parking lot and between the buildings. When I asked for a better room, we were told that for an additional charge $50 / day we can get a better view. We decided to upgrade and the $50 / day turned into $60 / day. Also there was a $24 / day hotel charge that I wasn't told about up front. I ended up paying much more than I anticipated for an average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Service in the restaurant downstairs was exceptional. Not so much at the front counter of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vajetha
Business
Vancouver, BC
Dec 26, 2012

Nothing special

Older buildings but the rooms were spacious and staff were friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newlywed Johns
Business
Seattle
Apr 15, 2013

Wish I loved it more

The hotel was very nice but I was left wanting more The pillows were horrible Our room smelt musty & moldy The 1 restaurant onsite was not very appealing after 1 day the pool had no music so it was pretty boring loved the location towels were great staff was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Java Jazz across the street is AMAZING for breakfast Dukes 2 hotels over was the best night, fun, meal we had all week

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
desertfoxusa
Business
Ontario,CA
Apr 28, 2013

Nice, but need something

nice hotel in Maui, beach was rocky you needed water shoes to get in. Staff was special anything we needed we got. The room need improvements, couch was well worn, sliding glass doors needed screens to keep bugs out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, or
Feb 16, 2010

"let the buyer beware"

My wie and I planned this trip with another couple two months before departing. We planned on sharing the cost of a rental car and food. The day before we departed, our friends recieved a call from the hotel stating that they were "sold out" and had been moved to another hotel. This procluded us from sharing car expenses.We also found out upon arrival that the hotel charges $16.00 per day to park your car. We also found out that "scenic" room does not mean ocean view (as I was told on the phone). Our room overlooked a minature golf course. we could just see the ocean between two buildings, palm trees, and around the corner from our deck. We also had two full beds, rather than a queen, or king bed. We asked the front desk for a new room (remember they had told our friends the day before that they were sold out). We were told that they had three rooms, that overlooked the mountains...AKA the parking lot and highway. The concierge was rude and not helpful. When she found out that we had no intrest in a time share we were ignored. Everywhere we went in the hotel we were asked to attend the time share meeting. The beach access was great, and we had a wonderful time watching whales from the beach. Our friends actually got a much better deal. They were moved to Honua Kai. We spend most of our vacation at there hotel. Better food, much better room, and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Jan 20, 2010

Not what we expected or were told

We were told that since this was our honeymoon, we would be upgraded to the best view in the house, didn't happen. There is a bird sanctuary in the middle of the hotel, so unless you want to have to yell to communicate for about 2 hours at sundown, you have to keep your doors shut. We were delivered a warm bottle of champayne and there was trash under our sofa. The front desk staff was repeatedly unfriendly, even when I hit my knee on the reef and was bleeding in front of them asking if they had a first aid kit. We were not told by [...] or the hotel that there would be construction during our stay. One of the 2 pools was closed the entire stay (one week) and there was jack hammering throughout the days. There were signs posted in the elevators stating that the pool was under construction and that it would be finished our 3rd day there--didn't happen, and they took these signs down because they were not on schedule. There were only 2 hot tubs on the entire property that had 4 different buildings and there were constantly unsupervised children in both of them no matter what time of day or night it was. The bartenders were unfriendly and didn't acknowledge us for about 10 minutes standing at the bar when they were not even close to being busy. Their attitudes were phony and non-responsive. They also gave my parents, who stayed here this same week a room that was half renovated with non working appliances and were unresponsive to our complaints. We will never stay at this hotel/condo again and will certainly not recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own snorkel gear and save $70 a week. Book directly through airlines and hotels and car rental places and get what you pay for. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VANNA'S MOM
Business
DOLORES,CO.
Feb 7, 2011

MAUI TRIP

REALLY LOVED THE HOTEL.COULD HAVE BEEN A LITTLE "CLEANER". ROOM WAS NOT MADE UP DAILY & WHEN THEY DID A FEW THINGS WERE OVERLOOKED. WE HAD TO CALL TO HAVE OUR NEEDS MET ( lotion,coffee,tea bags etc.) VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE & MOST WILLING TO TRY TO ACCOMEDATE. THANK YOU, SHERRIE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yve
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 19, 2009

Great location with limited services

Enjoyed the pool. Not much for pool service or restuarant service however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top