$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Kaanapali Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kaanapali Beach Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Jan 20, 2010

Not what we expected or were told

We were told that since this was our honeymoon, we would be upgraded to the best view in the house, didn't happen. There is a bird sanctuary in the middle of the hotel, so unless you want to have to yell to communicate for about 2 hours at sundown, you have to keep your doors shut. We were delivered a warm bottle of champayne and there was trash under our sofa. The front desk staff was repeatedly unfriendly, even when I hit my knee on the reef and was bleeding in front of them asking if they had a first aid kit. We were not told by [...] or the hotel that there would be construction during our stay. One of the 2 pools was closed the entire stay (one week) and there was jack hammering throughout the days. There were signs posted in the elevators stating that the pool was under construction and that it would be finished our 3rd day there--didn't happen, and they took these signs down because they were not on schedule. There were only 2 hot tubs on the entire property that had 4 different buildings and there were constantly unsupervised children in both of them no matter what time of day or night it was. The bartenders were unfriendly and didn't acknowledge us for about 10 minutes standing at the bar when they were not even close to being busy. Their attitudes were phony and non-responsive. They also gave my parents, who stayed here this same week a room that was half renovated with non working appliances and were unresponsive to our complaints. We will never stay at this hotel/condo again and will certainly not recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own snorkel gear and save $70 a week. Book directly through airlines and hotels and car rental places and get what you pay for. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jan 18, 2010

Excellent...

The hotel was beautiful in a great location. There was a nice view from anywhere in the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The food @ the hotel offered great food. I can say the one thing I did not like was there was not free Wi-fi; you had to pay a fee for every 24hrs you logged on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jan 5, 2010

A decent hotel - but a bit oversold

We picked Kaanapali Beach Club hotel because it has a great pool right on the beach, and since it's a former Embassy Suites, we knew we could get a satisfactory suite for the family to spend a week. If you've stayed at Embassy before, you know you get a decent 3-star kind of experience - not special, but quite adequate. However, this is now a time-share setup (Diamond International) and the first thing they did was sit us down with the "concierge" who wanted to book us into a timeshare sales presentation. NO THANK YOU! Here are some important caveats about this property: it is not really on Kaanapali - it's closer to Honokowai, a mile or two north of the "black rock" which marks the northern end of Kaanapali beach. The beach in front of the hotel is NOT very good - rocky, not really safe at all for swimming. A half-mile walk to the south brings you to a better section of beach, but we didn't want to walk that far - this misses the point of being right on the beach. My other significant complaint was that, at this busy time of year, it was impossible to get a lounge chair by the pool by midmorning. There appeared to be plenty of lounges, but they were *all* taken by morning, and people effectively reserved them for most of the day. This is a management issue. Otherwise, The west Maui location is delightful. A short drive north or south leads to numerous great beaches with different characteristics (for waterplay or snorkeling or just basking in the sun).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive north to Napili Bay for a great beach - a sheltered location, terrific snorkeling, soft sand, tide pools, and a low-key feel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamjam
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 19, 2009

Relaxing & Beautiful Vacation

I went with my grandmother and mother & it was a wonderful experience. First, the representative for the time share was very friendly and simply welcoming us with shell leis and a beautiful smile was a great start. The room was very clean & the kitchen with all the necessary cups, plates, utensils, microwave was very convenient. The bathroom was simply beautiful & very well kept. The housekeeping staff did a great job. This is a place that I would like to go back to & will suggest to many of my friends and relatives. Very impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

About a one minute drive, there's a small mall with some simple restaurants and a grocery store. You can pick up many needs and wants to store in refrig. / freezer to simply microwave. Very convenient and savings if you choose not to eat out every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamjam
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 19, 2009

Relaxing & Beautiful Vacation

I went with my grandmother and mother & it was a wonderful experience. First, the representative for the time share was very friendly and simply welcoming us with shell leis and a beautiful smile was a great start. The room was very clean & the kitchen with all the necessary cups, plates, utensils, microwave was very convenient. The bathroom was simply beautiful & very well kept. The housekeeping staff did a great job. This is a place that I would like to go back to & will suggest to many of my friends and relatives. Very impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

About a one minute drive, there's a small mall with some simple restaurants and a grocery store. You can pick up many needs and wants to store in refrig. / freezer to simply microwave. Very convenient and savings if you choose not to eat out every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 25, 2009

Beautiful resort, helpful people.

The airline got us to the hotel three days late. [...] the hotel slid our reservations back to accomodate us; what a great surprise! There was no added fee. The hotel was gracious to upgrade our room. The place is beautiful and we found much to do on the island. Loved the kitchen; we could eat inexpensively because of that. The huge bathroom is a great plus, and the view from the veranda was outstanding, thanks to the hotel staff. The resort advertised a great snorkeling reef but had red flags out every day. But yet they allowed scuba classes at that spot. hmmm used the reef for advertisement, then tried scaring people off, while the paid scuba class continued??The flies are bad at the outdoor restaurant, but if you eat elsewhere, the resort is really nice.Overall, the resort [...] saved our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

When you drive to the resort from the airport, stop at a local shop, in our case - Walmart, and buy your supplies. We bought complete snorkel gear for slightly more than one day's rental costs. Our food was much less expensive, since we had a kitchen waiting for us. Stay away from the typical touristy traps, and you can save a bundle. I spent about twelve hours on the internet looking for deals[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui couple for life!
Business
Peoria, Arizona
Oct 11, 2009

Parking fees a suprise.

We went went snorkeling, riding bikes down the volcano, did the zip line, did a luau, ate at some great restaurants and did some serious lounging around. My only knock on this resort is the sales pitch on the time share (everyones has to have a job) and the unexpected parking fees. Otherwise very very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent your own boat with a group and do your own snorkeling trip. If you do a bike ride down from the volcano, do it with a company that allows you to ride on your own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
danowings
Business
alta loma , ca.
Oct 10, 2009

thanks but not again

fist noticed roaches from day 1 through checkout. 6 days and even after they sprayed they never chcked with us or offered another room or compensation. We were upset about no more breakfasts and cocktail hour that were complimentary on our previous visit. also way too pushy people too try to sell us timeshares.some of the staff were very rude. We had 8 adults and wanted our visit to br like that of Oct.'05, but it didn't come close. Why can't you bring it all back when it was Embassy??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great burgers-- Cool Cat Cafe in lahaina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missing my Maui Jims
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 14, 2009

Hold on to what you've got

Upon arrival we went to check in and left our hand carried bag with the bellman to go to the desk and check in. Once we got to the room and unpacked we noticed that a pair of Maui Jim sun glasses were missing. We did not want to accuse anyone because we wanted to make sure that we had not left them at home. Now that we are home and have had a chance to verify that they were not left at home the only place they could have been taken was at the time left with the bellman. The bag had not left my sight until the point. The laui was the worst laui we have ever been to. It consisted only of children. This should have been told to us at the time of purchasing. We went to a sales presentation which was totally our own option, only to see a major personality change in our sales consultant when we told her no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't waiste your time with the on property luai. Go to the Ole Lahina Luai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kaanapali Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missing my Maui Jims
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 14, 2009

Hold on to what you've got

Upon arrival we went to check in and left our hand carried bag with the bellman to go to the desk and check in. Once we got to the room and unpacked we noticed that a pair of Maui Jim sun glasses were missing. We did not want to accuse anyone because we wanted to make sure that we had not left them at home. Now that we are home and have had a chance to verify that they were not left at home the only place they could have been taken was at the time left with the bellman. The bag had not left my sight until the point. The laui was the worst laui we have ever been to. It consisted only of children. This should have been told to us at the time of purchasing. We went to a sales presentation which was totally our own option, only to see a major personality change in our sales consultant when we told her no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't waiste your time with the on property luai. Go to the Ole Lahina Luai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top